5 stars (9)

Childminder in Hornchurch

Female 41 years old Non-smoker Member since Jul 2010 Last Updated Oct 2017 Last Login 23 Oct 2017 Email Website

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Special Needs Experience
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
Flexible Hours

About Me

I am a 41 year old married mother of two young boys who has worked in childcare for over 20 years. I grew up in Halifax in West Yorkshire and I knew from a young age that I wanted to work with children. I love to see how their individual characters grow and I enjoy being a part of each unique child's development.

I began working as a nanny in 1994 to a set of twins, who I am still in touch with 22 years later! It was the start of my long career in childcare and in that time I have looked after children of all ages, including newborns, as well as children with special needs. For 5 years I cared for Daniel who has Down's syndrome and, again, we are still in touch now that Daniel is grown up.

I love children and can entertain every age group - I especially enjoy coming up with new craft ideas to try out with the children. I am a very patient person and I am particular about cleanliness (I also used to run my own cleaning business when I lived in the north, this is still a thriving business). I am outgoing, friendly, trustworthy and reliable and have many references from previous employers.

I have NCFE level 3 award in Home Based Childcare and a GCSE in Child Development. I am paediatric first aid trained, current enhanced DBS check and I am on the update service, I have also completed an NSPCC Child Protection course. I have a food hygiene certificate, and public liability and business insurance in place for the cars I transport the children to and from school or playgroups.

I married my husband Graham in 2010 and in 2011 we welcomed our first son George (now 6). We moved to the Romford/Hornchurch area in 2013 and in 2015 we had our second son, Harry. George attends Towers and Harry goes to Creative Kids three days per week.

In 2017 I decided to become a registered child minder and in September I became Ofsted registered and launched Cheeky Chops Childminding Services from my home in St Leonard's Hornchurch. Working alongside myself is my 27 year old stepdaughter Keleigh, herself a mother of baby Buddy, born in March 2017. She is also paediatric first aid trained and also holds an enhanced DBS check, and is on the update service. We take children of all ages and accept 2,3 and 4 year olds for 15 & 30 hour funding, as well as childcare vouchers. We do school collections from Towers Infants and Juniors, and also Raphael Independent School, Squirrels Heath, James Oglethorpe, and both Creative Kids nurseries.
Cheeky Chops Childminding Services is open weekdays, 7am till 7pm at my home in Hornchurch. A home collection and drop off service is possible depending on location and times (this service is subject to additional charge).

Please *contact me* for current availability.

My Experience

I looked after Daniel who was 10yrs old who has down syndrome, I looked after him for 5 yrs through the social services, he slept over at my house when his mum wished me too, this was a private arrangement, his care was getting less and less as he was getting older, when Daniel relocated, so did I, as I was no longer required to look after him, with Daniel myself and my husband were involved in his life as he was very close to both of us, we still see him now (he's 16), I also looked after his little sister Abbie when required, who also had epilepsy.


I can entertain every age group of child and I have alot of patients, I am a very tidy person and very perticular about cleanliness, as I have run my own cleaning business ( which continues in the north now) for 9 years.

I have in the past done school runs to Oakfields in Upminister for 1 year for a girl of 8 years old, and I have also previously looked after a young baby called Ella, for nearly a year who was 8 months at the time, this was before I was pregnant with my second son. After my son was born I had been taking care of Jack, who was at the time 19 weeks old, he unfortunately has cystic fibrosis, however both jobs have now come to an end for different reasons. References available from all families I have worked for in the past. My expierence goes further back into the 90’s, but this can be discussed at time of interview if you wish to meet me.

My Qualifications

I have level 3 in Homebased childcare, paedriactric first aid trained, basic food and hygiene, I have a GCSE in child development,I have also completed an NSPCC Child Protection course basic level, I have also completed a course in first aid training essentials, and I am now a mother myself to 2 boys who are 5 and 2, and I believe that the parents of the child are always the best qualified, so always ask there advice first, with regards to what they expect from you, I have been looking after children from the age of newborn right up to teenage years, I have some special needs experience also. I am now Ofsted registered, and I have my stepdaughter working with me as my assistant.

