Tom

Nanny in Lewes

Babysitter in Lewes

Usually responds within 12 hours

Male Member since Dec 2021 Last Updated May 2022 Last Login 20 May 2022

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Full Time Nanny
Live In Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
Special Needs Experience
Own Car
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Prepared to Relocate
Mothers Help
Hotel Babysitter
Emergency Babysitter
Nanny Share
Bedtime Nanny
Festival Nanny
Home School Helper

About Me

Hi! I am originally from West Sussex.

I consider myself to be easy-going and enjoy being compassionate and expressing my playful spirit and humour.

I enjoy engaging with children in a fun and proactive way whilst being empathetic and encouraging their interests and passions. I explain the reason why I am asking them to do or not do something so they feel met and understood. I am intelligent with an inquiring mind and enjoy discussing with children subjects that are of interest to them and assisting them with their projects and homework.

I grew up with two families after my parents were divorced and have two much younger half siblings which I enjoyed spending time with when they were young. Now I also have two young nephews and loving family dogs.

I like travelling and spending time in nature. I enjoy walking whether by myself or with others or dogs. I have a morning Qi Gong practice. In my downtime I like to read, watch movies or a series and play my digital piano. I am interested in spirituality and applying it for my self development so I can further become more my true self. I eat a healthy, organic diet.

I have arthritic symptoms in my fingers which I am working on healing. I just need to make sure I am careful with them and don’t over work them.

I have my own car and no points on my license.

I am on the DBS update service with my latest enhanced DBS done this year (2022).

My Experience

I have minded, supervised or taught children from baby age up to their late teens. Some of the roles/environments I have worked in include: crèches, nurseries, after school clubs, as an aupair and mother’s help abroad and as an activities coordinator for a language school.

Most recently I have been working for a charity in Devon which supports children with special needs. I cared for children with conditions such as autism and Down’s syndrome in a residential home which entailed one to one time together involving activities, assisting with dinner, personal care and putting to bed. I also worked during the Easter holidays facilitating the children with different activities including on days out such as going horse riding. I was living with my landlords’ son, a thirteen year old boy with Down’s syndrome who I enjoyed spending time with including as paid work where I mostly supervised and played with at the local park.

I have volunteered working with adults with special needs including for ‘The Open Storytellers’ based in Frome, and ‘ROC Wellbeing’ based in Totnes.

Last year visited Ireland and spent time with a mother and her 8 year old daughter as volunteering as a nanny. My duties included collecting the daughter from school and playing and cooking for her in the afternoons/evenings. I also also assisted her with her homework. I spent time organising her playroom and generally tidying up, and her mother complimented me on my organisation skills. I also helped organise her home birthday party.

I have done several other volunteer exchanges across the world which generally involved being of service to one or more of the host’s home, garden, business and children.

I have lived off grid in Scotland for 1.5 years with a family who run an online health food business and had a daughter aged 0-2 whilst I was there. I did lots of outside work but also helped the mother with business chores and anything else that was helpful. At times I cared for the daughter and we had a fun and close relationship together.

I consider myself diligent and detail oriented and enjoy doing a thorough job. I like seeing my environment clean and tidy and I generally enjoy being of service. I’m happy to do chores needing me to drive my (or the client’s) car, and have plenty of experience with that.

Over the last couple of years I have undertaken a series of different live-in care jobs (either through an agency or self-employed) with clients with needs such as Parkinson’s, dementia and being wheelchair bound. As well as caring for them I cared for the house and for my clients with dementia I organised the food shopping and chose the meals to cook. Otherwise I have cooked my clients what they requested and was happy to do so.

Some of my live-in care clients have had pets which I help to take care of and have looked after many dogs for different friends/family/landlords/clients over the years. I generally love animals but notably dogs and enjoy walking them and generally taking care of them.

My Qualifications

I have done a week’s on site training for a live-in care agency. The training included feeding, giving medication, first aid, using equipment, emergency assistance techniques and protocols and more.

I have also done four training days for a charity where I assisted children with special needs.
1: Safeguarding.
2: Moving and Handling.
3: ‘Team Teach’
4: Epliepsy

My Availability

I am open to your needs and happy to be flexible even at short notice.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 19/05/2022

My Fees

  • Nannying from £12.00 per hour (gross)
  • Babysitting from £11.00 per hour

I am happy to discuss fees.

My Documents

  • DBS Check (added 28/12/2021)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.