Avatar for Lainey
Lainey

Private Tutor in Cardiff

Babysitter in Cardiff

Female Member since Oct 2021 Last Updated Oct 2021 Last Login Oct 2021

My Summary

DBS Check
Own Car
Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Biology Tutor
Chemistry Tutor
Physics Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
GCSE

About Me

Hi, I’m Lainey and I’m a third year PhD student at Cardiff University. My background is in Biochemistry and my research looks at the structure of insecticidal proteins to support their application as biopesticides. I’m an enthusiastic, hard-working and friendly individual with a passion for teaching!

My Experience

I have over four years tutoring experience working with primary and secondary aged children, including GCSE level. I also demonstrate and lecture at the university, so am well practiced at communicating complex ideas in a manner that is accessible for all. I regularly participate in careers events with local schools, with the aim of encouraging children to pursue careers in science, technology and maths. I’m also working towards accreditation as a fellow of the Higher Education Academy. Fellowship demonstrates a personal and institutional commitment to professionalism in learning and teaching.

My teaching approach is varied and always tailored to the individual. This means that my strategy varies by subject and student. Generally though, sessions include a combination of:

- Teaching new material, or recapping areas students are struggling with
- Discussing the wider applications of the material to help with memory retention and exams
- Exam specific advice, such as commonly asked questions, or definitions that might come up
- Exam practise (I have a bank of past exam papers for the subjects I teach)
- Regular feedback on how students are doing & what to work on, including weekly homework and feedback

Most importantly, I have a passion for the subjects that I teach and I try to pass that enthusiasm to my students too!

My Qualifications

PhD in Biochemistry

Integrated Bachelors and Masters in Biochemistry - First Class Honours

4 A-levels (Maths, Biology, Chemistry, Physics)

11 GCSE's including English, Maths, Biology, Chemistry, Physics

My Availability

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 25/10/2021

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £15.00 per hour
  • Tutoring from £20.00 per hour

Primary - £20 / hour

Secondary - £25 / hour

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.