5 stars (4)

Childminder in Hull

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Sep 2014 Last Updated Sep 2019 Last Login 13 Dec 2019 Email Website

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare

About Me

SPACES AVAILABLE for ages 0-5 and 5+

THORESBY SCHOOL: after school pick ups available.

I am based on Spring Bank West in Hull.

I am 36 and live with my two sons, Cody who is 14 and Elliott who is an infant, and my partner Brian who works in the civil service.

I have always enjoyed working with children since taking part in work experience at college in various settings such as schools and nurseries and going on to work in private nurseries. I decided in 2003 that I would like to provide child care in a home from home setting and found a job I genuinely love to do.

I am passionate about raising the bar in terms of providing good quality child care for local families in Hull and have full time and part time places for children from 0-14 years.

At Katie's house.......

There are lots of toys, books to read, things to do and make, a fun back garden, and even a sensory corner which contains a soft play plinth, a light up bubble tube, mirrors, and fibre optic lights. My house is child friendly, safe and clean with good quality resources.

I also take the children I mind out and about locally to parks, play centres, toddler groups, rhyme time sessions, The Deep, museums, Ferens gallery, and much more. We have fun learning through play but also through exploring the outdoors, and through every day life skills such as posting letters, buying fruit or baking ingredients, taking part in community events, plus helping each other whilst having fun.

My Experience

I have experience with children with special needs, disabilities, and behavioural issues and provide an inclusive setting where all children are valued as individuals.

As an Ofsted registered child minder I am regulated and inspected by Ofsted, I am DBS checked, insured, and attend regular training such as Paediatric First Aid and Safe Guarding, I am also registered with the local environmental health department as a food premises.

My Qualifications

I attend training regularly and have qualifications in:

- paediatric first aid

- child protection

- special educational needs

- food hygiene

- health and safety

- equal opportunities

- home based childcare

- working with two year olds

- schemas

- NVQ3 Children's care, learning and development

- open university - understanding autism

- partnership with parents

- online safety

My Availability

My opening hours are 8am - 5:30pm, Mondays to Thursdays.

I am able to offer the 2 yr old funded places to eligible families plus 3 and 4 yr old funded places for all, including the 30 hours scheme.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes no no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes no no no
After School yes yes yes yes no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 11/05/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.00 per hour

My fees are £4.00 per hour. Home cooked meals, snacks, drinks, playgroup visits, outings, etc are all included in my fees there are no hidden extras.

After school club is £10.50 until 5:30 and includes a light tea.

If I am available I charge full fee, and if I am unavailable I do not charge.

My Local Schools

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • image/svg+xml Ofsted Certificate (added 22/10/2017)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for KatieSum. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Our 1 year old has been going to Katie for around 3 months now and he couldn't be happier.
Katie is awesome! She takes him out to the library and toddler group activities which we don't always have the time to do with him. He has become more creative since going to Katie and we often receive a painting or drawing ;) I always look forward to seeing what he did and how he behaved and Katie provides all that information in the daily diary.
We couldn't ask for a better carer for our one year old and we thank God for Katie.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about KatieSum on 30/01/2017

Our 15 month old has been going to Katies house since 6 months old. She is brilliant with her. our daughter has progressed so much with katie and everything she does with her xxx

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about KatieSum on 01/01/2016


Response by KatieSum on 07/01/2016:

Thank you for your review Sarah. :-)

Katie has looked after two of my children. She gives the very best of care possible and my children have always been extremely happy in her care. Her prices are very reasonable and she goes over and beyond the necessary for every child in her care. Her home is an ideal setting for children of all ages. She has all aspects of play and education covered with the toys/craft/building/books etc available at all times. Katie still has my youngest child in her care and I would never consider using any other childcare in the future. Overall myself and my children have always been extremely happy with Katie. Highly recommend her to anyone.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about KatieSum on 22/11/2014


Response by KatieSum on 28/11/2014:

Thank you for taking the time to review me. Ive loved looking after your children over the years and still do, they are a real pleasure. :-)

My little boy is 2 years old and is with Katie 2 1/2 days per week, he has settled into his new routine very quickly and happily. He is kept very busy in a loving, happy, educational environment and is completely happy in Katie's care. As a parent I am always aware of what my son has been upto, eaten, slept, places he's been and children he has played with and feel like he is being given a fantastic head start for mainstream school.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about KatieSum on 21/11/2014


Response by KatieSum on 28/11/2014:

Thank you for my lovely review. I love to see little ones feel at home in my setting and learn through play. :-)

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.