Avatar for DrLrmd


Private Tutor in Sheffield (also available for babysitting)

Male Member since Nov 2022 Last Updated Nov 2022 Last Login Nov 2023

My Summary

DBS Check
Evening Babysitter
English Tutor
Geography Tutor
History Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
Economics Tutor
Government and Politics Tutor
Sociology Tutor
Special Needs Tutor
Business/Marketing Tutor
Humanities Tutor
Media Tutor
11 Plus
Home School Helper
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

Hello there. My name is Luke, and I am a PhD student in Education at UCL. I am a CELTA / TESOL certified English tutor and have over four years of professional tutoring experience both online and in-person. In addition to my above teaching qualifications, I have a MA in Education with Distinction from the University of York as well a MSC in Carbon Management from the University of Edinburgh. My undergraduate studies were in Business and Financial Management.

My specialism is in coaching children for their 7+ 11+ and everything related. I am currently conducting lessons online via Zoom or Zhumu as well as in-person in Sheffield, Leeds, Doncaster, Manchester and Nottingham. (In-person lessons will usually be held in a public setting such as in Waterstones or a cafe). I can also travel further afield if required, also I have previously conducted daily tutoring sessions for children from foreign families staying in London for the summer holidays.

I am currently offering a limited number of slots here due to already having an existing number of students and students scheduled to be taking classes with me in the coming months from word-of-mouth referral, I can provide any prospective students with references upon request.

My lessons are always varied, full of enthusiasm and support from myself and I aim to always go above and beyond to ensure you are satisfied, I am always available for any questions outside of the scheduled lessons and will provide extra homework on request. I spend a lot of time outside of lessons preparing and personalising your lessons so that I make the best use of your time. I do not use the same content over and over again; each lesson is customised to focus specifically on the areas required by the student.

During the course of my students’ tutelage, the majority have achieved above-predicted grades and have excelled in their academic performance.

Please note: Proposed rate will depend on the subject and level of study, please do contact me first to discuss your requirements.

My Experience

I have successfully tutored over 150 students from a wide selection of private, state and grammar schools including some very prestigious schools: Harrow, The King's School, Gordonstoun, Tonbridge School, Westminster School, Langley Grammar and many others.

I also provide regular tutoring services to both primary and secondary level students undertaking their GCSE, IGCSE, IB and A Level examinations. I tutor Geography, History, Philosophy and Business Studies.

I also tutor English Language, Literature and IELTS/ESL. I have extensive experience in these areas and have tutored hundreds of students both in the UK in-person as well as from foreign countries online. I can draw upon a diverse range of resources as well as my own experience and expertise to help students reach the top marks. I have also helped a large number of students that needed additional assistance in order to pass their English qualifications. I have knowledge and experience of all major exam boards.

I also have experience of tutoring IELTS to foundation-year students preparing for their university studies, I have also previously worked as a UCAS advisor and university admissions administrator.

I also provide proofreading services for assignments and dissertations for university submissions. I can provide this service at all levels of university study from undergraduate through to doctoral assignments.

I can also help with guidance for university applications, job applications and have previously assisted over 100 Chinese students with their applications to British and American universities. I have coached the majority of these students through the entire applications process, from writing their personal statement and assisting them with completing their application to preparing them to take their IELTS examination.

My Qualifications

I am a current PhD student at UCL in Education, I have an MA in Education from the University of York and an MSC from the University of Edinburgh in Carbon Management. My BA was in Business and Financial Management.

My Availability

Monday and Tuesday evenings.
Wednesday and Thursday anytime.
Friday afternoon and evenings.
Saturday and Sunday anytime.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no yes yes yes yes yes
Morning no no yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon no no yes yes yes yes yes
After School no no yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 05/11/2022

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £15.00 per hour
  • Tutoring from £30.00 per hour

My Documents

  • UK Passport (added 02/11/2022)


No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.