Avatar for u.screenName }}

Nanny in Wakefield

Babysitter in Wakefield

3.4 stars

Usually responds within 12 hours

Non-smoker Member since Jul 2016 Last Updated Aug 2021 Last Login 20 Oct 2021 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
DBS Check
First Aid Training
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Mothers Help
Emergency Babysitter
Nanny Share
Bedtime Nanny

About Me

DBS Checked Nanny Based in Wakefield (Sole Charge). Available 5 days per week 10:00-15:00 Monday-Friday, as well as Saturday evening babysitting.

Organised, reliable and a person with genuine care for children, I am looking for nannying and/or home tutoring hours during the daytime Monday-Friday.

I would be delighted to find a family who enjoys outdoor activities (lockdown restrictions permitting), such as going to country parks such as Pugney's and Anglers etc. On rainy days, I love to read with the children, play board games with them and engage in activities such as making homemade slime, conducting simple science experiments and baking using kids' cookbooks. However, if your child/ren does/do not feel able/does not wish to engage with such activities, I will happily adapt to their interests and to your family dynamic, routine and norms in the spirit of mutual support and positivity.

My Experience

I have extensive experience as a Sole Charge Nanny in Surrey, Paris and London, as well as as a PA to children with disabilities and as a full-time Home Help.

Having spent a year as a live-in nanny in the Maison Laffitte area of Paris, and then later in Rennes as an English teacher, I have a good working proficiency of French, which has proved useful for helping children with their school homework (reading records, spelling test preparation, grammar exercises, phonetics, articulation when reading aloud, confidence when speaking in front of the class etc.).

Working as a Home Help, Babysitter and Nanny has not only equipped me with a wide range of experience but also provided me with a tasty repertoire of wholesome family meals, as well as learning how to routinely keep the children's areas and kitchen tidy, the children's school and/or nursery bags ready for the next day (post-lockdown) and their uniforms washed and laid out ready before I leave in the evening.

Adapting to each family’s savoir-faire is an important skill that I have developed over time, and I see my role very much as an opportunity to endorse the parents’ way of bringing up their children and to support their decisions while they are still at work.

What I love about nannying and tutoring is the relationship I have with the children; they have such original perspectives of the world, which I find endearing and which motivates me to do my job well.

References and CV available on request.

My Qualifications

I will be completing my degree in French with English Literature at The University of Surrey in August 2022.

A-Levels in French, English Language, English Literature and Photography.

TCF (Test de Connaissance du Français) awarded me level B2 in French in 2016. Since then, Erasmus have awarded me level C1.

My Availability

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School no no no no no yes yes
Evening no no no no no yes yes
Overnight no no no no no yes yes
Last Updated: 31/08/2021

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £10.00 per hour (net)

The national minimum wage for shifts exceeding four hours, or £12 per hour for under 4 hours.

My Documents

  • DBS Check (added 14/05/2021)
  • Reference: Reference 3 (added 23/05/2019)
  • DBS Check (added 24/04/2019)
  • Reference: Family Reference 2 (added 15/04/2019)
  • Reference: Family Reference (added 27/01/2019)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request


Below are the latest reviews for Rae. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Rae has been with us for a couple of months and has made so much effort to make things work seamlessly for our girls. Rae is punctual, extremely well organised, caring and has put in lots of thought and effort to help our girls be confident, happy and healthy. We feel very lucky to have Rae work with us.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for spem100 spem100 about Avatar for Rae Rae on 13/10/2021

Response by Avatar for Rae Rae on 13/10/2021:

The feeling is entirely mutual, I feel incredibly lucky to work for you. It is an absolute delight to look after your girls and a joy to spend time with them!

So Rae has looked after my daughter who is 8 months old twice. Initially they seemed to be engaging and great for doing activities with my daughter such as reading and singing however basic needs were not fully attended to and I felt that my daughters needs weren’t being put first and there wasn’t enough attention to detail which is a must. I left Rae a brief schedule of my daughters milk feeds, this was not followed. I felt like I was patronised when discussing my daughters schedule/our set up. I left my daughter lunch yet upon inspection it appeared that no cutlery had been used nor did the high chair have any evidence of the lunch being eaten. Instead Rae gave my daughter their strawberries and oranges which was not agreed. They also failed to lock my door to my property when leaving with my daughter which I asked them to do and also showed them. Their reply was not an apology at first but simply “oh I never lock my door at home”. Absolutely atrocious. Upon challenging them they accused me of being abuse. All I was doing was telling them that I was unhappy. After this I did not feel that they deserved the full cost of their services so I deducted an amount. They then had inconsistent fuel costs (previously agreed I would pay) and then said it was “okay just pay for childcare” and then they went back and said “they’d ask their boss for receipts for the fuel” expecting me to pay after saying there and then not to worry. So taking all the information into account, if you have young babies I would be cautious of using this nanny. Their profile reads brilliantly but in reality they do not have much knowledge of babies or understanding babies.

