Childminder in Cardiff

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2012 Last Updated Jun 2019 Last Login 12 Dec 2019 Email

My Summary

CIW Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

****** Part Time Under 5's space available soon ******

Registered Childminder with PACEY membership and Paediatric First Aid.

Fun, enthusiastic individual who enjoys caring for children. I currently live in Gabalfa with my husband and 2 girls. We have a large house with a dedicated playroom and a large secure garden. I have lots of different experiences with a variety of ages and abilities. I have an abundance of energy, a good sense of humour and an honest and sincere nature with regard to all children in my care.

I am a punctual and well organised person who has an enthusiasm for caring for children. In particular I enjoy the interaction with the children and enhancing their experiences and learning through a variety of resources and environments. I am patient, understanding, outgoing and flexible in my work; I also strive to give my best and to achieve the best from those in my care.

I enjoy the outdoors and taking part in different activities, e.g playgroups, swimming, walks, trips to the park. My house is within walking distance of shops, the local library, the park, playgroups and schools.

I also enjoy getting messy with arts and crafts and helping children make masterpieces (obviously this will be cleaned up afterwards!)

I think songs and musical time are also important for children's development.

I have knowledge of current education initiatives and developments within primary schools and children's developmental milestones. I am aware of school curriculums and Early Years Foundation Stages and incorporate these into my care.

Children in my care are not discriminated against by colour, creed, religion, learning abilities, race, sexual orientation, disability or age. I am committed to equal opportunities

My Experience

As a qualified primary school teacher I've had extensive experience of working with school aged children.

Before qualifying i worked in a private school nursery for a few years with children aged between 2 and 4. Whilst working in the nursery i covered all aspects of the nursery curriculum to ensure children's development and was responsible for the well being of the children in my care. My duties, not limited to, but included supervising activities, toileting children and feeding them.

I've worked in special needs schools and with children in main stream education with special educational needs. I have experience of working with children with severe autism and those with behavioural problems and learning difficulties. I found that having sign language was key in helping me communicate with some of these children. Whilst working in one of the special schools i was also involved with the care and teaching of children with developmental delay. I have experience of using a hoist and looking after the hygiene of older children (teeth brushing, nappy changing, washing)

I have also worked with children for which english was a second language and helped them to develop their communication skills. Although myself I only speak English fluently, I have the skills to hold conversation and speak with a child in Welsh and use incidental Welsh around the home and whilst doing activities. Through studying my bilingualism course I found this extremely helpful to develop my own Welsh skills and am enthusiastic to use these. The programme that I studied is designed to meet the expectations of the Foundation Phase 3 - 7 years that all children have experiences of the Welsh language and bilingualism. I have studied six modules in which I have acquired Welsh language skills and learnt how to use the language in stimulating play with children. I developed my knowledge and understanding of the Early Years Foundation Phase throughout the course.

Welsh will not be the main language of my home, but will be present as my husband is a fluent welsh speaker and my eldest daughter attends welsh school.

I often babysit friends and family members children, and also have them for overnight stays. As there are young children in the family I have helped look after them since birth, along with bringing up my own daughters, so have experience of working with newborn children also. I also have experience of working with twin boys who are currently six. I see the twins on a weekly basis and enjoy the challenges they offer and taking part in their development.

Due to my experiences in schools, I find I have lots of experience with older children and have confidence that I could suitably care for them outside of the school setting. I was previously a rugby coach for a local rugby club for a number of years and I had to ensure the safety of all children in my care whilst ensuring that they were still enjoying the activity.

If you feel that you have any questions about my experiences or would like further information or references, please feel free to contact me.

Look forward to hearing from you :-)

My Qualifications

BA HONS Degree in Primary studies with qualified teacher status with a specialism in physical education - 2.1
Higher certificate of education in bilingualism for foundation phase aged 3-7 (Welsh)
Module one for diploma in home based childcare
First aid for children and babies
3 a levels - business studies, physical education and ICT
10 GCSE's
Level one for British Sign Language
I also hold a number of qualifications for sports courses and coaching.

I am committed to developing myself professionally, and always ensure that my qualifications are up-to-date and relevant.

My Availability

Flexible. I am preferably looking for full time work although part time will be considered.

School pick ups and drop off at Ysgol Glan Cuebal and Gabalfa. Please contact me with regards to other schools.

I have one full time space available for Under 5 years old.

I also offer holiday care and before and after school.

Please contact me about other ages and your requirements.

Hours are flexible.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 25/06/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.00 per hour

Negotiable

My Local Schools

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • Exam Certificate (added 28/09/2017)
  • DBS Check (added 28/09/2017)
  • Training Certificate (added 28/09/2017)

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.