4.83 stars (6)

Private Tutor in Deal

Babysitter in Deal

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2016 Last Updated Mar 2020 Last Login 26 Mar 2020 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Special Needs Tutor
11 Plus

About Me

My name is Katy, a fully qualified teacher working full-time in the local area. I am a friendly, outgoing and bubbly individual. This along with my creative nature has meant that I have always loved working with children.

I enjoy being busy and I am very much an 'outdoorsy' person, with a passion for taking on new and exciting challenges, such as my new found love for climbing mountains around the UK and beyond.

I am an animal lover and in my spare time I enjoy going on coastal walks with my dog, as well as baking, getting artsy and crafty, and entertaining my keen eye for photography.

I love to explore new ways to inspire and spark creativity in children, and messy play, tactile experiences and making are among the activities that are strong favorites with my little customers! I pride myself on creating a fun, positive environment in which children can thrive, and it is imperative to me that parents and children of all ages are provided with quality childcare.

I have a full, clean driving licence and I am happy to use my car to transport children. I always have a boot full of fun and engaging activities to suit children of any age, whatever the weather! I am based in Deal, but I am more than happy to travel to you. If you're unsure, please ask.

Please feel free to look through my profile, experiences and reviews and I would be more than happy to answer any questions you may have!

My Experience

For one year I was a respite carer for a young boy on the autistic spectrum, providing him with fun and engaging activities of an evening and weekend. I found a local sports club which we attended together, playing games to improve his confidence and social skills, where his favorite was dodgeball, and I am definitely not afraid to get my hands dirty and play ball!

We also completed homework, and practiced techniques advised by his speech and language therapist. I also attended speech and language appointments with him to broaden my knowledge of his condition and how best to aid his development.

I have been a member of the Sea Cadets since the age of 10 and became a volunteer instructor as an adult. Here I teach children aged between 10 and 18 skills which are transferable to their day to day life, such as first aid and team building, as well as naval based activities such as boating and rifle drill. Being in a military based environment means that I have learnt to be well organised and highly punctual.

For one year, I was a nanny for a family consisting of 3 children aged 13, 11, and 4. Here, I helped the children to complete their homework, cooked healthy and nutritious meals with the children and took them to various sporting clubs and competitions, activities, and days out around the county.

In the absence of their parent, I was responsible for the running of the household, ensuring the children were ready for school and where they needed to be on time, as well as attending various parents evenings and school presentation evenings. I also completed the household chores, looked after the animals, ranging from a cat to a giant African land snail, administered medication if/when needed and carried out the bedtime routine.

With such a wide age gap it proved challenging to provide activities for all three children at the same time, however my multi-tasking skill was always switched on and I was able to maintain a safe and happy home environment for all three children.

The children had combined needs of ADHD, dyslexia, and an eating disorder. My knowledge of these conditions has widened, and through talking to the child, and addressing and working through problems, we were able to combat any issues faced. As a result of these needs I am familiar with working with CAMHS and supporting the methods put in place.

I have worked as an early years educator for a well established day nursery, and during my time here I have learned a lot about the healthy development of children and how to provide an enriching learning environment where children can play and explore. I worked with children aged 9 months to 5 years which has given me important experience and knowledge of the early years foundation stage. I also attended vital safeguarding training as well as behavior management, which has helped me in dealing with problematic situations.

Babysitting has come hand in hand with working at the nursery, and I have worked for families on an occasional basis. I believe it is important to develop relationships with both children and their parents so that parents feel safe in the knowledge that their child is safe and happy in my care, as well as making the introduction of a new adult in the child's life a positive experience.

I have further full time nannying experience with 3 children aged 4, 5 and 6. I was able to provide safe and stimulating experiences both inside and outside of the family home often utilising the attractions and nature on Kent’s doorstep.

I now also have 4 years of formal primary teaching experience in both Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2. This means that I am happy to help with homework as part of my role within your family, or alternatively, provide formal tutoring for children of Primary School age.

My Qualifications

Fully qualified teacher with QTS.

Over 7 years formal childcare experience.

HE Level 4, 5 and 6 in Primary Education, with first class honours.

Up to date safeguarding training.

First Aid trained.

Fully DBS checked (enhanced).

Full clean UK drivers licence and access to own car.

My Availability

Evening, weekend and overnight babysitting availability.

Please book as far in advance as possible to avoid disappointment.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 13/12/2018

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £8.00 per hour

Prices depend on number of children and location.
Day rates and night rates are negotiable.
Prices start from £8 per hour, please ask for details.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Katy. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Katy feels like part of the family now. She’s helped us now for about two years on an ad-hoc basis. We have three girls with ages from 1 to 10 and she looks after all admirably. We have complete confidence in Katy and her experience shows at all ages. The girls love her and we trust her completely. She has taken the girls out for trips to the local zoo and brings craft materials to keep them busy at home. All in all she’s a gem.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Katy on 17/07/2018

Katy is a lovely girl. She is always on time and nice and chatty with us. However most importantly, she is so great with our kids! She brings HER OWN lego for my 6 yr old to play with, creates masks and other arty creative things with him. She interacts and engages in conversation with my 14 yr old son, which is a feat in its own! And then she does the dishes. She even brings them birthday cards and gifts at Christmas and she only babysits for us on the odd evening here and there. What a little treasure she is x

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Katy on 11/01/2018

Katy looked after my children at our christning and wedding reception also taking the children home as the night went on so they could sleep. I have 3 Children with ASD and was very nervous to have anyone look after the children. Katy was amazing with them meeting them before the day arrived and resting my nurves beforehand. on the day katy done a fantastic job with them, engaged with them, playing and rested them to bed. Thank you

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Katy on 11/10/2017

Katy is professional and mature but very warm, kind and gentle with our children I would highly recommend

  • 4 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Katy on 30/04/2017

We needed a last minute child carer and came across Katy here. she called us back immediately. She turned up on time and was very professional courteous friendly and kind. we had no problem ebtrusting her. She even lent my daughter her boots to wear!! Above and beyond! Thank you Katy see you next time we'll definitely book you again.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Katy on 12/02/2017

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.