Avatar for P Steps
P Steps

Childminder in Paignton

5 stars
(2)

Usually responds within 15 minutes

Female Member since Feb 2018 Last Updated Apr 2022 Last Login May 2022

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours
Key Worker Childcare
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

My name is Melanie Smith. I have been a childminder for 10 years before that i have mostly worked in nurseries since the age of 17. I live with my two children Chloe age 20 and Matthew aged 12. My father Tom also lives with us. My daughter and father are also registered as my assistants my daughter works with me full time and mt Dad helps out around the setting and on outings.

I provide a home from home quality childcare service. My aim to to make children feel safe and secure in my care.

I have a big living area space. I also have a large kitchen diner for meals and baking and indoor messy play activities as well as arts and crafts activities. I also have a spacious garden with tuff tray activities sand, water play, slides, rockers, bikes and cars. We have a large paved area as well as a large grassy area for the children to play.

We also do lots of trips out and about. I have membership at Paignton zoo, we are also national trust members and also like to visit places like occombe farm, Haldon forest, parks, soft play and beaches.

I use an online system to record progress and do a daily record of what your child does as well as what they eat etc and also their learning journey progress which you can access this on desktop and through a phone app so you can always see your child's progress.

My Experience

I have been a childminder for 10 years. I was graded good at my last Ofsted inspection previous to this I have worked in nurseries since the age of 17 years old and working with children has always been my passion.

My Qualifications

My Qualifications/Registration/Insurance

• Ofsted Registered

• DBS police checked

• Public liability insurance with Pacey

• NVQ level 2 Early Years Care

• Diploma of Home Based Childcare Unit 1

• Paediatric First Aid

• Safeguarding

• Food Hygiene level 2

• Health and Safety in Workplace level 2

• Food Allergen Training

plus lots of other short courses I have completed to further my knowledge.

• Tom and Chloe have DBS police checks and are registered with Ofsted.

My Availability

I will work Monday to Friday 7:30am till 5:00pm childminding. I can be flexible on this depending on what is required. I may also be available for evening and weekend evening babysitting and possible overnight care.

I currently do not do any school pick ups or drop offs.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no yes yes yes
Last Updated: 03/04/2020

My Fees

  • Childminding from £4.50 per hour

My childminding fees are £4.50 per hour.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Ofsted Inspections

The inspection grades below have been obtained from the Ofsted website based upon the registration number the childminder has provided to us. You should verify this information yourself prior to using the childminder.

Ofsted Good Provider Logo
Good
1 August 2019
7 July 2016 - Good
Show previous inspections
Hide previous inspections

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for P Steps. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Mel currently takes care of my son full time and he loves it! At the end of a long day at work there is nothing better than picking him up and seeing the beaming smile that he has after a day of fun activities. Each day Mel records pictures and a diary of their day together, and even the food he has eaten. Mel's so thorough with the paper work and ensuring that our needs are met. Her home is beautifully clean, there's a great variety of toys, my son comes home with art/ crafts that he has made and they go out on excursions together. I've really noticed the difference in his speech and confidence since he has joined Mel and I'm really grateful to have found her and such a lovely setting for my son to enjoy.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Chrissie Chrissie about Avatar for P Steps P Steps on 23/04/2018

Mel has cared for my son Zach for the last two years from age 1-3 years. The care provided by Mel and her lovely family goes above and beyond what I would have expected. Mel has created a home from home environment where Zach feels like part of the family and has really flourished into the happy, confident little boy he is. I can not recommend enough, if I could rate more than 5 stars I would!!!!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Carrie T Carrie T about Avatar for P Steps P Steps on 15/03/2018

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.