Childminder in Surbiton

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Sep 2010 Last Updated Nov 2019 Last Login 14 Feb 2020 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

I am an Ofsted registered childminder living on the Surbiton/Kingston borders close to all travel links. I am about a ten minute walk to Surbiton Station or there is a bus stop outside my house to the station.

I am 48 years old and happily married to Justin who is an architect and works locally. I have three lovely teenagers, two are at University. All of my children are very sociable and love children and babies. They often babysit for my parents in the evening and during school holidays and are all DBS checked.

I believe that good quality childcare is very important and that children are happiest in a home from home setting where they can feel happy, stimulated and safe. I have a lovely large home and garden with plenty of toys, books, crafts, games and indoor and outdoor activities to suit all ages. I also have quiet sleeping areas upstairs so that naps can be accommodated. The children who come each have their own bedroom so sleep well.

I enjoy cooking and gardening both of which I involve the children with as I believe children learn by joining in and getting involved. We eat freshly prepared healthy food, often organic, with plenty of fruit and vegetables.

Each week I will fill in a diary of things we have done so you can see exactly what your child has been doing, what they have eaten, when they have slept and anything else you would like me to include. With your permission I will also take photos of activities and email these to you.

I follow the EYFS as required by Ofsted and do observations and planning on all the children so that you can see how they are developing and together we can make sure your child is making progress and learning.

I have a friend who speaks fluent French and runs an optional French club, once a week, which some of the children who attend really enjoy.

I have up to three children per day and I think we have the best of both worlds as your child has friends to play with and will learn how to share and socialise but the setting is still a home from home and not too overwhelming.

I aim to offer a safe and secure home from home setting that is educational and stimulating where your child can learn through play. All of the children are treated like part of the family and are very happy to come each day. Some of the children who have come to me are still friends years later.

I have attended appropriate courses and have systems in place to ensure your child is safe and reaching their full potential.

Please see my reviews and let me know if you want to speak to any of my parents past or present.

My Experience

As well as raising my own three lovely children I have cared for numerous friends and families babies and children over the years. I absolutely love children and get great satisfaction from my job seeing how the children learn and develop.

My Ofsted grading is Good.

I keep up to date with childcare guidelines.

My Qualifications

I am a qualified solicitor but have retrained as a childminder as I love children and wanted a change of career and a more family based lifestyle. I really enjoy my new career and all of the children I look after.

My husband and children are all DBS checked and I am fully first aid trained.

My Availability

I currently have a vacancy and I operate a waiting list so please message me if you would like to go on it as things do change all the time. I work from 8 am to 6pm but can be flexible if you need extra hours.

Email is the best way to contact me and if you message me on this site I will send you my email address.

Many thanks!

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes no no no no
Morning yes yes yes no no no no
Afternoon yes yes yes no no no no
After School yes yes yes no no no no
Evening yes yes yes no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 11/11/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £7.70 per hour

Please message me to discuss fees. I am more than happy to cater for vegetarians or accommodate any other dietary requirements. My rates include food and snacks and any craft of cooking actvities as well as any activities/outings outside the home.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Sarah Ki. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

There is nothing as important as choosing the person who will help you raise your precious baby - especially your first born - and i really wanted someone who would approach childcare with the same style and values as he would get at home. A year later i have a brilliant, outgoing, well mannered, sweet little boy and i'm under no illusion that this is in no small part thanks to the love and care he has received from Sarah and her assistant, Barbara.

Sarah's space is minimal - rather than distracting kids with a whole lot of plastic toys, they actually spend quality time focusing on specific toys, tasks, and activities - and they spend a lot of time outside in the back yard.

I love that Sarah can have up to 6 children as it creates a mini nursery environment where the kids are less limited as to who they socialise with whilst also allowing Sarah and Barbara to really get to know the kids, their likes, dislikes and spend quality time and attention on each and every one of them.

They focus on teaching 'sharing' and 'manners' and positive socialising rather than teaching 'no' which creates a calm and friendly space where the kids really do enjoy each others company and at every stage of our sons development, they have really focused on progressing his skills through structured activities.

At the crux of it, Sarah is a highly educated ex-professional and just straight up normal person who truly knows my son and he is really going to miss her, Barbara and his other besties.

We are all going to miss her - though i still have her number and will no doubt be using it!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Sarah Ki on 20/09/2019

My one-year old son has been looked after by Sarah and her assistant for the last few months. We are delighted with the care he has received and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend her to other families looking for a childminder. Thank you, Sarah!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Sarah Ki on 10/07/2019

Sarah has looked after our 2.5 year old son since March 2017, and we could not be happier with the care that both she and her assistant have provided. The house is a lovely environment for the children, and our son goes in happily in the mornings, and always greets us with a beaming smile when we pick him up.

The daily diary that we get by email is fantastic, it is great knowing what he has been doing with his friends, whether it is playing in the garden, story time or crafts. They do a great variety of activities and we love getting the pictures of what he is up to during the day. It is also very useful knowing what he has eaten, the children are offered a good variety of food, and Sarah has been very accommodating with my very fussy eater.

We are very grateful to Sarah for the care and attention that has been given to our little boy while he has been with her, he has thrived in her care, and it has made it significantly easier to leave him in the mornings knowing that he is in good hands and enjoys his time there.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Sarah as a childminder, we are very sad to be leaving and will miss her!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Sarah Ki on 02/05/2018


Response by Sarah Ki on 02/05/2018:

Many thanks we will miss you all too!

Sarah had my boy two days a week from when he was 8 1/2 months old and because he was young (and my first) I was very nervous about leaving him. I needn’t have been.
Sarah offers a very caring and safe environment for the little people she’s responsible for. Her house is beautiful, clean and well-equipped, her meals are varied and nutritious and her assistants have always been extremely attentive and fun.
I can honestly write that I would not have had the confidence to return to work if it hadn’t been for the reassurance that Sarah afforded me.
I therefore have no hesitation in recommending Sarah to anyone in need of a childminder.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 4 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 4 stars Communication

by about Sarah Ki on 08/11/2017


Response by Sarah Ki on 08/11/2017:

Thanks so much for your lovely review we have really enjoyed looking after your lovely little boy and wish you all the best in your new home

Sarah offers a very playful and comfortable home environment for the children. There's lots of activities that take place from baking, playing in the garden, walks in the fresh air to the park, painting and drawing, with lots of toys for the children to choose to play with. There's also Guinea pigs that the children love. Sarah is very relaxed, caring and in control of the children and regularly communicates what's been going on in the day and what's been eaten at meal times. All the food is freshly prepared and they are offered plenty of healthy and delicious foods, as well as the popular fish fingers! If you are looking for a friendly, caring home environment I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sarah.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Sarah Ki on 04/10/2016

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.