Gab

Private Tutor in Edinburgh

Babysitter in Edinburgh

4.86 stars
(7)

Usually responds within 1 hour

Male Non-smoker Member since Jan 2021 Last Updated Jul 2021 Last Login 27 Sep 2021 Email Website

My Summary

DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Childcare Qualifications
Newborn Experience
English Tutor
History Tutor
Spanish Tutor
General Science Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
A-Level
Latin Tutor
Swimming Tutor
Special Needs Tutor
Cookery Tutor
Languages Tutor
Humanities Tutor
11 Plus
Emergency Babysitter
Cycling Tutor
Virtual Nanny
Home School Helper

About Me

I am a 34 years old Brazilian living in Edinburgh, with a lot of experience and passion for childcare. I have a background in Social Work, where I've had the opportunity of working with less fortunate children and all types of different care.

I have decided to move to Scotland not just because I love the country and the people, but also because I was warmly welcomed by the community. I work with IT for a private company and being in Edinburgh is very convenient for me (I do my own hours). However, I do miss all my five siblings, five nephews, eight godsons I left in Brazil, and I am here to do whatever I can to help yourself give the best education and care for your child(ren).

Moreover, I am a very motivated person, creative, active, honest, responsible and I am currently studying Child Psychology. I can cook healthily, I speak 4 languages (English, Portuguese, Spanish and Catalan) and I have all the necessary background to assist children of all ages, from toddlers to teenagers, according to your needs!

My Experience

Besides my personal experience being the oldest of five, I have been taking care of children since I was one myself.

I have a background in Social Work, I have volunteered abroad a bunch of times - including to Uganda, Africa, in order to assist 86 children in an orphanage. I have a brother with special needs who was cared by me until recently and I am currently studying Child Psychology.

I have experience with First Aid, house chores, teaching, being active and playful! I love the outdoors and I am also very creative. I can cook and assist in homework and such. I have also been a private tutor for a long time, and lately I have been doing it online.

ps.: We all know we are living in difficult times with the Pandemic happening, lockdowns and such.
I have specialized myself for this period, which will hopefully end soon, and I am very aware of all aspects of COVID-19 and how to safely carry on living life, especially with new restrictions coming up all the time. I thought this would be something interesting to share.

My Qualifications

Social Work with children;
Clean Records;
First Aid;
Organisational Analysis;
Proactive;
Creative;
Child Psychology student;
COVID-19 specialist;
Volunteered abroad.

My Availability

I work with very flexible families, so please ask me :)

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes no no no no no
Afternoon yes yes no no no no no
After School yes yes no no no no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 17/07/2021

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour
  • Tutoring from £30.00 per hour

I have been charging the same fees for over 6 months now.
Although that's what I officially charge, I have personal arrangements with some families if the hours are too long or if I have to stay overnight, for example.

My Documents

  • Training Certificate: Introduction to Development Matters 2020 (added 01/08/2021)
  • Training Certificate: Teaching in 2021 (added 01/08/2021)
  • Training Certificate: Physical Development in 2021 (added 01/08/2021)
  • Training Certificate: Starting Points in 2021 (added 01/08/2021)
  • Reference: Childcare.uk Certificate of Excellence (added 14/07/2021)
  • Reference: Babysits.uk Babysitter of the Month: May 2021 - https://www.facebook.com/babysitsie/ (added 09/05/2021)
  • Utility Bill: Council Tax Bill (added 24/04/2021)
  • PVG Check (added 24/04/2021)
  • Reference: Tutoring Reference (added 12/01/2021)
  • Reference (added 06/01/2021)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Gab. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

I wish I could give more than 5 stars in my review! We are based in London but I took my 6 year old with me to Edinburgh for the week, and needed someone to look after him at our Airbnb on 5 consecutive evenings while I was performing in the fringe. Luckily we found Gabriel and he totally exceeded my expectations for a babysitter. Not only did he take great care of my son, but he made sure he had a fun vacation, planning outings and taking him to all the best playgrounds, parks and other kid-friendly spots in Edinburgh. He quickly tuned in to my son's interests and energy and chose activities accordingly. He ran ideas past me and kept me informed on whatsapp, sending photos and updates. He was super conscientious about my son's nut allergy and asthma. My son loved spending time with Gab, looked forward to seeing him every day and was really happy and relaxed throughout our trip, despite the time away from me. Thanks to Gabriel we both had a safe and amazing week. I would highly recommend Gabriel to anyone looking for a nanny or babysitter.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Thea J Thea J about Avatar for Gab Gab on 30/08/2021

Gab has been looking after my three year old for a few weeks and B already loves him. Gab is really fun and easy to be around and has loads of ideas for play, trips, and activities. Really like the focus on being outdoors and games and just the trust that my little on is having a good day with him. Really appreciate the photo updates while I'm work and the good communication throughout the day.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Jayne Jayne about Avatar for Gab Gab on 26/08/2021

Gabriel has been taking care of my 3 kids (all under the age of 8) for 2 months and I can’t imagine finding anyone better! He immediately took an interest in all of their individual interests and can quickly adapt his approach to their individual personalities and needs. They love him already and look forward to him coming. He is always full of enthusiasm, exciting ideas and has a caring, empathetic approach. I highly recommend him.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 4 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Em x Em x about Avatar for Gab Gab on 15/08/2021


Response by Avatar for Gab Gab on 16/08/2021:

Hi Em, I really appreciate your kind words.
Looking after the kids is one of the highlights of my week, they are a true motivational booster.
I am always looking forward to be with them and I plan to keep giving my very best to their happiness and personal growth. Always count on me!

We first met Gab in May as I was looking for help taking care of my son, who has ASD.
Gabriel has an easy, warm, and responsible manner and we felt confident in him. He has hit it off with my son, and they have spent some time together over the last few weeks and really enjoy each others company. I would not hesitate to recommend him to other families. He is extremely considerate, kind and committed and has lots of ideas for things to do and ways to connect positively with children.

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for Lindsay Lindsay about Avatar for Gab Gab on 15/07/2021


Response by Avatar for Gab Gab on 21/07/2021:

Hey Lindsay, thank you for your words. They make me very happy.
S is a work in progress, but with everybody working together, his quality of life will be improved, especially because he has wonderful parents!
Our children never stops developing. The order of development is the same in all children, but the rate of development varies from stage to stage and from child to child. It does not happen overnight.
Let's persist, accept, be patient and, most of all, love S for who he is!
I love working with you guys!

I am very pleased to have found Gab he is fun, playful and active with my 5 yr son. They go outdoors a lot and Gab will organise all his activities for their day. He has great communication with me when I’m away & sends photo updates. I feel completely at ease and relaxed that my son is safe and happy when he’s with Gab. He is caring, warm and has built great bond with my son. He is clean and prepares meals for Luca as well. He will help around the house if needed.

I would recommend Gab for babysitting/nanny 5* thank you

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for inaia inaia about Avatar for Gab Gab on 14/07/2021


Response by Avatar for Gab Gab on 14/07/2021:

Thanks for your review.
I am very happy to have found you guys too! I always have a great time with Luca, and I can say with a lot of confidence that we are friends for life 😊. Every time I am with him, my days are happier, and that’s what I will always aim for himself as well!

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.