Karen

Childminder in Thanet

5 stars
(3)

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Member since Jul 2014 Last Updated Mar 2022 Last Login 23 May 2022

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours
Key Worker Childcare
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

Hi my name is Karen i am a mother of 3 daughters a Beautifull granddaughter and grandson.

I live in a 3 bed semi detached house in the palm Bay Area, with a big drive which Is safe for parents to park on. I also have a big conservatory which is my main childminding room which leads onto my patio and large grassed garden.

I have one border terrier dog who's name is poppy and a dog called ruby , 1 cat which lives upstairs when children are present and a tortoise along with her babies. Having animals in the home can expose children to learning respect for animals as well as teaching them how to care for them.

I am totally devoted to the children that I care for and like to care for them in a loving family home environment, whilst still maintaining professional standards at all times.

I strongly agree that children should be cared for in a safe environment whilst being able to learn grow and develop at the same time, which is what I aim to achieve.

I live on the main thanet loop bus route and the stop is only a few houses either way which can provide easy access to all areas of thanet if you do not drive.

My Experience

I have been registered with ofsted as a childminder since 2003, I have recently been graded Outstanding in all areas by ofsted, prior to this i have aways maintained a 'good' grade since childminding for the last 16 years which I am proud of.

During my childminding carer I have cared for many children with different backgrounds and nationalities and also children with different disabilities. I believe that life experiences, the child's senses and their natural drive is a good building block to build a child into a loving caring adult with values, morals and respect. I promote this as well as working along with the early years foundation stage (EYFS) that the government and ofsted have worked hard to put into place ensuring all children meet their goals and achieve to their own ability.

All children in my setting have access to a wide range of learning experiences both through natural play and planned play and learning. children are observed at regular times.

I know at times children show a range of emotions and along with working in partnership with parents any issues, difficulties or experiences can be worked through and built upon.
I have carried on working during the coronavirus outbreak for families of key workers and proud to support those that need me.

My Qualifications

Level 3 home based childcare provider

Sign language bsl level 1

sign language level 2 bsl

Hansen speech and language course

Pediatric first aid

Data protection member

Network childminder

Level 2 food standards

Safeguarding and child protection

NVQ 2 IT

Forest school workshop

Short course on play therapy

short course on protecting vulnerable children

short course on schemas

My Availability

My hours are flexible with my working hours, a rough guide is 8am- 6pm Monday to Friday. Please note that hours outside of this need to be discussed.

I offer childcare during Term time and school holidays (Monday to Friday).

I am also registered to accept government funding from the age of 2 years, also I accept work place vouchers that many companies can offer and also the government tax allowance scheme.

I can also be flexible to work with parents who work shift patterns. I currently do drop off and collection from Cliftonville primary school and their nursery.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 15/03/2022

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.00 per hour

I charge £5.00per hour 8am- 6pm.
(£3.00 per half hour before 8am and after 6pm, fees are not charged for bank holidays, my holidays or illness but are charged for if you or your child do not attend your contracted hours for any reason. I am happy to pay entrance to all toddler groups and meals that I take them out for, also I pay entrance to Dover castle and wildwood. Children aged 2 plus will need to either have a yearly pass to the zoo or wingham animal park which will be yours to keep or payment for a daily outing. My fee does not include breakfast, cooked meals or lunch boxes, as with any allergies and Child's changing taste buds I prefer parents to supply food or snacks that the child can have during the day.

My Local Schools

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Karen. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Both my children adore Karen. She has cared for them both since they were 12 months old (now 5 and 2) They look forward to Karens house immensely and enjoy their time and experiences with her. The safety and well being of the children is Karen’s greatest priority and I love that whatever the time of year she makes sure they go outside or on adventures to fun places. I cannot recommend Karen enough.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Hannah Hannah about Avatar for Karen Karen on 03/02/2022


Response by Avatar for Karen Karen on 24/02/2022:

thank you xxx

I thought I would find the finding a "childminder process" very difficult. As Karen came highly recommended to us we decided to come an view her business. The minute we met Karen we knew that is who we wanted. She has the kindest personality and the most welcoming and friendly home. Teddy has enjoyed every day with her and I know she will become a positive part of his life and our family. Thank you for also being there for me. Her kindness has gone a long way with me and I COULD NOT recommend her enough. Xxxx

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Laura Laura about Avatar for Karen Karen on 16/08/2019


Response by Avatar for Karen Karen on 24/02/2022:

thank you xx

My 2 children have been with karen for years and have had the best time. They have been on various day trips and have enjoyed being around karen and her family. Anything you need help or support with she offers and becomes a 'family member' instead of just your child childminder. Fantasting service, caring and loving towards the children and teaches them brilliantly. So much to choose from and has access to a lovely garden in which the children enjoy being in.

Definitely recommend more than anyone or any nursery.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for kimberle kimberle about Avatar for Karen Karen on 21/06/2016


Response by Avatar for Karen Karen on 24/02/2022:

many thanks x

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.