Avatar for Fay


Babysitter in Truro

Usually responds within 2 days

Female Member since Nov 2023 Last Updated Apr 2024 Last Login 19 Apr 2024

My Summary

DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Emergency Babysitter
Home School Helper
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

I’m a new granny to lovely 10 month old girl who we look after as Mum prepares to return to work. My husband and I both retired early from teaching and are missing contact with a range of youngsters. We moved to Truro in September ‘23 to be closer to our family and help with our grandaughter. We live near to Treliske hospital and understand the pressures of work life balance particularly to those in NHS/hospital/social care environment. When our son was growing up we always had a range of people close by to call on for childcare but understand that not everyone is that lucky. We like the Cornish way of life and love the proximity to great beaches and walks. We value our environment and are very proactive in recycling and reusing. We help at a local repair cafe to give back to the community and in our previous location I volunteered at the local food waste cafe. Food is a big part of my life, I cook everyday using fresh ingredients and like to encourage children to try new foods. Happy to teach age appropriate cooking skills or with older children to support any DofE cooking skills activities. Always had a DBS check but not since I retired 2 years ago.

My Experience

I trained as a Home Economics teacher (Food, Textiles and Child Development). I initially taught Food, Textiles and Child Development. I have worked with kids all my life, firstly in a boarding school teaching during the day and looking after girls aged 11 to 16 24/7. I have worked in both MLD and mainstream secondary schools teaching Food Technology and specialising in pastoral care. As a Head of Year I was responsible for the pastoral welfare and academic achievement of all children in my year group of between 120 and 130 students. We have also run many school ski trips so you can see that I am very used to wrap around care settings. Now I’m back looking after the younger generation again, with my little grandaughter in my free time.

My Qualifications

BA Home Economics
Various courses during my teaching career mainly focusing on Food Safety & Hygiene, Child Protection, Inclusion, Online Safeguarding, Gender Awareness and Drug Education & County Lines.

My Availability

Happy to do sporadic evening babysitting, regular daytime slots on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Fridays. Would help out with some weekend cover in emergency type situations. I would only aim to do a few evening slots a week, maximum of 2.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no yes no yes yes no no
Morning no no no no no yes yes
Afternoon no no no no no yes yes
After School no yes no yes yes no no
Evening no yes no yes yes yes yes
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 08/04/2024

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour

Depends on time/services required (use of car/taking to activity/meal cooked etc)

My Documents

  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 07/04/2024)
  • Proof of Covid-19 Vaccination (added 02/11/2023)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request


No reviews have been submitted for this Babysitter.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.