Avatar for Karen


Childminder in Kendal

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Member since Oct 2023 Last Updated Oct 2023 Last Login Jan 2024

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year old Funded Childcare
3 and 4 Year old Funded Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

My name is Karen Hathaway and I would like to welcome you to my home and my childminding setting. I live with my Partner Phil Baird and a Boarder collie dog called Ella. We live at 17 Derwent Drive Heron Hill Kendal LA9 7PB My daughter Amie (has her own house) and a Boarder Collie called Floss, who is with me during the working day. I have a daughter Lisa who has her own house. My sone Daniel is currently living in Bristol.

My Experience

I have worked as a childminder for over 30 years. I still enjoy my job and watching children laugh, play, explore, learn and grow in confidence and independence in my home from home setting is a very rewarding career. One I feel I have put my heart and sole into for many years

My Qualifications

Preschool learning alliance diploma in preschool practice 1997.
National vocational qualification, NVQ level three children's care, learning and development. 2010.
Cumbria County Council, Early Years professional development.
FMC, training services, basic, moving and handling awareness.
Environmental health, level two food safety, 2010.
Pacey online training expectations of behaviour 2013.
Pacey online training scheme is 2016.
Safeguarding E Academy early help assessment lead professional and information sharing 2017.
Safeguarding Academy, an introduction to FGM, forced marriage, spirit, possession, and honour based violence, 2017.
Cumbria County, Council, safeguarding responsibilities, threshold, guidance and referral process level two 2022. Safeguarding is updated at a minimum of every three years.

My Availability

I present I have one full time space available. I offer a minimum of 2 days only.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 20/10/2023

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.60 per hour

I open 8am – 5pm Monday to Friday. I have a daily rate of £50 per day. (hours outside of this may be accommodated at an additional hourly rate) £5 per 30 minuets. I offer a minimum of 2 days per week only. Unexpected early/late drop/collection will be charged at £5 for every 15 minutes as per our contract. Bank Holidays are not available & no charge is taken.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Ofsted Inspections

The inspection grades below have been obtained from the Ofsted website based upon the registration number the childminder has provided to us. You should verify this information yourself prior to using the childminder.

Ofsted Good Provider Logo
21 February 2023
11 December 2017 - Good
3 February 2014 - 2
Show previous inspections
Hide previous inspections

My Documents

  • image/svg+xml Ofsted Certificate (added 20/10/2023)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request


No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.