
Nanny in Scarborough

Babysitter in Scarborough

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2017 Last Updated Oct 2020 Last Login 03 Nov 2020

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
First Aid Training
Own Car
Evening Babysitter

About Me

I am 39 years old with lots of experience in childcare. I have an up-to-date DBS certificate from June 2020. I am looking for part time nanny roles in Scarborough. I am also available for babysitting.

My Experience

I have worked as a Nanny for several years now with a variety of age ranges from toddler to 10 years old.

Further Experience
In 2007/2008 I was accepted on to a course at Edge Hill University as the first intake of post graduates studying towards Early Years Professional Status which is a Level 7 child care qualification. I completed 7 months of this course but unfortunately, for financial reasons, was forced to leave the course before completing the final 2 months. During this training I undertook two childcare placements working with children from 0-5 years of age.

This experience focused on exploring child development through play in line with the EYFS. My placements were at Narnia Day Care in Altrincham and Early Years in Withington. The nursery manager at Early Years reported the following to my university supervisor;

“She is a ‘natural’ in communicating with children. The children respond very well to her because she is intelligent and lively.”

More recently I was a Volunteer Education Officer at Skelton Grange Environmental Education Centre, run by The Conservation Volunteers. In this capacity my role was to facilitate and contribute towards developing outdoor activities for Primary school children visiting the site on school trips. The objective was to encourage their understanding and enjoyment of the natural world. This covered a wide range of activities such as pond dipping, bark rubbing, animal-identification and topical games and crafts. All groups particularly liked my ‘Witch’ role-play during a game in which they had to manoeuvre dwarves in the forest using the trees for shelter.

During this placement I completed training in Safeguarding children, First Aid and Health and Safety.

In 2015 I worked as a Teaching Assistant in several schools through an employment agency. This was predominantly with early years, but I also spent some time working in a specialist behaviour unit for children who displayed challenging behaviour, as well as working on a one-to-one basis with a child on the autistic spectrum. I was offered a permanent contract by one of these schools and I believe this demonstrated their confidence in my abilities, however, at the time I liked the flexibility and varied experience provided by temporary roles.

I have a number of practical skills which are beneficial when working with children;
1) I personally have a very sound educational background (having completed a Law degree)
2) I am adept at sewing and needlework – and can make basic puppets and costumes
3) I paint and enjoy crafts in my spare time and love to encourage this in children
4) I have sound IT skills
5) I am passionate about healthy eating, nutrition and exercise and believe this needs to be encouraged in children
6) I am a keen environmentalist, a lover of the outdoors and skilled in developing outdoor activities
7) I have a passion for history and English literature and have a breadth of knowledge in this field of study, as an aspiring writer of historical fiction, more than anything I love to tell and hear stories (my huge tome of Hans Christian Anderson tales is a favourite of my nephews and nieces)

Finally, on a more casual basis, I babysit for my nephews and nieces on a weekly basis and they are aged 8 months, 2 years, 4 years, 5 years and 8 years old, and I believe that the fact that there is generally a gaggle of children following me round like geese at family gatherings is a testament to how well I engage and have fun with children.

My Qualifications

Law degree and a number of modules / work experience completed of Level 7 Early Years Professional Status postgraduate qualification at Edge Hill University

My Availability

Daytime and evening.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School no no no no no no no
Evening yes no yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 06/10/2020

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £9.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £9.00 per hour (gross)

For evening babysitting, I would ask for a nightly fee rather than hourly. Fixed £30 until midnight, an hourly rate of £10 after.

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.