5 stars (1)

Private Tutor in Reading

Usually responds within 12 hours

Male Non-smoker Member since Aug 2013 Last Updated Mar 2020 Last Login 26 Mar 2020 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Physics Tutor
IT/Computers Tutor
Geography Tutor
General Science Tutor
Art Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
GCSE
Economics Tutor
Special Needs Tutor
P.E./Sports Science Tutor
Engineering/Technology Tutor
11 Plus

About Me

Hello there and thanks for looking at my profile.
Please feel free to contact me with any queries.
AVAILABLE FOR ONLINE TUTORING TO SUPPORT CHILDREN WHILST SCHOOLS ARE OFF
Happy to use Skype / FaceTime / Zoom or just email ig that is easier

I am an experienced senior qualified teacher and have experience both teaching and tutoring a wide range of subjects to both boys and girls aged 3 -16 mainly covering problems with maths and english, dysgraphia, verbal and non verbal reasoning, 10+, 11+, 13plus and GCSE's.

I have successfully tutored boys and girls over this past 11 years to exam success to top public schools, including obtaining scholarships entries (4 scholarships this year alone), which this year have included Eton, Harrow, Sherborne, Merchant Taylors, Wellington and St.Paul`s amongst others.

I have also taught primary pupils to success in 11plus test in Watford Boys, QE Boys, Dartford Grammar and Tiffin to me a few.

I also coach several sports and represent GB at International Level.

I am available to tutor your child on weekends and some weeknights by arrangement, in order to assist them in achieving the required standard and fulfil their natural potential.

I prepare work for the child's specific needs at and between tutoring sessions and also have considerable experience tutoring children with learning difficulties.
I use the latest books and resources to teach the NEW National Curriculum and carry out Multiple Inteligence Tests so learning is fun, structured and targeted.

I have taught both UK and foreign pupils with numerous learning needs and completed thesis on both under and over-achieving pupils for my Dip.Child Psychology.

I can travel throughout Reading / Oxford A34 / Harrow M4 Greater London corridor to tutor in your own home.

Currently tutoring children from a wide spectrum of socio-economic and ethnic backgrounds to gain places in top schools with 100% success rate.

DBS forms and qualifications are available for inspection.

I look forward to hearing from you shortly to discuss your requirements further.

My Experience

Chartered architect for 15 years

Qualified teacher for both primary and secondary schools for 14years.

Taught at top 5 UK grammar schools including Rochester Girls and Dartford Boys where my pupils all passed with A*-B at A-level as well as Harrow.
Taught at Harrow Prep for 5 years and helped pupils gain scholarships to top schools in the Greater London area with many achieving scholarships.

Currently Head of Departments in outstanding prep school where i teach a range and subjects including maths, science, english, art and design technology from KS2 to KS4 level.

I am happy to work with your child's teachers, in order to monitor and record progress made.

I have completed thesis on both under-achieving and gift & talented pupils and use my research to identify their learning styles and set suitable work accordingly.I have taught pupils with numerous learning needs and completed thesis on both under and over-achieving pupils for my Dip. Sports Psychology and Dip.Child Psychology.

As a result I successfully work with boys and girls to achieve 11+ SATS and CE exam success to top grammar and public schools, including obtaining scholarships entries.
I also have experience teaching the MYP and IB program to International students.

My Qualifications

BA(Hons) PCPAS RIBA RSUA GTP QTS
Dip.Child Psychology
Dip.Sports Psychology
Chartered Architect
Qualified teacher with GTP and QTS
Level 2/3 sports coach
First Aid at Work
Paediatric First Aid

My Availability

Weekends and some evenings by agreement in your own home

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 25/03/2020

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £25.00 per hour

£50ph for one-off lessons and educational assessment in person.
£40-£45ph for long term tutoring in person
£25ph for online tutoring via Skype / FaceTime / Zoom or email
Travel expenses and resource materials charged outside immediate locality at cost.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • DBS Check (added 08/05/2019)
  • DBS Check (added 04/08/2016)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Harrow1. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Colin has been tutoring my son for a few months and he has managed to make him more confident and like to learn.
thank you.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Harrow1 on 11/05/2015


Response by Harrow1 on 20/05/2015:

Thank you for your review. It is great to have another positive recommendation.
I believe word of mouth is the best way for anyone to be recommended.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.