5 stars (1)

Childminder in Chichester

Babysitter in Chichester

Female Non-smoker Member since Sep 2014 Last Updated Aug 2019 Last Login Oct 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

**UPDATED!** Hi, my name is Carrie and I am an Ofsted registered childminder in the Chichester area with a recent 'Good' Ofsted rating. I have been childmindng now for 2 years and love what i do. I am passionate about children and providing them with the best possible start in life. I have a BA.Honours degree in Early Childhood Studies, so have a very good understanding of child development which I believe is key in providing quality childcare.
I believe children learn and develop the most effectively through play. Which is why I have created a fun free-flow environment in my home and garden to allow children to play and create using their imaginations! Most of the play will be child-led and I will follow the interest of your child to help them grow and develop, I will however have some structured activities available throughout the week linking into whatever theme we are doing at the time!

I was raised in a child-minded home and I am still friends with many of the children (now adults!) my mum cared for. I believe it is a lovely way to provide childcare, as it gives a more one-to-one approach where you have time to give 100% attention to each child. Perfect for children who may struggle, for whatever reason with the intensity of a busy nursery environment.

I have a cat called Mrs Wiggins who is very gentle and is often asleep! I also live with my mum who child-minded herself for 28 years. My mum will be in the house while I am childminding and is fully DBS checked, however she she is not going to be a registered childminder - I think it will be really lovely though to have an extra pair of eyes and someone around with different knowledge and ideas!

My Experience

My main experience I have, is caring for children with special needs and disabilities, and have done this for several years. **UPDATE!** I have been childminding now for 2 years so have varied experience caring for babies and toddlers. I have manual handling training, medication administration training, epilepsy training and paediatric first aid (updated 2018). I also have experience in feeding/administering medication to children through a PEG feed. Any other needs a child may have, I am happy to partake in more training to meet their needs.

I have worked as a carer for children who have cerebral palsy. I worked closely with 1 child for 6 years and have a very good understanding of his needs. I also worked closely with his speech and language therapists and physiotherapists, which has given me a wealth of experience, Including using various communication aids and providing physio pre and post op. All of this knowledge I feel is priceless for my career in caring for future children who may have a disability.

I also have experience of working in a mainstream nursery and pre-school setting. I was a Senco for a a nursery and before that I have had university placements at Chichester children and family centre and Chichester child development centre - both settings I stayed on as a volunteer.

I like to think my experience is extremely varied, and I feel I have a lot too offer!

My Qualifications

I have a first class BA Honours degree in early childhood studies
Paediatric first aid (2018)
Manual Handling
Safeguarding and Child Protection (2019)

My Availability

I am open Monday, Tuesday (closed Wednesdays) Thursday and Friday. my hours are 8am-6pm. Unable to do school drop offs/pick ups.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes no yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes no yes yes no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 22/08/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.50 per hour
  • Babysitting from £8.00 per hour

My fees are as follows;

Full day rate - £45 (8am-6pm)

Half a day - £25.00 (8am-1pm or 1pm-6pm)


*Fees are inclusive of food, snacks and any trips out we may go on :)

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Cap81. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Carrie is a caring and fun childminder. I am delighted that she knows Makaton signing and uses this in the day as we use this at home too. My daughter does a range of fun and appropriate activities and Carrie often sends pictures so we can see what she's been up to. I'm really happy that Carrie looks after my daughter and would not hesitate to recommend her to other parents.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Cap81 on 06/12/2017

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.