PeteH86

Private Tutor in Trafford

Usually responds within 12 hours

Member since Aug 2021 Last Updated Sep 2021 Last Login Sep 2021 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Art Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
GCSE
11 Plus
Virtual Tutor
Home School Helper
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

Hello!
My name is Pete Hodge and I am 34 years old. My wife and I are both teachers. I have been a primary school teacher for the past 8 years. I live in Trafford with my wife and daughter. I love teaching, tutoring, music, sports and the outdoors!

My Experience

I am a caring and competent teacher,
and I have very much enjoyed my eight years of teaching, both as a PPA teacher, a Year 1 teacher and also as a year 4 teacher in successful primary schools in Birmingham and Manchester. I have also enjoyed making a difference to the children in a variety of schools that I have visited on a supply basis.

I find teaching to be very fulfilling and I feel that I am now well equipped to motivate, inspire, set high expectations and cater for the various needs of students in my learning sessions.

Over the past few years in teaching I am proud of the way I have worked hard to develop my teaching practice and I feel like I have learnt new ways to improve my practice and building on each years’ experience in the classroom which has allowed me to become a confident and skilled practitioner. I am keen to continue to improve my practice and take any opportunities to learn more. I am now able to adapt my teaching and differentiate learning opportunities to cater for the range of needs of each learner.

I make a conscious effort to reflect and evaluate my teaching also making sure that I plan and assess to adjust to the needs of each learner. Furthermore, I always aim to make learning fun and relevant for students so that they are engaged in their learning in order for them to achieve and progress. Learning from lesson observations and feedback from other staff, I have developed good behaviour management strategies to keep students engaged and focused. Most of all I am very proud that I have grown in my teaching ability to become an outstanding teacher. This was highlighted in a recent Year 1 observation in Literacy where the children were learning how to generate interesting vocabulary for a poem. A strength that was noted was that all children were fully engaged and made good progress in the lesson. They also commented that it was clear that I enjoyed facilitating the lesson.

At my previous school I have been commended in my detailed marking and feedback. Proactively marking and offering feedback to pupils on a daily basis through the use of gap tasks helps me and each child to clearly focus on their individual learning needs and on addressing learning issues as they emerge.

Because of this I feel confident to be able to assess and record the progress of pupils’ learning to inform next steps and monitor their individual progress.

I have developed good relationships with parents and have had positive feedback through being available when called upon. I feel it is vital to foster strong links and mutual support between home and school in order to understand what social and learning factors might affect pupil’s learning so that we can properly support them.

For a tutoring role, I understand the importance of being able to plan and resource tailor made learning sessions. I feel that my wealth of teaching experience lends itself well in being able to prepare for each session thoroughly to provide each learner a bespoke learning journey.

I am a confident, enthusiastic, good humoured, dependable and caring teacher and would love to contribute to the life and success of your child.

I am committed to helping all students to enjoy learning, feel safe, achieve their potential, aim high and to value themselves and others through respect.

My Qualifications

Qualified Teacher Status (8 years teaching experience in primary schools)
Primary PGCE
BA (Hons) Landscape Architecture

My Availability

Tues-Fri

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 07/09/2021

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £20.00 per hour

£20

My Documents

  • DBS Check (added 03/09/2021)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.