Avatar for gwenifer


Babysitter in York

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Member since Nov 2015 Last Updated May 2019 Last Login Sep 2023

My Summary

DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Full Driving Licence
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience
Hotel Babysitter
Emergency Babysitter

About Me

My name is Gwen Gray and I am a young 64 year old. I have been working away from home f/t for several years but now its time to work p/t! I like working with children and young people.

I have a grown up family and was a single parent from when my boys were 12 & 7 years old. In my teenage years I had lots of babysitting jobs and when I worked for myself several years ago, I did short periods of childminding.

My Experience

To December 2015, I was working in an Independent Boarding School as a Houseparent heading up a team of 3 Assistants looking after a Boarding House with 91 Sixth Form Girls. I have also looked after Year 10/11 girls and Year 7-9 Boys.
I have been DBS screened and waiting for a renewal and I have a valid First Aid certificate. At the school, we were kept upto date on courses and information pertaining to the job including information on Safeguarding children, Managing Difficult Behaviour, Fire Training and Bereavement Counselling.
From January 2016, I have been working with various families in and around York doing childcare and evening babysitting. I have mostly worked with children from babies to 11years old, both boys and girls.
I have looked after one little boy since he was a baby and he is now 3 years old. I have looked after him throughout the day and also done overnight care, nursery routines, feeding and bedtime routines. At the moment, I travel by train once a month to look after him for the afternoon whilst his mother does shopping or household jobs.
With some families, I help with the morning routines before school, with others I do after school or holiday childcare and babysitting when parents attend social events. Or sometimes, I transport children to after school activities.
Recently I have worked with several families on an overnight basis. Looking after the children and young adults whilst their parents travel away from home with work. This has involves drop off/collection from school, meal preparation and bedtime/morning routines. Staying in the family home as proxy parent for 2/3 days.
I have excellent references from satisfied parents and character references from people who have known me for over many years and can confirm my honesty, integrity and work ethics.

My Qualifications

Although I do not have any official childcare qualifications, I have lots of experience gained by bringing up my own sons and working with lots of children and young people

My Availability

I would like to work several hours per week, my availability is varied and I usually try to fit in with most reasonable requests.
I would consider working Saturdays and Sundays too.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 05/05/2019

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour

My fees start from £10 per hour

My Documents


No reviews have been submitted for this Babysitter.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.