Avatar for Betty
Betty
image/svg+xml

Childminder in Briton Ferry

5 stars
(1)

Usually responds within 2 hours

Female Member since Sep 2017 Last Updated Feb 2019 Last Login Jun 2022

My Summary

CIW Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

Hello, I have recently registered as a childminder with the Care Inspectorate Wales. I'm able to look after 10 children between 0-12 years old but I aim to look after 6 (including my own 2 children). This will be at my own home in Briton Ferry, Neath. The CIW will regulate my business through monitoring and inspection, ensuring quality care is provided including safe premises, suitable educational support and safeguarding for children and staff alike.

We live in a semi rural part of Briton Ferry surrounded by woodland and farms, So a car is necessary. I have 2 children, 2 cats and 2 chickens and we hope to have more pets in the future.
While your child is in my care I will provide healthy and regular meals and snacks including a wide variety of fruit, vegetables, meat, fish and dairy. I will have a fortnightly menu which I shall rotate and I will accommodate any dietary requirements.
I will provide a broad variety of activities including the use of indoors and outdoors, that are adult led, child led, involve group work and individual play. These activities will be planned in line with the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.

We have a large garden which I will aim to use where and when possible i.e. weather dependent. I will also aim to go out on visits to playgroups, gardens, play areas, the woods, the beach or any other child stimulating areas where we can learn, play and exercise. This will be planned within our routines and not conflict with meal times, school pickups/drop offs. I believe children should be out playing where possible and hope to be outdoors often, especially during the summer months.

Indoors I shall be using the playroom and dining room as areas to learn. There will be a range of play activities available such as jigsaws, play dough, construction, small role-play, large role play and activity toys. There will be musical instruments available along with a range of books. The children will be able to colour in and be creative, where we can paint, use chalks, make paper crafts, junk model and collage. I will also be providing before and after school care, so a portion of the children’s time will be spent walking/ driving to and from local schools. For more information on anything mentioned please get in touch.

My Experience

I originally trained in Music and Performing Arts which led to my involvement with Art and poetry workshops within primary schools. I enjoyed it so much that I pursued a career in education which has now lasted 11 years.
For 5 years I worked in a primary school gaining valuable experience and training.
I moved on to work in the Special Educational Needs Department at a local comprehensive school, where I gained valuable experience working in the Autistic Spectrum Disorder unit, Speech, Language and Communication Difficulties unit and the Hearing Impaired unit.
I then moved on to work in a specialised unit for teenagers suffering with a variety of S.E.N and mental health disorders. Since my last post I have been a stay at home mother. During this time I have helped friends and family with general childcare and support while setting up my the childminding business.

My Qualifications

12 G.C.S.E’S
NVQ Level 2: Teaching assistants
BTec National Diploma: Performing Arts
NVQ Level 3 Support
teaching and learning in schools
Level 1 British Sign Language
BA (Hons) Social Inclusion- Inclusive Education
CYPOP5- Becoming a childminder
Level 3 Paediatric First Aid
Level 2 Food Safety

My Availability

I currently aim work 3 days a week, ideally between 8 am and 5.30pm. However, I can be flexible. This may be worked over a full week. I already have 2 children after school so my school pick ups are limited. Although Ysgol Tyle'r Ynn and Careg Hir primary are most convenient. I have 2 spaces for under 5's. Please discuss this with me further upon contact as it may be subject to change.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 27/02/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.20 per hour

I currently charge hourly. I charge fees for lateness, last minute cancellations and a retention fee is applied while attending elsewhere i.e. school/flying start/ nursery. More information about fees is available.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

  • Training Certificate: Level 2 Food Safety (added 24/01/2019)
  • First Aid Certificate: Level 3 Paediatric First Aid (added 24/01/2019)
  • image/svg+xml Care Inspectorate Wales Certificate (added 24/01/2019)
  • DBS Check (added 24/01/2019)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Betty. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

My two children have been collected from school by Betty 3 days per week for the past 8 months. She is reliable, approachable, patient and my kids love her. She provides them with a healthy snack on return from school and engages them in a range of activities both in-house and out and about. Most recently they have joined the library! At Christmas time the art and crafts produced were lovely. I highly recommend Betty to anyone looking for a childminder.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 4 stars Setting
  • 4 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Helen Helen about Avatar for Betty Betty on 12/02/2019

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.