4.67 stars (3)

Private Tutor in London Borough Of Lewisham

Usually responds within 2 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jul 2014 Last Updated Mar 2019 Last Login 17 Oct 2019 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Art Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
11 Plus

About Me

I am a qualified teacher with over ten years’ experience of working with children and young people in different capacities as a teacher, Education Support Worker, Extended Services Co-ordinator and Education Social Worker.

My Experience

I have over five years’ experience teaching National Curriculum subjects including English and maths at KS 2 (years 4, 5 and 6) in primary schools in London and providing 1-2-1 support to young carers in school. I also have experience of teaching KS 3 maths and English (year 7/8) at secondary level.

I am available to tutor students in key stage 1, key stage 2 and key stage 3 in maths and English. I also prepare students for SATs, transition to secondary school and preparation for common entrance exams 11+. I am experienced in working with young people (KS2 and KS3 ) with additional learning needs to develop their emotional resilience - self-confidence and self-esteem (using a range of practical activities) as well as attainment levels.

My Qualifications

I graduated with an honours degree in Education from Greenwich University. I completed a post qualification in Management (Level 4) from Kensington and Chelsea College. As part of my CPD I have completed training in Child Protection Level 3 (April 2016), Safer Recruitment (October 2015) and Emergency First Aid at Work (March 2014 - valid for 3 years). I also have a current online DBS. References available on request. I have also completed a level 2 qualification in counselling working with young people.

My Availability

Are you looking for summer tuition for your child? Then consider booking for 3 or more days at a discount rate of 10%. I am available from July to August for short and longer term placements (Monday to Friday). During term time I am available on Friday after school, Saturday and Sunday (afternoon/ early evening session). I will travel to SE London including Honor Oak, Catford, Brockley, Penge, Ladywell, Dulwich, Sydenham, Forest Hill, Clock House, Elmers End and Beckenham. If outside of postal code area please contact me to discuss.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no yes yes
After School no no no no yes yes no
Evening no no no no yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 24/03/2019

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £30.00 per hour

Rate of pay for private tutoring starting from £30 ph
An Initial assessment is carried out to identify areas for support and is costed separately. As part of the initial assessment written feedback and an individual learner plan is given to parents. Lessons are planned to meet individual needs of the student including end of term progress tests with feedback given to parents. Homework is set on a regular basis (with agreement of parent) and reviewed in session.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for FBL. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

My son has been working with FBL since September 2014 when he started Y5, he is now in Y6 sitting his SATS this week and he has come along way.

When FBL met my son his grades were way below average for his age in English, Maths and Writing. He lacked confidence, would rather not give an answer in case it would be the wrong answer and was very quiet and shy. From day one FBL made my son feel comfortable in learning, she has encouraged and supported him at the right pace and level.

FBL has tutored my son once a week and I can honestly say she is the best person to tutor my son. In my son's last term report he was graded Average and Above Average. I am extremely happy with my son's progress!

FBL's communication, consistency and support has been amazing and I would highly recommend her to anyone.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Communication

by about FBL on 10/05/2016

My daughter has been recieving tuition from Frances for the last year now and she has grown not only in her academic work but also her personal confidence. Her grades have improved and she has developed many skills particularly in maths with problem solving. Frances was very polite and friendly, always on time and happy to help my daughter with any maths areas she found difficult as well as setting homework and providing interim tests to assess progress. I would definitely recommend Frances to anyone in need of a great tutor.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about FBL on 08/05/2016

Patient and caring. Brings new ideas when one is not working. Uses different methods of learning to suit the child. Always on time. Keeps you up to date with child's progress.

  • 4 stars Overall

by about FBL on 15/09/2015

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.