5 stars (3)

Nanny in Ross-on-Wye

Babysitter in Ross-on-Wye

Usually responds within 2 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jun 2011 Last Updated Jun 2019 Last Login 13 Jan 2020 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Night Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
First Aid Training
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience
Hotel Babysitter
Emergency Babysitter

About Me

In July 2009 my family and I moved from Suffolk to start a “New Life in the Country' and bought a house that was on "To Buy or Not To Buy?". The locals quickly made us feel at home and we love living here. I enjoy spending time with my family at our caravan in Wales and walking our Border Collies. My favourite pass times are helping my son with his Downhill, XC and jump biking passion and playing Monopoly/Catan with my daughter. In the last 7 years my husband and I with the help of local builders and tradespeople have redesigned, renovated and extended our home. We are still tinkering with it now!
I enjoy most sports but have been particually keen on Water and Racquet sports. I have been a Christian since I was 15 and with my family play an active part in the local Baptist Church.

My Experience

In my 55 years I have worked in Admin, Sales, Banking, The Med, teaching watersports, and finally after having my children, in Childcare . I am presently working one 24hour day in four as a Mobile Responder (Falls Response Team) so have a rolling three days spare most weeks. I can also help whilst on call but cannot be left in sole charge as I may have to leave at a moments notice.

I originally started my Childcare business after my daughter (now 23 ) was born. By the time we moved from Suffolk I had cared for over 100 babies, worked for the Council looking after young mums, overnight feeding babies for Grandparent carers, had contracts with the Council and NHS for emergency childcare, run Breakfast and After School Clubs for the local school and managed to find the time to love and nurture my own two children.

My business was rated "Outstanding in all areas" by Ofsted and although this in no way makes me perfect it does give an indication of the standards I try to work to.

My Qualifications

Cache level 3 Childcare
Paediatric First Aid and First Aid at Work
Level 2 Food Safety in Catering
Hereforshire Enhanced CRB
Courses in
- Social and Emotional Aspects of Childcare
- Early Years Foundation Stage training
- Understanding Autism
- All our Languages
- Tiny Talk Baby Signing

My Availability

I am now only available to do ad hoc hours as I am enjoying having a bit more spare time.

My interests lie mainly with new babies, first time mums and helping establish routines. I would be interested to talk to anyone who runs their own business and/or just needs to get straight back to work. I would also be keen to talk to anyone who has no immediate family help who would like a mature experienced Nanny to rely on whilst they get used to motherhood.

For special cases I would be available for evening or overnight work with babies/young children as the need arises. eg To give you a good nights sleep with a new baby in the home.

Please contact me for a coffee and chat at Oak Lodge Walford without obligation or give your details to the secretary at Ross Baptist Church who will pass on your details to me. I will invite you first to my home so you can get a feel for who I am and where my interests lie before visiting you in your home should you wish to continue to explore my help as an option to your childcare needs. I am not currently looking for fixed work but can do some ad hoc or help out temporarily whilst permanent solutions are found. My previous employers would be happy to give you a reference.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 05/12/2017

My Fees

  • Nannying from £10.00 per hour (net)
  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour

Childcare in your home £10 per hour. Travelling time charged and mileage at 40p per mile for use of own car.
Overnight care 8pm til 6am £60


Evening, overnight by arrangement.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Ruthie J. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Ruth has helped me out recently with my two girls aged 1 & 2yrs while I have not been so well, and it has been so appreciated!
I found Ruth through this site and she was very professional and reassuring from the start. She has a folder full of glowing references which helped me to hand over the care of my two precious girls. The best reference of all though was the excitement from the girls whenever Ruthie was coming to visit! They love her - she is never short of exciting ideas and activities (and also helps out around the house, which I love!).

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Ruthie J on 09/11/2017

I first met Ruth (Mary Poppins as I call her) at the baby group she runs at the Baptist Church, but then again through this website when looking for a nanny.
She works for me every afternoon Monday to Friday and has been working with me since May 2013.
I have a 2 year old and an 8 month year old and she is equally great with them both - patient and creative and caring and fun and trustworthy. And when the children are content amusing themselves I love the fact she looks for other jobs to do around the house.
In short, I would highly recommend her, but she's employed with me in the afternoons so please don't pinch yet!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Ruthie J on 28/01/2014

Ruth has assisted me in understanding childcare options and has been very helpful in making me comfortable with my final selection.

I met Ruth and her employer and found Ruth to be professional and experienced. Her employer obviously rates her highly.

I believe Ruth has some availability to help people as a nanny or with chidcare. I was interested in employing Ruth but realised I needed a live-in temporary nanny for a few months, so Ruth kindly helped me with this.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Ruthie J on 14/11/2013

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.