
Private Tutor in Portsmouth

Babysitter in Portsmouth

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Aug 2015 Last Updated Jan 2021 Last Login Jan 2021 Email

My Summary

Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
English Tutor
History Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
GCSE
A-Level
Humanities Tutor
Virtual Tutor

About Me

After graduating from Oxford with a masters degree in English, I began working as a graduate assistant at an independent prep and pre-prep school. I am passionate about my subject and love having discussions about English with students and cultivating their own views and arguments about texts. However, I have a wide variety of academic interests and am able to help in a variety of areas.

My Experience

Graduate Assistant, Farleigh School Andover

I am currently working at Farleigh School (a prep and pre-prep school) for a year as a graduate assistant – this is a varied role that sees doing a range of jobs from teaching bottom set year 4 maths, to helping year 1 swim and giving homework assistance to the year 8 boarding students. I am gaining a lot of classroom experience from organising and teaching cover lessons, as well as observing and assisting in English lessons. It is a role that encompasses the pastoral and the academic through undertaking both teaching and boarding duties, and it has solidified my future career choice as a teacher.

Student Ambassador, University College
I conduct regular school tours for state school students and have taught and developed an English taster session about the value of literature.

Coordinator and Volunteer, SchoolsPlus (A charity tutoring in state schools)
I volunteer for an hour a week leading the teaching of a small group of primary school students creative writing skills. I am responsible for liaising with the school, recruiting volunteers and ensuring they have safeguarding training and DBS checks

University College ‘Opportunity Programme’ Summer School
I worked with three other team members for 4 weeks at a summer school for students from backgrounds that don’t traditionally attend Oxford. I provided pastoral support, academic support for English students and organised social activities.

My Qualifications

Masters degree in Victorian Literature
High 2:1 English degree from Oxford.
A-levels: English Literature (A*), German (A), Ancient History (A)
GCSEs: 8 grade A*, 3 A grade, 2 Short Courses grade A*

My Availability

As schools are now closed for the foreseeable I am very flexible.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 04/01/2021

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £15.00 per hour
  • Tutoring from £25.00 per hour

Negotiable

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.