5 stars (23)

Childminder in Sutton Coldfield

Usually responds within 1 hour

Female Non-smoker Member since Nov 2010 Last Updated Jun 2019 Last Login 07 Dec 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

I have childminded for 31rs, have four children 31. 27. 21and 18 ,and 5 grandchildren. I have been regestered for 31yrs and love my job. I am linked to whitehouse common primary school and nursery but currently I'm not doing a school or nursery run. We attend holland house childrens centre, and I belong to children come first network, and the inclusion project, so I can deal with special needs, deaf children and children who have disabilities. In my house lives my husband and 2 of my children, and the dog, woody! hes a springer spaniel, who is as daft as a brush, and loves people, and just about anything to be honest. He has supervied access to the children, and strictly no access when they are eating and playing. We live on a road that has a bus routes to and from bham to sutton and the train station is 10min walk. I live 10 mins walk from Sutton college. Sutton town centre is right at the top of my road, 5mins walk.

My Experience

I've have just been ofsteded, and I'm, very proud to say I received an outstanding grading. We as a family have always worked with children and for 6 years we fostered. I have brought up my own children, and always had minded children im my home. I base my skills on how I brought up my own children, loving and caring for them. Letting them explore the world around them. Including developmental goals with everyday life, like shopping, reading, visiting the park etc. I am Nef funded also, so have been trained to give nursey based education in the home, so when the time comes for the children to go to school they have a solid basis to start on. I beleive every child is an individual and needs to be treated that way. I work with parents and any outside agencys involved with the child, and if needs be will act as

My Qualifications

nneb, nvq3 childcare, first aid, child physcolgy, safer guarding children, designated senior person children come first network, child care accreditation, ISA, welcoming children, childrens act, hiv and aids, sexually abused children, record keeping, health and medical matters, reviews and meetings, managing behaviour, allegations, dealing with breakdowns, information sharing and assesments, early years foundation, sign language, attachment issues, social worker visits, early years observations,aims and outcomes for every child matters, child development, child protection, safe caring, seperation and loss, diversity and inclusion, anti discrimination,, child councelling 1-2-3,, first steps network, inclusion project, food hygiene, children safety, children's act, safe guarding 2 day, designated person, I am ofsted regestered with bham city council and have had a good, and have an poutstandings on my inspection. Which was carried out Jan 16. .

My Availability

Will have 1-2 places from October due to maternity leave and a child moving out of the area.
I am eee regestered so any 2 or 3 year olds that qualify for the 15 and 30 hour free care a week, can also take there sessions here.
I am set up for voucher scheme with all the agencys, so you can get tax relief on your wages.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes no no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 15/10/2018

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.00 per hour

£4 per hour
Reduced rate for siblings

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for shellyev. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Having recently moved to the area I was on the hunt for a childminder to care for my two daughters. When I met Shelley, her dog woody and saw her setting I knew she would be a great fit for my daughter's and family. Shelley is passionately about having a partnership with her mindees and their families, which is just what we want to ensure we work together to ensure the girls are in a happy and safe environment. I can't wait for them to stay with Shelley. Thanks for everything so far Shelley x

  • 5 stars Overall

by about shellyev on 09/06/2019

Shelly is the most warm and welcoming person I have met. I have met with many childminders in and around the Sutton area. Immediately Shelly made myself, partner and little girl feel so comfortable and welcome, from the second we walked through her front door. Her home/setting is beautiful, clean and well equipped. The spaces are well organised and garden for outside play is exceptional. Shelly and her family are all lovely. Shelly’s love and commitment to childminding is so obvious, you can really tell she aims to make every child a real member of her family and shows them love and warmth - sometimes you find that nurseries and some childminders are very impersonal and come across cold to children, Shelly could not be any more different. Her investment in each child is very apparant, seen through the extensive planning of activities and record of developments she keeps. From this I was put at ease that my 8 week premature daughter would be helped if her development does slow at any time in the future. Shelly is obviously exceptional at what she does, from outstanding ofsted to all of the courses she has undertaken- out of choice just to further her knowledge. I am looking forward to my daughter beginning care with Shelly come September, and I am extremely confident and at ease that I am leaving my baby daughter in capable, safe, loving hands.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about shellyev on 01/02/2019

I have a 4 year old so it was important for me to find the right fit for him. From the first visit I knew Shelley was perfect for us. She has a wonderful understanding of a child’s needs and has a firm but fair approach to teaching and guiding which was important for me too. My son lacks boundaries sometimes and having someone who can help him in this area whilst being gentle is a big relief.

The first day I left my son with Shelley, it was fantastic, she did some much with him and he didn’t stop talking about his day the whole way home. I know my son is getting the care, nurture and learning he needs.

I would wholeheartedly recommend Shelley to other parents.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about shellyev on 02/12/2018

We knew as soon as we met Shelly at her lovely home that it was the perfect setting for our almost 2 year old twins. Her house is lovely, warm and welcoming and all of the children there were happy, content and clearly had a great relationship with Shelly.

After a meeting for everyone to get to know each other, we knew that we wanted the twins to attend. Shelly is experienced, professional and very qualified; she is so friendly and warm and put us at ease straight away.

We receive updates and photos throughout the day of what the twins have been up to and they always come home with beaming grins on their faces and crafts in their bags.

If you are looking for a setting that feels like home away from home then I would seriously recommend this lovely lady.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Communication

by about shellyev on 30/11/2018

We have been looking for childcare for our daughter who will be one when we both return to work next year. Having looked at some nurseries, we just didn't get the right vibe. However, as soon as we met Shelly we knew that we'd found the right person and that we'd be happy leaving our daughter in her safe and caring hands.
We had already read Shelly's impressive 'outstanding' OFSTED report so we were really hoping we would like her when we met for the first time... and we really did.
Shelly is warm, welcoming and has a lovely family home. She does absolutely loads of activities with the children and her big garden is perfect for outdoor play. She's extremely experienced and was instantly able to build a rapport with our daughter, as did Woody the gorgeous therapy dog!
We are so thankful that we can relax in the knowledge that when the time comes, our daughter will be in the best hands possible. It's a weight off our minds and we are very pleased to have found Shelly. We look forward to partnering up to help our daughter grow up with a kind and inquisitive mind.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about shellyev on 15/11/2018

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.