Joelle
image/svg+xml

Private Tutor in Milton Keynes

Babysitter in Milton Keynes

Female Non-smoker Member since Aug 2020 Last Updated Oct 2020 Last Login 09 Jun 2021 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience
English Tutor
Biology Tutor
Geography Tutor
History Tutor
General Science Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
GCSE
A-Level
Economics Tutor
Government and Politics Tutor
Sociology Tutor
Cookery Tutor
P.E./Sports Science Tutor
Humanities Tutor
11 Plus
Hotel Babysitter
Emergency Babysitter
Virtual Tutor
Virtual Nanny

About Me

Aloha! My name is Joelle, I am 26 years old and a student at the University of Hawaii. Due to the COVID pandemic I have decided to stay in Milton Keynes as my family is closer, and so is my partner. I am currently in a weird situation where I am a full time student doing classes on an 11hour time difference meaning I have a lot of time and energy to put into moulding minds. This is not how I pictured my final year of university going but I am trying to make the most out of it.

I am quite an active outdoorsy person who absolutely loves kids. I am super tidy and clean - I know how to turn on the dishwasher and washing machine better than most haha. I also have cooking skills that extend beyond cereal and pasta - as I have taken cooking classes in Thailand, Hawaii, and China - all kid friendly foods too. I also speak English fluently - as all my studies have been in English as I was schooled my entire life aboard - Dutch and a little bit of Russian and German. I am quite a relaxed person who will get things done.

My Experience

I have a major in Anthropology and a minor in History and Marine Science. This means I have covered a lot of maths and science based classes because they were required for marine science. Anthropology is a great subject as it encompasses myths, legends, geography, and history. I have a lot of classes under my belt as I am in my final year of university.

I also have an extensive background in teaching. I have been a tutor since the age of 15 - teaching primary school kids, and again at university for archaeology classes. While at Uni I still tutored middle/high school students, mainly those taking environmental science, history or geography. One of my classes at university was going into a high school class every week and helping teachers, designing labs and lesson plans. I was very involved with the STEM classes and after school activities. I also took it upon myself to help my peers with editing, researching and writing.

I have also been scuba diving instructor for the last 8 years. I know it may be a little untraditional as a teacher but I truly believe that a good teacher can teach anything. If I can handle life and death situations - which scuba diving is - I can adapt to anything quite easily. I am also a swimming, lifeguard and first aid instructor. We taught courses aimed for those with special needs, adults, and all ages in between all of which I also throughly enjoyed.

I also have my TEFL teaching qualification, that emphasis a lot on grammar, sentences structure, spelling, reading and of how to handle classroom setting etc.

I can understand the struggles of students, as I am a student myself but I also know how to change my teaching style for individual students. I have struggled with dyslexia so I can relate to the frustrations of students learning and have picked up unique skills to combat this throughout my education - its not a reason to give up.

I have worked with new born babies to adults, and all ages inbetween.

My Qualifications

BA Anthropology, minor in marine science and history
TEFL teaching qualification
SCUBA instructor (PADI)
First aid instructor (American Red cross)
Lifeguard Instructor (American Red Cross)
Swimming Instructor (American Red Cross) - I dont mind giving swimming lesson either.

My Availability

As my university is completely online and a time difference of 11hours, I am available whenever needed.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 02/10/2020

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £15.00 per hour
  • Tutoring from £15.00 per hour

My Standard fee is £15 an hour after midnight (00:00 - 06:00) £20 an hour.
Swimming lessons £20 an hour per 1child - £5 extra for every other child (max 4 students)
Cooking, Laundry, light house work, dog walking ect. can be discussed.
Cancellation policy - please give at least a days notice (~24h)

My Documents

  • First Aid Certificate: First aid INSTRUCTOR & Scuba Instructor professional status for 2020 (added 03/10/2020)
  • First Aid Certificate: First aid INSTRUCTOR & Scuba Instructor professional cards (added 03/10/2020)
  • EU Passport (added 03/10/2020)
  • DBS Check (added 25/09/2020)
  • Training Certificate: TEFL (added 11/09/2020)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.