My Availability

I am very flexiable, I can work mornings from 7am, day times, after school, and evenings till 7pm, at my house, drop off/collection service is possible depending on location and times petrol is charged extra for this service.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 21/10/2017

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.00 per hour

From 5.00 per hour/ per child including evening meal, this is for set days only such as 8-6 £50 or 7-7 £60. I do not do shorter days or half days. £6 per hour for after school collection 3-6/7pm, school holidays are charged for even if not being used. I am closed 4 weeks of the year which you will
know dates in advance which you are not charged for.

My Local Schools

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself.

  • EU Passport (added 20/05/2016)
  • Exam Certificate: Child protection (added 20/05/2016)
  • DBS Check (added 20/05/2016)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Lindsey. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Lindsey has been looking after my daughter since Sept 2016 picking her up after school and looking after her for a few hours 3 days a week.
Lindsey is very reliable and flexible. Bonus that she's a lovely person too! Would recommend Lindsey to you.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Lindsey on 08/02/2017


Response by Lindsey on 08/02/2017:

Thank you so much x

I would concur with everyone really, Lindsey has really helped me as I have a particularly busy job and just wanted that assurance that my children were picked up and ok until I got back home. My children are happy, and I know this is a fact as my son quite articulate and would tell me if he was not a happy. in summary - she is trustworthy. Which is important to me.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Lindsey on 26/12/2016


Response by Lindsey on 27/12/2016:

Thank you x

Lindsey has been looking after my youngest daughter two days a week from 9am-3pm since July 2017 (starting when LO was 6 months old). She also has my 3 year old daughter at the same time during the school holidays. I was initially very nervous about going back to work but Lindsey soon felt like a member of the family and put me at ease. Both children really like her and the elder one always talks about what she and Lindsey got up to in the days that they're together. Lindsey will spend time doing arts and crafts, baking cakes, or taking them to playgroups or soft play. She is very caring to the children as well as being very practical and helpful - when she arrives at our house and I am in a rush she will get stuck in and clean up the breakfast stuff and get the kids ready etc. I wish she could come over everyday even when I'm not working!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Lindsey on 06/12/2016


Response by Lindsey on 08/12/2016:

Awwh, that's so nice!! Thank you so much x

Lindsey has been a lifesaver to our family. She's been caring for our little girl since September. Lindsey looks after her in the morning and evening, before and after nursery and we couldn't be happier. Ellie has become so attached to Lindsey and her 2 little boys, she asks for them every morning, and talks about them all weekend! Lindsey has not only been wonderful in caring for our daughter but she's been excellent at relaying messages to nursery on our behalf. She takes everything I say on board and passes any feedback and messages to the nursery. In the evening, Lindsey always takes the time to tell me how Ellie's been throughout the day at nursery and at hers. Being a mum of small children Lindsey completely understands my concerns and worries (no matter how small they are) and always offers support and advice. I can leave my daughter with Lindsey in the morning and go to work without any stress, knowing she is being cared for properly. Lindsey has a great personality, is open and honest. Lindsey even takes my daughter out for dinner with her family sometimes. We could not recommend Lindsey enough, and would not hesitate to provide a personal reference for Lindsey

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Lindsey on 06/12/2016


Response by Lindsey on 08/12/2016:

Thank you so much for the review, it's really nice of you x

Lindsey has been working for us since August 2015 as the sole carer (nanny) to our then 5-month old son Joseph. Since hiring her we have built a solid relationship and she has become a trusted member of our family. She cares for Joey as if he was her own and I completely trust her with his daily care and well-being. She usually works for us 5-days per week from 9-3pm and takes Joey out almost every day either to organized activities (playgroup, baby sensory class etc) or locally to the park etc. He is a happy, sociable and easygoing little boy and she has greatly contributed to this by always putting his needs first and ensuring that he feels safe and secure. Lindsey is a friendly person, easy to get along with and is punctual and reliable. I would have no hesitation recommending her to another family. As Joey is now 13 months old, from July we will begin putting him in nursery 2 days per week for July-August and then increasing to 3-days from September. The planned days are Wed-Fri at this stage.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Lindsey on 20/04/2016


Response by Lindsey on 21/04/2016:

Thank you so much lovely review x

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.