Denise B

Childminder in Upminster

5 stars
(5)

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2014 Last Updated Apr 2021 Last Login 16 Oct 2021 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

Ofsted Good Provider Logo

Hi. I am Denise. I have been a Ofsted registered, qualified childminder for over 20 years. I am married with two grown up sons and have lived in Upminster for the past 33 years. My husband is a retired police officer, who now works in London.

I initially started childminding when my own children were primary & pre- school age. Although my own children are older I still love taking care of children, helping them through their early stages of development and seeing them mature into young adults.

Our home is very well equipped to provide a friendly, safe and stimulating place for your child to play in while they are not at home with you. We have a large conservatory, a creative (messy) room where we do paints, sticking & gluing etc. There is a table and a quiet room for older ones who may wish to read quietly or do homework in peace.

I have a large open garden in which to explore, play, or find adventure. At the end of the garden is a purpose built log cabin where we do dressing up, dance and anything else that needs space.

We get out and about too. I have an allotment, where the children can plant their own seeds and watch them grow, or just play with the watering cans. Our outdoor trips include picnics in the park, visits to the toddler/play groups, feeding the ducks at the clock-house, the library and the local play areas.

I believe in providing your children with tasty, nourishing, food. I make all my own meals using fresh ingredients and encourage the children to take part in special make and bake days.

Whatever it is we are doing, I want to make sure your child feels at home when they are not at home.

My Experience

In my 20 years experience I have looked after children of all ages - from new-born right up to the start of Secondary school. I have cared for children from a diverse range of backgrounds and cultures and I am well practiced in tailoring my care to suit any individual need your child may have.

I have cared for children with special dietary requirements on medical grounds including nut, gluten and wheat allergies. I have also catered for other dietary needs on religious grounds (e.g. no pork, no beef) and ethical grounds (e.g. vegetarian) discussing and preparing a plan with parents so they have full peace of mind.

I have continuously developed my own skills and qualifications keeping up to date with training as well as attending relevant skills workshops to improve my ability.

I have assisted in setting up a Havering Childminder Group aimed at helping new childminders in our area.

My Qualifications

Childminding Practice
Developing Childminding Practice
Extending Childminding Practice
CSE Childcare
Paediatric First Aid
Left Handedness

My Availability

My hours of work are Monday – Friday 7am – 7pm
Childcare outside these hours can be arranged. Please call me to discuss.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 20/07/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.50 per hour

For my current availability and fees please contact me direct.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Denise B. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

We had looked at various childminders and nurseries with good reviews but were disappointed after visiting them. We came to know about Denise from our neighbour whose boys had been with Denise since they were 6 months and were very happy.
Our son first went to Denise when he was around 8 months old. We were concerned if he will be comfortable or take long to settle since he hadn't been away from us at all.
We were happy to see that he settled very quickly and was having a wonderful time. He reaches out to Denise giving her a hi fi and indicating she should carry him when we go to pick him up. He enjoys going to Denise's and loves listening to stories/songs. She also takes him to playgroups .
We were concerned about the food that was served in various nurseries we visited, with respect to processed food , salt , sugar.
We didn't have any such concerns with Denise as she serves a variety of homemade healthy balanced meals like stews, soup, pasta , baked vegetables, smoothies with no sugar and salt added. We are very happy to continue to send our son to Denise and feel this is the best decision we have taken. We would definitely recommend her to anyone we know looking for childcare.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for RoyJohn RoyJohn about Avatar for Denise B Denise B on 19/04/2018

My son is 21 months and has been going to Denise for 3 days a week since he was 11 months old.

Originally he was due to go to a nursery however i was never 100% comfortable with this so decided to look at child-minders as well. I met with 4 different child-minders and Denise stood out from them all. She was very welcoming when we first met and very good with my son who was only 6 months old at our initial meeting. I loved that she told us she read to the children as this is something i really enjoy doing myself and that all her meals were home cooked which compared to the nursery who have to bulk cook mainly processed food was a real bonus. The space that she offered the children within her home was also far more substantial to the other child-minders i met with a big conservatory area, huge garden and even a fully heated log cabin at the end of the garden giving the children plenty of room to run around and play.

I was very nervous about returning to work and leaving my Son but Denise made this process much easier than it could have been by meeting up with myself and Son on a few occasions before I returned to work so that I could get to know her more and also see how she interacted with him. We also did a few settling in days before I went back so I would leave him with her for a few hours at a time which I found very beneficial.

My Son loves going to Denise which as a working mum is what you want and I have complete confidence in her childcare abilities, I always get a full update on the day when I pick him up and he is always happy and smiling and loves playing with the other children. Not only does Denise offer plenty of space in her home she also takes the children out to playgroups, the park and library etc. which my son loves.

Denise is kind and caring and you can see that she genuinely cares for all the children that she looks after and that the children . I would highly recommend her to anyone who is going back to work and needs childcare.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Pearce82 Pearce82 about Avatar for Denise B Denise B on 16/05/2017

My eldest son first came to Denise, twice a week, when he was 6 months. That was two and a half years ago. Now Denise looks after him and his 2 year old brother, who also started at 6 months.

After looking at several nurseries we felt worried about leaving children all day. Then we met Denise, we were comforted to know that she looked after a range of ages so the children have grown up learning from them too.

One of the big things that turned us off nurseries was the smell of bulk prepared fish fingers and beans, with Denise you never know what home cooked meals they would have been introduced to.

They go to the allotment, park, farm, library, playgroups and shops and love being out in the fresh air. The children have a better social life than I do!

The children really enjoy going to Denise and I really do feel like she is part of the family now. There have been tears occasionally, but they are normally from me when I realise they don't mind me having to leave them!!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for EmmaW280 EmmaW280 about Avatar for Denise B Denise B on 14/05/2017

Denise has been child-minding my son 2 days a week for almost two years now, since he was 10 months old. I was dreading going back to work and having to leave my son and so visited several nurseries and child-minders, but I just didn’t have that peace of mind that is so important when you are a working mum; that was until I met Denise. I knew immediately that I’d found the place; she has a lovely welcoming home.
My son loves being with Denise and chats to me all the way home about what they have done during the day whether it be reading in the library, playing in the park or doing nature walks.
As a mother, I am completely confident in Denise’s abilities as a childcare professional but also as a kind, caring and compassionate person who has a genuine affection for all the children she looks after.

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for Louise R Louise R about Avatar for Denise B Denise B on 30/09/2014

My son has been looked after by Denise three days a week since just after his first birthday. He absolutely loves spending time there often asks to go and see her at the weekends. Denise’s house is perfect for young children and we are always made to feel welcome, not just by her but by her two sons and her husband too.

My son has developed fabulously since he started with Denise and always leaves the house with a smile, telling us what a good day he has had. Denise frequently takes the children on trips, whether it is to the allotment to tend to their strawberries or on the train into London.

As a parent I feel completely at ease leaving my child with Denise and do not worry about him at any time. It is obvious that Denise really cares about all the children she looks after and welcomes them into her family.

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for AileenG AileenG about Avatar for Denise B Denise B on 08/07/2014

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.