Katie W

Childminder in Calcot

Female Member since Nov 2017 Last Updated Jan 2022 Last Login 05 Jan 2022

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
Flexible Hours

About Me

Welcome to Little Leapers childcare. My name is Katie Wrixon. I am an Ofsted registered childminder in Calcot, Reading, with over 15 years childcare experience, offering a safe and stimulating space for your children to play, discover and flourish.

I offer full and part time care, before and after school sessions, term time and holiday care.
Being just a few minutes walk away, I can drop off and collect from Calcot Infant School and Nursery, Calcot Junior School and Beansheaf Community Pre-School. If you require drop off and collection from another local school or nursery then please feel free to ask as it may be possible to accommodate this.

The home environment, for children, is where everything begins. It is vital that the environment provided for them is stimulating both physically and mentally, and that within it they are provided with care, trust, respect, consistency and encouragement, with good role models to guide them. I believe this will enable them to develop into strong, healthy and happy individuals.

I live with my husband Jamie and our happy, sociable and funny daughter who was born in June 2017. Our home is a place where we feel relaxed and comfortable, able to do the things we enjoy most and we are sure that the children who join us here will feel the same. Our home has a cosy reading nook in the lounge along with a conservatory playroom full of toys and ‘loose parts’ to play with. Our garden has a patio area for chalking and sensory play, digging and planting areas along with tyres, stepping stones and ‘bits and bobs’ to create obstacle courses.

Whether your child enjoys dinosaurs, imaginative play, crafts, stories, construction or treasure hunts, here each child’s individual interests and needs are planned for and followed. We love being outside with nature, making new friends in our community at local groups and taking special trips to extend our learning.

My Experience

I have been a Nanny for over 10 years. I spent 7 years working for a family in Hertfordshire caring for their two girls from birth and 18 months onwards. For the last three years prior to having our daughter I worked for a family in the Thames Valley caring for two boys aged 3 and 6 onwards. During my time with these families I was able to build strong relationships with both the children and their parents which we still enjoy today.

I have cared for children with additional needs, helping at weekly physiotherapy sessions and giving extra support at home. I have also been fortunate enough to be involved with Noah’s Ark (a charity for life limited and terminally ill children) as a family support volunteer, assisting a child with a terminal illness and their family. I provided respite for the parents and planned fun activities for the young boy so that through plat he could try to make sense of the things that were happening.

I spent 5 years as a Nursery Nurse working in private day nurseries with children 3 months to 5 years. I planned activities, assessed and documented children’s learning and development and liaised with parents and other professionals to get the best outcomes for the children.

I always wanted to open my own childminding business once I had my own family as it was a natural next step in my childcare career.

My Qualifications

BTEC National Diploma in Early Years - July 2002
Sleep Training Level 3 - February 2017
Childminder Training - December 2017
Universal Safeguarding - January 2018
Paediatric First Aid - February 2018
Food Safety and Hygiene for Early Years Settings - August 2018

I am a member of Professional Association for Childcare and Early Years (PACEY).

My Availability

***** No vacancies currently *******

Open hours are 8am - 6pm Monday to Thursday.
Knowing how hard it can be to juggle work life and parenting, I try to be flexible where possible so feel free to contact me if you require childcare outside of these hours.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 05/01/2022

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.00 per hour

Please contact me for more information regarding fees.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.