Clara

Babysitter in Durham

Female Member since Jan 2022 Last Updated Mar 2022 Last Login 07 May 2022

My Summary

DBS Check
Evening Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Newborn Experience
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

I'm Clara, 23 years old, currently studying my master's in developmental psychology at Durham University. I'm from Germany but speak English fluently, so am happy to babysit for a bilingual family, should you be interested in that. I'm a very creative person and when I don't have to study love to spend time outside, cook, bake or look after my plants :) I'd love to babysit again and spend some of my time in Durham looking after children, as I really enjoyed my previous experiences. Next to supporting parents in their everyday life, it is a wonderful way to form a bond and I think of it more like becoming part of the family, than a job.

My Experience

During my bachelor's I was a volunteer in the "Welcome" project (supporting families in their first year with a newborn) and looked after two twins from when they were about 3 months old. Early on I just looked after them so their mother could get some rest or have her hands free for a couple of hours to do things around the house, I'd accompany them to doctor's appointments and as they got older spend several hours on playgrounds and picnic blankets :) During lockdown I sometimes saw them 2-3 days a week, so I have a lot of experience with very young children. I also looked after two bilingual kids who were a bit older before I started university.
Du to my studies in developmental psychology I'd be especially interested in looking after very young children. As a newborn is always a big change, I'd hope to make your life easier in this exciting but also challenging time.

My Qualifications

Through my studies in psychology and now the focus specifically on developmental psychology, I have a lot of theoretical knowledge about child development. I am generally a very calm person, trying to fit my engagement with a child to its needs (f.e. not to overload them with sensory stimulation when they need calming down) but also be encouraging and trusting them to explore new things and abilities. I have also recently gotten my DBS which I needed to start data collection in the infancy lab for my dissertation, just in case this would be of interest.

My Availability

I am studying full time, so I won't be able to babysit as often as I have done in the past (2-3 times a week), but I think it's best to just talk about this and see what times could work best.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon yes yes yes no no no no
After School yes yes yes no no no no
Evening yes yes no yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 02/03/2022

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £9.00 per hour

I am very open to discuss this and find a suitable solution

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Babysitter.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.