Avatar for sfarrell
image/svg+xml

Sfarrell

Private Tutor in London: Lewisham (also available for babysitting)

Female Member since Feb 2015 Last Updated Aug 2023 Last Login 31 Mar 2024

My Summary

DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
General Science Tutor
Swimming Tutor
Special Needs Tutor
Cycling Tutor
Home School Helper

About Me

Fully qualified and experienced primary school teacher, flexible to teach Foundation stage, Key stage 1 and Key stage 2, experience tutoring students with autism (high-functioning, verbal and non-verbal), communication and speech delay, anxiety, complex needs, English and Mathematics, students with epilepsy, processing challenges, ADD, ADHD, and sensory needs,  Down Syndrome, PDA, global developmental delay, dyslexia, dyspraxia. Substantial experience successfully teaching Mathematics to KS3 level.

My Experience

I have had extensive experience teaching students with SEN which has allowed me to learn a lot about how to best support children with a variety of additional and special needs. Throughout my experience teaching and tutoring SEN students, including those with autism, they have benefited greatly from my use of visual aids and resources. As students have a wide range of learning styles, a visual prompt has proven to be very effective which allows students to understand what their learning task is. This gives them the confidence to undertake their learning at their own level and they gain ownership over it almost straight away.

With my extensive primary teaching experiences coupled with my skills in working with SEN students, I can give students opportunities to achieve success in the Primary subjects in a structured approach while giving them space to practice the skills independently. My teaching experiences has led me to focus on teaching students with ASD (autism) in Special Needs Schools and in my private tutoring roles. My subject specialism is in Maths and I specialise in teaching Maths to all abilities throughout the Primary phases. My tutoring experiences have given me avenues to explore the KS3 curriculum as I teach low level learners up to their GCSE level.  I have used a range of different engaging but 'fun' strategies to support ASD, including TEACCH, visual aids and communication aids including PECS, and have a thorough understanding of how to teach social skills and social awareness to all students.

I have also had an opportunity to tutor students with a range of emotional needs, adopted students, students in care and also Looked After Children who are living with foster carers. During my teaching experiences, I have worked alongside a student with epilepsy, the school nurse made it of high priority and importance to train all of the teachers and support staff on epilepsy as it was necessary in the setting. The student quickly learned how to manage the condition but it was of high importance that staff were able to assist appropriately as she was a residential student and she regularly went out on trips into the community with her class, whole schools trips- camping, excursions abroad, Steel Band performances, Shakespeare workshops, trips to the Royal Albert Hall. We, as a staff were able to support her adequately should anything happen in our care. The female student had seizures while in school but she felt safe and secure because she always felt well cared for and she recovered well in a secure environment.

My Qualifications

3 Year QTS (BA HONS) Primary Teaching
Subject Specialism: Mathematics & Numeracy
Secondary subject: PE
Yoga teacher qualification, transformational yoga -India
Swimming teacher qualification, including Safety Awareness
DBS-on the update service

My Availability

Please see below for my availability

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no yes yes yes yes no no
Last Updated: 22/08/2023

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £20.00 per hour
  • Tutoring from £50.00 per hour

My Documents

  • EU Passport (added 04/02/2021)

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.