Private Tutor in Chessington

Babysitter in Chessington

My Summary

CRB Check Hover for information Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training Full Driving Licence
Own Car Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter Daytime Babysitter
Childcare Qualifications Maths Tutor
English Tutor French Tutor
German Tutor Spanish Tutor
Primary (up to 11 years)

About Me

I am a qualified primary school teacher and enjoy supporting children in their learning in all subjects (primary) including modern foreign languages. During the last 6 years I have gained extensive experience in whole-class teaching, group teaching and one-to-one tuition working with children of various ages and backgrounds including children with special educational needs such as autism, dyslexia etc.
The approach that I favour is to firstly look at what the student can do as opposed to cannot and use this as a base to form understanding for the new. Lots of encouragement and positive reinforcement is used and the child receives training in meta-cognition (understanding how learning works and enabling the student to develop learning strategies that can be applied universally). Activities are carefully planned to address the learner's individual learning styles whether it be visual, auditory or kinaesthetic.
Where appropriate and feasible, content is presented in the context of educational games in order to engage children deeply into learning. Personal targets are set for each child and regularly reviewed. Parents are kept informed on their child's progress and advice is given on how they can support their child's learning.
One-to-one tuition is available as well as group tuition with a maximum of four children per group.
Group tuition offers benefits that cannot be achieved during one-to-one tuition:
• more opportunities for games-based learning
• focused development of social skills and team work
• peer tutoring and peer assessment
Please note that for group tuition parents need to apply as a group (4 children) to qualify for group rates. Children don't have to necessarily be in the same year group as experience has shown that basic numeracy and literacy skills are in need for extra support across the year groups. However, it is recommended the age gap is not too wide as teaching styles vary for different age groups.
Language Tuition is available for the following languages: German (native speaker), French, Spanish and English. Languages are taught in the context of fun games. Language Tuition is also open to adults and focuses heavily on learner's individual needs (e.g. business use, leisure, talking, writing etc.)
I also have experience in providing extra support to children who are being home-schooled by their parents.
I am mainly available weekdays after 4pm.

My Experience

Over the last six years I have gained experience in working with children through working as a part-time nanny, childminder, working in schools as learning support assistant, maths and literacy sets teacher, supply teacher (reception to year 6, SEN units) and in the context of my very successful private one-to-one tuition business.

My Qualifications

I have a PGCE in Primary Education, a Diploma in Child Development Psychology, a Diploma in home-based Childcare, an Honours Degree in European Business Studies and a Diploma in Advanced Nutrition. I have completed training courses in ‘Safeguarding Children’, ‘Positive Touch’, ‘Promoting Positive Behaviour’, ‘One-to-One Tuition’, ‘Fun with Phonics’, ‘Progression in Maths’, ‘Supporting children with Special Educational needs’, 'Supporting children's Creativity', 'Getting it right for Boys', 'Makaton' and am fully updated regarding the new Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.

My Availability

Weekdays Monday to Friday any time after 3:30pm, a few slots left on weekends.

During Holidays - any time

My Fees

£25 per hour (plus travel expense depending on distance)

rate negotiable if more than one child needs tuition and/or more than one hour per week is needed


Below are the latest reviews for MandyWri.. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other users and not of Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

5 stars
Brilliant childcare

We’ve been with Mandy since my daughter was 12 month and I would recommend her to anyone. Mandy has become part of our family and telling my daughter that we going to Mandy means she will happy get dressed with no further questions. Mandy provides excellent care and has great educational programme planed for a month in advance. With my second child I would defiantly want to come back to Mandy.

by on 06/03/2013

5 stars
Excellent childcare provider

Mandy is a fantastic childminder who is genuine and provides an excellent level of care and stimulation for my two(very energetic!) children. I recommend her without reservation.

by on 26/02/2013

See all reviews for this Private Tutor

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.