5 stars (1)

Childminder in Stoke Gifford

Female Non-smoker Member since Nov 2017 Last Updated Sep 2019 Last Login 16 Sep 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

My name is Katya Cogan, but everyone who knows me calls me Kat. I am 33 years old, was born and raised in North Bristol having lived here all my life, apart from when I studied at both Leicester and Warwick Universities.

I live in Stoke Gifford in a semi-detached 3 bed house, with a secure back garden for exploratory play, which includes an area with a canopy for wet weather outdoor play. I also have an allotment in the front garden that the children can be involved with, helping them to learn how to grow fresh fruit and vegetables. There is a fantastic community park with a children’s playground at the end of my street, and many exciting things to do only a short walk or drive from my house. We will also go on fun local trips to places such as Wild Place and Forest School to enhance their time spend in my care.

I have chosen to specifically retrain as a Childminder as I feel it’s a rewarding and meaningful career that harnesses my previous professional experiences in my medical training, and my interest in quality childcare.

My aim is to help the young people I will support to learn, thrive and to develop the confidence to grow into their own unique person in a fun, encouraging and safe ‘home from home’ environment. I also put a strong emphasis on working closely with you and your child to support the learning they are doing at home. I have a great range of toys and learning resources for all ages, and will be happy to purchase extra resources if your child has particular interests.

Previously, I studied Medical Biochemistry and Medicine at University and qualified as a Medical Doctor in 2011. My favourite topics at Medical School were Paediatrics and Child and Adolescent Mental Health.
I changed careers to spend more time with my husband and to try and start a family ourselves. Since leaving Medicine I have worked both in Healthcare Recruitment and Education Recruitment, giving me valuable experience of working as a Homecare Coordinator, and recruiting quality teachers for Primary Schools all around the Bristol area.

I live with my husband Austin and my son Hugo, who was born in June 2017. My husband is the director of his own Air Quality Business, and is a brilliant dad to our son Hugo. We have been a couple since 2002 and were married in June 2008.

Regarding availability, I am happy to work full time Monday-Friday, starting as early as 6am and finishing as late as 7pm, to help accommodate people who work long hours or shifts. I will not be taking time off for any of the school holidays, apart from Christmas Eve through to January 3rd each year, and all the bank holidays. In addition, I will have up to 3 weeks off in the year for family holidays, the dates of which are flexible and can be discussed further when we enter into a contract together should you wish to have your child in my setting.

We live with several well behaved and well trained pets! We have two dogs, two cats, a small tank of fish, a tortoise, a small outside aviary of finch and a rabbit (In short a mini Zoo!). I loved growing up with pets and I see it as an important learning point in life to be able to learn to care for and respect animals, in a safe and appropriate way.
Our two dogs (‘gentle giant’ Riggs and the ‘cute and small’ Daphne) are both Lurchers. I have no concerns about their safety around children (they are brilliant with my son!), but so I can focus completely on your child, they will stay upstairs snoozing the day away in my Husbands office while I am working (something they are all too happy to do!).
Our two cats are called Merlin and Poppy, although they spend nearly all their time outside in the day and keep to themselves, they love cuddles in the evening.
Our Tortoise is 13 years old and sleeps all autumn and winter. When he is awake in the spring and summer, he stays in his cage in the living room, and would be ‘available’ to the children under supervision to learn how to care kindly for a tortoise, but as you will probably imagine he lives life in the slow lane! Our fish tank is also in the living room and is a good sensory experience for learning minds.
Finally, our birds live outside in their aviary, where they stay and will have no physical contact with your child. They are, however, lovely to look at and watch, which is easy from the window of our kid’s garden play house. The Finch sometimes have babies, which is a great learning experience. Our rabbit Thumper loves supervised cuddles with little hands!

If you have any questions or think that my setting may be the right fit for your child and your family, please give me a call to discuss and to arrange a visit – I look forward to hearing from you!

My Experience

I started Childminding in January 2018 and have worked with several wonderful families and their little people. I am currently on Maternity leave from September 2019 - June 2020, and currently have a full rota for when I return to work. Please enquire as sometimes spaces open up, and I am happy to keep your details on my waiting list if you wish to do so.

My Qualifications

Qualified Registered Childminder
South Gloucestershire Council Childminding course
South Gloucestershire SENCO Childminding course
Paediatric First Aid Trained
Enhanced DBS
Prevent Duty training
FGM awareness training
MBChB Medicine
Medical Biochemistry BSc

My Availability

Monday - Friday 6am -7pm.
I take the Christmas period off, and all bank holidays (But I do not charge for my holiday time).

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 16/09/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.60 per hour

Competitive fees, please ask for full details

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Kat Cogan. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Kat is an absolutely amazing Child Minder and has looked after both of my boys who absolutely adore her. They always come home full of tales about their adventures during the day and the various trips they’ve been on. Kat is very passionate about their well being and learning and has really helped to teach them how to express themselves and fed their inquisitive nature. Her little boy Hugo is lovely and has been a friend to my boys and her husband Austin has always been very polite and friendly whenever we have seen him. I would 100% recommend Kat.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Kat Cogan on 12/06/2019

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.