
Childminder in West Wick

Babysitter in West Wick

5 stars
(3)

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Dec 2011 Last Updated Oct 2019 Last Login 23 Nov 2020 Email Website

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
DBS Check
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Newborn Experience
School Pickups
Tax-Free Childcare

About Me

I am an Ofsted registered child-minder, (which means I have had to go through extensive checks to be deemed suitable to care for children). My last grading was GOOD.
I live with my husband & son who is 8.5 years old, we live in a 4 bedroom detached house in West Wick with a lovely spacious garden tailor made for the little ones to enjoy. I also have converted my garage into a dedicated playroom which leads onto the garden and we enjoy many hours of play there.
At 'Muddy Puddles Childcare' I offer a fun environment where your child can enjoy learning through active play and caring, safe supervision.
My speciality is messy play - this does not mean your child will go home every day covered in mess, but it does mean we will have lots of fun exploring different textures and sensory items - and you have none of the clearing up!

I am also a Forest Childcare Provider (not the same as Forest School trained) and I believe that spending time outdoors is very important. The children go outdoors here every day, at least once a day, no matter what the weather because I believe that fresh air and wide open spaces are good for them! We have a fully enclosed back garden that the children can access whenever they want. But we also live near to lovely parks, woodland areas, Puxton Park and Court Farm, we visit one of these places about once a week.
We will do all manner of other things such as reading, singing, den building, face painting, crafting, being silly and lots of other fun stuff, as well as having the typical toys and open ended resources you would expect your local friendly childminder to have. We will also attend childminding groups where your child will have an opportunity to build their own little network group of friends/peers and get involved in a variety of different activities/themes and days out.

Each child is an individual and their wants, needs and concerns are of paramount importance to me and I will work alongside you to ensure I tailor my care to suit your child.
I follow the Early Years Foundation Stage which means I will keep your child safe and promote their welfare as well as ensure they are receiving the learning and development appropriate for their age and stage of development (they will just think they are having fun playing). I will keep you informed at all times of your child's progress, I understand there is nothing worse than thinking you are missing out on your child's daily life, I will share this with you through photo's and notes and a daily catch up when you come to collect and your child will have a learning journal.

I also have 2 gorgeous dogs, this will be perfect for you if you don't have dogs yourself and would like to introduce them to your child- of course you may have concerns about your child's safety around dogs and so they are not for everyone but as I am also a qualified dog trainer and behaviour counsellor I am fully aware of any risks associated with dogs and take none. I like to think I will be able to show your children how to respect and understand and approach dogs if they do not already know how to do so.
Oh and we do some awesome tricks with them! I have a couple of fish and now Terry the Tortoise and Liza the Parrot have joined the family (risk assessed and supervised access to all animals, no 'freeplay').

Returning to work after having my son was one of the most stressful events I've encountered, so I have been there, I understand, it helped me greatly to find a wonderful childminder to put my mind at ease, I hope I can be that childminder for you now....

My Experience

I am a mummy to my gorgeous 8 year old son and have been a step mum to a super girl from when she was 18 mths old to now in her 20's.
I have been childminding for 5 years now and I am very interested in the Early Years age group and am passionate about what makes them ‘tick’. I have passed a Level 3 diploma in Early Learning and Childcare whilst also attending as many Early Years training courses as I can to continue my professional development in this sector.
Prior to this I have also spent 12 months running a Messy Play business for babies and toddlers which was huge fun and am keen to continue the messy fun at home with the little ones..

My Qualifications

Home Based Childcare Course July 2014 Weston College
Children and Young Peoples Workforce Diploma July 2014 - May 2015 Weston College
Foundation Degree in Canine Training and Behaviour 2010 (I mention this because although it is dog related it is based on positive reinforcement methods which crossover and is a powerful tool in the childcare tool box) Bishop Burton College –Hull
Secondary Education – Firrhill High School, Edinburgh

Paediatric First Aid – May 2014, Apr 2017
Child Protection Basic Awareness training – June 2014
Early Years Music Network Meeting – June 2014
Level 2 Food Hygiene - Sept 2014
Inter Agency Child Protection: Introduction - Oct 2014
Early Language Development - Oct 2014
Fun with Language - Nov 2014
Observations, Assessments & Planning - Nov 2014
Celebrating Cultural Diversity through a Generous learning Environment - Nov 2014.
And too many more to mention them all.......

I do various online and face to face training and reading to further my knowledge and skills in the early years bracket.

My Availability

I have limited availability for all age groups.

I am able to pick up from St Anne's, West Wick.

Please call for an informal/friendly chat or drop me an email for further information.

Short term, short hours available on an occasional basis, please enquire for details.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no yes no yes no no
Afternoon no no yes no yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 26/10/2019

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £8.00 per hour
  • Childminding from £4.50 per hour

Tue - Fri
8am - 5pm (hours outside of this can be arranged/discussed for a supplement)
From £4.50 per hour includes healthy snacks and all trips

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for akiri. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Amanda provides an excellent home from home environment for children in her care.
She provides lots of opportunities for fun, play, personal development, learning and exercise through different activities planned for the children each day. She also goes the extra mile to adapt to different needs and interests of the children she's caring for.
Highly recommended!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Katy Katy about Avatar for akiri akiri on 07/08/2019

Amanda is a fabulous childminder. She welcomes both my children into her lovely home and makes them feel valued and loved. My oldest has before and after school care with her and is very happy and entertained. My youngest is with Amanda all day and has so much fun. She's always excited to join her in the morning and talks about her and the other children with great fondness.
Amanda gives her such a breadth of experience too and has encouraged her to develop new skills. They go out to lots to toddler groups, parks and farms and they regularly take her 2 lovely dogs for walks. She has so many pets too which they both love.
I really couldn't ask for more from a childminder and hope to continue with her for after school care once my youngest starts school in a few years. She sends me daily photos of their day and assesses her progress too.
Highly recommended.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Laura Laura about Avatar for akiri akiri on 07/08/2019

I have had the pleasure in building a great friendship with Amanda and her family over the past few years and I can honestly say I have never met anyone who is so dedicated, driven and passionate about parenting.

Our children have been able to enjoy growing up together; learning and developing skills whilst exploring and embracing adventures. Amanda has been fully able to utilise her creative and fun skills whilst identifying when quiet times are needed.

Amanda creates a safe environment at home which allows children to free play as well as engage into structure activities which are fun, exciting as well as educational.

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend Amanda's expertise, dedication and abilities to continue to be an amazing role model for our children as a childminder.


  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for Lisa Dor Lisa Dor about Avatar for akiri akiri on 01/10/2014

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.