5 stars (1)

Childminder in Taunton Deane

Babysitter in Taunton Deane

Female Non-smoker Member since Jun 2014 Last Updated Aug 2018 Last Login Jun 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare

About Me

"Fun, structured, loving, creative, caring.....and covered in glitter” are ways I have been described by children and parents alike!  Oh, and apparently I make a good donkey when we are doing role play!! Parents have expressed how they like the way I am with their children and the children know exactly what is expected - firm, fair and fun! I am very caring, approachable, good communicator and have a great temperament.

I like to run and go to the gym, regularly take trips to the cinema and visit my sister who lives in Bordeaux. I have Princess Sleepovers with my nieces every couple of months where we usually have a fancy dress disco in the lounge followed by a DVD and our midnight feast...at 7pm!

I have many qualifications other than my childcare related ones, including a degree in Business and Law.  I am a Personal Licence Holder; hold a SIA Door Supervisor badge and can teach over 16s in Further Education.

My Experience

My name is Rachel and I am an OFSTED Childminder and operate under the provision name of RaeRae Green's. I also offer a babysitting service.  

I live in a three bed house in Cotford St Luke near Taunton with my cats named Kiki & Bryan. Kiki is a very chilled out and has been around little ones since she was a kitten and is exceptionally well behaved. Bryan is a kitten and learning to behave at the moment!!

I am in my thirties and have been looking after children since I was 14 when I started babysitting for my neighbour and then other children in the village.

I worked as a weekend nanny in London whilst at University. I looked after three girls who were aged 3, 6 & 9 when I started. I also covered their weekday nanny's holidays and sickness.

I then moved to take full time sole charge of a girl and boy aged 7 & 11 when I started. I spent two and a half years with them until I finished University.

I've looked after newborn upwards and this includes twins from 3 months to help their single mum get them used to, and keep them in, a routine. I have also looked after a boy with Prada Willie Syndrome which was very hard, great fun, very rewarding and humbling.

I like to do a lot of craft, baking, playing and reading as well trips to the park and local age appropriate groups. We always like to keep busy but always have time to sit and relax. I’ve covered routine setting to starting periods, bed wetting to building forts, toddler tantrums to teething, serious health issues to teaching twenty five 7 year olds the Macarena at a party....and everything in between! I was also a Child Protection Officer for a Springboard Diving Club in Surrey.

*** Currently no Childminding spaces available ***

My Qualifications

Introduction to Child Protection

Somerset County Council Childminding course

Level 2 Introduction to Nannying

Clear Enhanced DBS (previously called CRB)

Level 3 Paediatric First Aid

Level 2 Food Safety and Hygiene for Catering

FSA Food Allergy Online Training Certificate

BA Business and Law

BIIAB Personal Licence Holder

PTLLS (teaching Further Education)

My Availability

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 31/08/2018

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £8.00 per hour
  • Childminding from £4.00 per hour

On application.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • EU Passport (added 17/10/2017)
  • Ofsted Certificate (added 13/10/2017)
  • DBS Check (added 13/10/2017)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for RachelGSomerset. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

I put off putting my daughter into any kind of child care because I was convinced nobody would look after her well enough. I went to see a million (it seems like!) nurseries and nannies and child minders, all with very different set ups. When I read Rachel's profile, on paper it didn't seem to have the facilities of some of the others (being a flat with no lift/garden) and I was slightly sceptical.

In very simple terms, Rachel is a legend.

She has turned the biggest room in her flat into a big playroom. She is always buying toys and gadgets that she thinks will benefit the children, she can hear sleeping children from anywhere in the flat (lots of other minders put the children down for a nap upstairs with no monitor and I didn't like that) and she is super organised and knowledgeable.

The first time I picked ny daughter up after doing a full day, she fought to get away from me and back to Rachel! She clearly loves being with her and, importantly, I walk away every time and I don't worry at all. Rachel sends me pictures every now and then through the day and keeps my updated about little things my daughter does. And she totally understands my worries and soothes me just as well as she soothes my baby! She even bought me a mug with my daughters picture on to take for my first week back at work!

I can't recommend Rachel highly enough!!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about RachelGSomerset on 15/09/2015

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.