TutorZ

Private Tutor in Leeds

Female Member since Jul 2012 Last Updated Jun 2021 Last Login Jan 2022

My Summary

DBS Check
English Tutor
Biology Tutor
Chemistry Tutor
Physics Tutor
General Science Tutor
Secondary 12+
GCSE

About Me

I qualified as a secondary science teacher in 1999 and since then I have had experience teaching Science and English both within the state as well as the independent sector.

I currently work part-time at a local academy, for 11 to 18 year olds, doing English intervention where I do reading & general literacy intervention with students have a range of abilities.

Over the last ten years, I have tutored Key Stage 3 and 4 students in the Sciences, English and Maths. In addition, I tutored AS and A2 level students in Biology and Chemistry.

I have worked with students who are working below their expected levels in literacy and numeracy. In particular I have a number of years experience working with students who struggle to read and write. Experienced in literacy intervention; I can confidently deliver two highly regarded literacy interventions: Ruth Miskin's Read Write Inc as well as Catch Up Literacy. The success of both interventions is well documented by the EEL & are aimed at students who are below their expected reading and writing age. In addition I have also completed training in the GROW@ KS3 programme developed by the Institute of Education. I have worked with Year 7 students who have a KS2 SATs score of 80 in English and got them up to tier 3, which is what is needed to access the secondary curriculum.

I have been an associate examiner for Pearson (EDEXCEL) since 2014 and currently I am contracted to mark IGCSE Chemistry & Biology; so I have a very good understanding of exam preparation, technique and syllabus content.

I enjoy working one-to-one with students as they are more likely to make progress. I help students to get to grips with their studies, understand challenging topics and to plan their revision. At GCSE & A- level, I closely follow the syllabus for the student's specific exam to ensure that they have covered enough for each assessment. I do my best to support students in the hope that they will reach their academic potential.

Most importantly I really enjoy doing small group and one-to-one tuition because I can adapt everything to suit the individual and so give them the confidence to achieve what they're capable of.

I am a foundation governor at my local primary school. Additionally I am a volunteer for the Twins and Multiple Births Association (TAMBA) along with the NCT.

Furthermore, I have two children at High School so I fully understand the demands of modern family life.

I have a recent and up-to-date enhanced DBS clearance certificate.

Please do get in touch with me if you would like to dicuss your child's needs.

My Experience

1 year teaching science at a comprehensive in SE London.
1 year teaching science at a girls school in E London.
1 year teaching science in Melbourne, Australia.
2 years teaching science and as a head of house at a British International School in Bangkok.
3 years teaching science and working as the gifted & talented coordinator at a girls school in S. London.
2 years teaching science at a girls school in Kent.
2 years at a Leeds Academy teaching science and supporting students who were underachieving in science.
I have been working at another Leeds Academy since Nov 2014 doing literacy intervention work.

20 years private tuition experience in Primary English, Maths & Science as well as Key stage 3 & 4 Biology, Chemistry, Physics, English and Mathematics; along with A level Biology & Chemistry.

From 2018 to 2019, I privately tutored 8 GCSE students who achieved between an A* and a C in their sciences. Two of those students had special educational needs.

My Qualifications

BSc(Hons.) Biomedical Sciences, Sheffield Hallam University
PGCE in Secondary Science, Sheffield Hallam University

My Availability

I am currently available on a Saturday morning, during term time however I have some tuition slots available during the summer holidays .

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no yes no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no yes yes yes no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 15/06/2021

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £20.00 per hour

Key stage 2: £20 per hour
Key stage 3: £25 per hour
Key stage 4: £28 per hour
Post 16 : £35 per hour

If I have to travel to your home and it is more than 3 miles from West Park, Leeds LS16, I charge 55p per mile for return travel. This is in addition to the hourly rate outlined above.
For example if you live 4 miles away from me, this is the equivalent of 8 miles return so I will charge an extra £4.40 on top of the amount stated above.

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.