Katie
image/svg+xml

Childminder in Leamington Spa

5 stars
(3)

Usually responds within 4 hours

Female Member since Apr 2014 Last Updated Jan 2022 Last Login 20 Jan 2022

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Tax-Free Childcare

About Me

*No current vacancies*


My name is Katie and have been a registered childminder and nanny for several years. I hold a Level Six Early Years qualification which is a Bachelors degree in Early Childhood Studies.

I moved to Radford Semele (Leamington Spa area), in the summer of 2018. I live here with my husband, Chris, and our two pets, a dog and a tortoise. The children in my care learn how to behave around pets and are excited to help in aspects of care, for example dog walks and feeding the tortoise!

I thoroughly enjoy working with children of all ages and take pleasure in encouraging them to learn and develop. My greatest satisfaction is enabling the children I look after to achieve new things and to share their pleasure when they do this.

My Experience

After leaving school, I completed a three year BA (Hons) degree in Early Childhood Studies in 2008 at the University of Plymouth.

After graduating, I worked abroad as a Children’s Club Rep in Europe for four seasons for a well-known active holiday company. During that time, I looked after many children ranging in age from 4 months to 18 years and encouraged them to try many different activities, including sailing, paddle boarding, water skiing and volleyball.

Once back in the UK, I worked in a couple of local nurseries as Room Leader and have been part of the Management Team, facilitating with answering queries, liaising with parents and outside professionals and assisting with training staff members in the Early Years Foundation Stage.

I have been a childminder most recently and thoroughly enjoy the freedom my job gives me to encourage the children's thirst for learning and follow their interests as they develop.

My Qualifications

BA (Hons) Early Childhood Studies with recognised Practitioner Status at the University of Plymouth (Level Six)
Childminding Qualification (Understand How to Set Up A Home Based Childcare Service) with Buckinghamshire County Council
Paediatric First Aid Certificate
Safeguarding Children (Basic Awareness)
Food Hygiene and Safety Basic Awareness Training
Teaching Phonics in Pre School and Nursery- Phase 1 Letters and Sounds

My Availability

No current vacancies.

I don’t provide before or after school care.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes no no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 06/01/2022

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.50 per hour

£52 for a full day 8am-5.30pm

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Ofsted Inspections

The inspection grades below have been obtained from the Ofsted website based upon the registration number the childminder has provided to us. You should verify this information yourself prior to using the childminder.

Met
9 August 2016

My Documents

  • image/svg+xml Ofsted Certificate (added 14/11/2020)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Katie. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

My daughter Olivia was cared for by Katie (Little Gems) for 2 years from the age of 8months and from September 2018 until September 2020. I had no previous experience of seeking childcare as Olivia is my first child. I was anxious about returning to work and wanted to know that Olivia would be cared for in a nurturing setting whilst I was away. Therefore I knew that I wanted a childminder but also wanted Olivia to learn, progress and benefit from the Early Years Foundation Stage framework in the same way she would have in a nursery. Katie provided all of this and so much more.

We were invited to view her setting in her home which is clean, bright and spacious with a large garden, outdoor toys, activities and a tortoise! We were shown all of her qualifications, risk assessments, childcare policies and other related documents which was all very reassuring.

Olivia has such fond memories of her time with Katie. During the day we were sent frequent updates via text with photos, videos and a daily diary entry which documented her activities, meals, sleep and nappy changes. The children were able to venture out most days to walk Jet the puppy, but also attended soft play, farmyards and playgrounds on a regular basis. Baking was also a regular occurrence. I was so grateful and proud of all the activities Olivia engaged in. She brought home her first painting at 8 months old and now we have several framed pieces on the walls.

Sadly, we had to cut our time at Little Gems short. We left with a learning journey which was a documented record of Olivia's time there. It was so detailed with photos and written assessments which just shows the care and attention Katie gives to each child she cares for. This was so useful for Olivia's new keyworkers at nursery but also an amazing keepsake which I will cherish.

I would definitely recommend this childcare setting if you a lucky enough to be offered a place.

Uche.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Uche Uche about Avatar for Katie Katie on 15/11/2020

Katie originally looked after our daughter when she was 9months old when I first went back to work after mat leave. I was nervous going back to work and leaving her with a stranger was a big thing for me but we had nothing to worry about. She has been with Katie for a little over 2 years now and has thrived with her. I really like how of a more personal feel Katie's setting has compared to a nursery, but still with structure. Our daughter has gained so much confidence and so many skills from being with her. So much so that Katie now also looks after our 17month old son too. We have been so grateful for all that Katie has done with the children and we are so glad we found her. The children will miss her dearly when they move soon. I cannot recommend Katie highly enough!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Nat Nat about Avatar for Katie Katie on 11/11/2020

Katie has been our little girl's childminder since March when I went back to work after maternity leave. It was a big adjustment for our daughter (and me!) after 14 months at home together but Katie has just been great. Our daughter is so happy at Katie's and is developing really well. Katie uses her years of experience working with children to ensure that Ella does many varied activies and we love hearing what she's been up to and seeing the results of her 'artwork' and craft. It's been tough juggling working hours sometimes but Katie has always been exceptionally flexible which makes life so much easier for us.
We are thrilled to have found Katie and could not recommend her highly enough!

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for SEJC6 SEJC6 about Avatar for Katie Katie on 07/07/2014

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.