  • 1 stars Overall

by Avatar for Amica Amica about Avatar for Rae Rae on 30/09/2021

Response by Avatar for Rae Rae on 01/10/2021:

Information for parents: Please note that the parent who left this review appears to be using nannies’ services and moving on to the next one in order to avoid paying for childcare. My current employer (parent of 2) would be happy to provide a reference if you would like an accurate review from someone I work for 5 days a week, as opposed to an ad hoc parent who hardly knows me. Please message me directly if you would like her details.

Warning to nannies: Please note that this parent is abusive and shouted in my face about something that did not happen (the alleged situation with the door being left unlocked), physically blocking my path so that I could not leave the house. I have over 6 years of experience in childcare, and I have never made such a juvenile mistake as that. Said parent is aggressive and micromanages everything that the nanny does. The parent does not respect sole charge responsibilities and texts constantly to check the nanny’s precise location, as well as looking in the bin and deducing that the satsuma peel was necessarily evidence that her child had been fed certain foods, not considering that the nanny also has to eat at lunchtime. The parent also messaged me to say, ‘Have you even changed my child’s nappy today?’ when her baby had been changed no less than 3 times in as many hours. When the parent is given confirmation that something has or hasn’t happened as she suspects, she chooses not to believe or to believe otherwise and treats that decision as objective fact. Ultimately, I believe that this parent is looking for excuses to pay a subsidised sum for childcare, going back on her word by breaking a verbal contract. I was paid less than agreed in advance, which hardly covered fuel costs. I would avoid this parent entirely, as she is likely to use you, pay you less than agreed, and then move on to a different childcare provider.

I was nervous finding a new person to look after my children after we relocated to Yorkshire but i have been thrilled with Rae.
I completely trust Rae with my children (8&3) and they have a wonderful fun and engaging time. I have always found Rae to respond extremely promptly to my messages, and be very punctual.
Rae has happily helped with homework, done bedtimes with ease and even been a dinosaur on demand to my toddlers delight.
My babysitter / childminder of choice! :)

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Mamabear Mamabear about Avatar for Rae Rae on 29/06/2021

Response by Avatar for Rae Rae on 09/10/2021:

It is an absolute delight to look after your lovely children! I hope they are both well - I would be more than happy to babysit for you anytime! :-)

Rachel has looked after my daughter on numerous occasions. She always engages my daughter in interesting activities and they share a love of music. Rachel is careful to cook wholesome, fresh food.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Mary T Mary T about Avatar for Rae Rae on 27/01/2019

Response by Avatar for Rae Rae on 27/01/2019:

It is always a delight to look after your child Mary. She has a natural ear for music and a great taste in books! I look forward to spending more time with her in the future :-)

So, whilst Rachel’s profile reads well, the reality is quite different. We didn’t even get past setting up the first meeting. On the first occasion, a family ailment meant she had to rush back home. Fair enough. The second arrangement, she just didn’t turn up. The kids were really looking forward to meeting her as we had relayed all the elements of her profile to them. We finally heard from her hours after trying to get hold of her, and she simply wrote, ‘Gosh, I completely forgot!’

Not even a ‘sorry’.

After a string of reasons, including further ailments that somehow prevented her from turning up to a meeting or even letting us know she wasn’t coming, she finally apologised.

Anyway, if you’re a parent looking for a reliable Nanny / Childminder, I would proceed with caution or move on entirely!

  • 1 stars Overall
  • 1 stars Communication

by Avatar for RichardA RichardA about Avatar for Rae Rae on 17/09/2018

Response by Avatar for Rae Rae on 30/01/2019:

Dear Richard, I'm terribly sorry that you were disappointed and due to a misunderstanding you were under the impression that we had agreed an interview. Many apologies for your wasted time and best wishes for your search for a nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.