5 stars (1)

Nanny in London

Babysitter in London

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2013 Last Updated Jun 2020 Last Login 02 Aug 2020 Email

My Summary

Full Time Nanny
Live In Nanny
Live Out Nanny
DBS Check
First Aid Training
Childcare Qualifications
Newborn Experience
Prepared to Relocate
Governess

About Me

I'm currently seeking a long term (minimum two year commitment) full time live in or out professional nanny employment in London to start from mid August/September onwards (if live out) or from beginning of August (if live in), with one young baby (or possibility of a new baby within next two years) and optional older siblings. I'd prefer the Richmond, Chiswick or Hampstead areas if live in. If live out then should ideally be around the Richmond area, otherwise within walking distance of the Chiswick area, or must be between Putney and Richmond National Rail stations or between Kingston and Richmond National Rail stations. I'm also happy to consider working in NW London zone 2, as long as it's near the overground line. If live in, then must be open to live out after initial months. The family must be very Covid aware and cautious eg not uber socialising just yet and working from home/still fairly isolated! Happy to do some initial newborn shared care, but for the long term I'm seeking a sole charge role. I wish to find a caring, loving, relaxed and easy - going family who are keen for me to be fully involved and are happy to share our ideas.
I'm a professionally qualified holistic nanny, holistic Early Years Practitioner, teacher (EFL, drama and music) and holistic maternity nurse. I have an international background in nannying from new borns upwards; EFL teaching and private tutoring in EFL, general Primary, music, drama, script writing, verse speaking, public speaking in primary and secondary schools in Germany and Asia holding a Cambridge TESOL (CELTYL); Montessori preschool experience; Helen Doron sensorial Early English trained; peripatetic music teaching esp in piano (beginners) and recorder (GTCL Hons). I have professional experience as a maternity nurse and have trained in Steiner Waldorf schools as a class teacher. I can speak German. I am a super friendly and lovely person who simply adores babies children and has 24 years of work experience!

My interests are so many and varied but include world travel; children; music; dance; meditation; nature; world cultures; theatre; film; museums and galleries etc etc etc!

My Experience

Extensive nanny work (with newborn and some twins experience) and teaching of children c. 24 years around the globe.
After graduating from music college I spent approximately 10 years nannying both full time, live in, live out and part time babysitting, sometimes alongside teaching and tutoring (music and English) in London, USA, Turkey, Denmark and Germany. I worked for Camp America as a student one Summer as an Au Pair and in Turkey I lived with a "high profile" family as nanny/governess for 3 and 8 year olds. In Copenhagen and mostly Berlin I worked with new borns to 12 year olds and sometimes did sole charge care during school holidays and accompanied families to ski resorts and business trips around Europe where I would entertain the children taking them on trips. I worked with an ADHD child of 7 years at an international school for 18 months. I taught special needs children in Japan alongside mainstream classes. I taught English in Berlin, Japan and Hong Kong for 10 years in addition to theory of music, piano, flute, recorders, drama, script writing, verse speaking and public speaking. I worked as a Montessori pre school teacher in Tokyo. In the UK I have trained as a Steiner Waldorf class teacher and a maternity nurse in addition to graduating as a professional Early Years Practitioner, specialising in the Pikler and Steiner Waldorf Approaches. I am now enjoying a career in London as a holistic nanny and part time holistic maternity nurse. I have proxy parenting experience.

I am very good friends with some of the families I nannied for in the past and keep in touch with the children and skype on their birthdays etc! A couple of my families became like a family away from home, an extended family.

My vision is completely holistic and that children bring their own gifts to this world which I encourage to bring out and nurture, providing them with a free safe space to develop their own personalities and strengths at their own pace. I am firm but believe in positive encouragement led by example rather than threats from an authority! Children need to be intrinsically motivated but do also need someone they can look up to as an example. A rhythmic routine is very good with young children and a feeling of safety and security at all times is of utmost importance. I have an excellent rapport with most children and can quickly tune into their needs and feelings sensitively. Freedom to develop gross motor skills naturally is one of my passions, along with supporting bonding and attachment. My love for children is one of my biggest passions!

Don't be overwhelmed by my many, varied experiences as I'm not someone who will walk into your house and immediately take over - unless that's what you want!!! I'm very flexible and sensitive to your style and always take the approach of mediating between child and parent, necessary in the child's best interest. As my referees can vouch for, I am extremely trustworthy and during my duty the children's interests come first. I always voice any concerns, and praise of the children, with the parents.

My Qualifications

CACHE Level 3 Holistic Baby and Childcare Diploma (specialising in Pikler/RIE and Steiner Waldorf approaches)
OCN Level 4 Maternity Nursing (London, 2017). As mentioned above I have an enhanced DBS Check, Ofsted regognised Paediatric First Aid, CV, certificates, excellent nannying, maternity nursing and teaching refs on request.
Also an honours degree and instrumental diploma in music; professional qualification in EFL from Cambridge University; training in Steiner Waldorf teaching.

My Availability

Full time from earliest mid August/September 2020 (if live out) or beginning August (if live in).

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight yes yes yes yes no no no
Last Updated: 26/06/2020

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £14.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £14.00 per hour (net)

Live out employment: £14,-/hr net (one baby or one baby and one sibling over 3); £15,-/hr net (three children or two under age three or twin babies)

Evening babysitting: £14,-/hr Sunday - Thursday; £16,-/hr Friday - Saturday

Live in: £550,-/week net

Self employment (including temp work):

Temp/very part time/ad hoc: £18,-/hr gross.
Overnight babysitting of children that generally sleep through the night: flat rate of £150,- per night.

Night Nanny: £18,-/hr.  Twins £19,-/hr.
Night Nurse for Single Newborns: £18,- per hour.  Twin Newborns: £20,- per hour.

Maternity Nurse:  
£250,- per 24 hours (over consecutive days) or £18,- per hour

EFL/academic tutoring: £25,- per hour

Piano/recorder tuition:  £30,- per hour (beginners @ 22,- for 45 mins)

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Star. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

I am very happy to write a reference for Alison. Alison has been looking after my son since the beginning of June for a couple of days a week. She started when my son was 12 weeks old and had sole charge of him for 2 days a week with the occasional evening babysitting as well. Alison also looked after my son overnight twice in July, once for a period of 26 hours where she was completely responsible for him and for keeping our routine on track. We were very happy with the job she did on these occasions and it made all the difference to our trips that we could trust her completely.

Alison's duties include feeding, changing, bathing and playing with my son. She also did the bedtime routine and got him to sleep on the nights that she babysat.

Alison is a very calm and responsible person and she has done a great job looking after my son and giving me feedback about him afterwards so I know how much he ate, when he slept and anything else noteworthy. I would recommend Alison highly, she clearly has a lot of experience with children, especially babies, and that is reassuring for a mother who needs to leave such a young one in someone else's care.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Star on 13/08/2017

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.