5 stars (3)

Childminder in Wooburn Green

Female Non-smoker Member since Feb 2011 Last Updated Sep 2019 Last Login 29 Nov 2019 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

Welcome to Rachael’s Childcare…
I’m a reliable and diligent OFSTED registered childminder of over 16 years’ experience based in Wooburn Green— within easy access of the M40 motorway and both Beaconsfield and Bourne End train stations. I live with my husband Jonathan, who works as my assistant; my daughter, who studies at The Henley College; and my son, a student at the University of Oxford. We also have a small, and very friendly, Lhasa Apso dog.
My husband and I pride ourselves in providing a safe and happy family home environment— where the children we care for are valued both as individuals, and as part of our welcoming group. Children receive one-on-one attention to ensure that their individual needs are met, and that they feel at home at all times. We see the children, not as mere names on a register, but as unique individual characters who we want to see smiling in our home.
We can offer childcare between 7.30am and 6.30pm.
During school hours…
During the day we like to play outside whenever we can with the sand pit, play house, ride-on toys and in the mud-kitchen discovery area. When indoors, we like to read books, sing, dance, and use the musical instruments. We also like to get stuck in with craft activities— although dressing up and using construction toys are also very popular.
Regular trips to the wider world are an important part of the holistic experience we offer. These include visits to Cliveden, Odd’s Farm Park, St Tiggywinkle’s, Burnham Beeches, and a variety of local parks and nature reserves. The children enjoy going to the library too— often choosing healthy snacks at the local green grocer afterwards.
We follow exactly the same Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) as nurseries but, because of our small homely setting and smaller numbers, are better able to devote time to the specific needs of individual children, according to their stage of development. Because of this, the children we care for thrive within the EYFS framework.
Before and after school…
We drop-off and collect children from both Juniper Hill School (where my son and daughter attended) and from St Paul’s School. Over many years, we have developed excellent working relationships with both schools. We offer breakfast cereals and fruit before school, and other healthy snacks after school, if required.
After spending a long day at school, we believe it’s important that children can relax and have fun in a comfortable, non-institutional environment— where they can get involved in craft activities or play games inside or out. Of course, we also provide quiet areas where we can help children with their reading or homework. Some children also like the opportunity to change out of their uniforms ready for Cubs or Girl Guides.

The wellbeing and safety of the children is our priority. My husband and I both hold full paediatric first aid qualifications. We offer competitive rates based on the specific requirements of your family. Please do contact me if you have any questions, or to have a chat.
Rachael Hill



'We have been impressed since the moment our son started with Rachael. She provides a warm welcoming environment and I always know that my son will be well looked after while he is with her. She has a huge variety of toys and activities to play with and they get up to a variety of things each day. He often comes comes with cakes he has made, things he painted, drawings he has done and Rachael is really good at arranging activities for the children to do based on the time of year'.
We feel that our sons confidence and abilities have developed since he started going to Rachael and she has been really good at encouraging him to learn and recognise numbers, write his name, sing songs and read books with her. He loves going to her house and always tells me that he 'loves it at Rachaels''.
'I've always found Rachael to be approachable and accommodating to our needs. She is willing to help whenever she can and nothing is too much trouble.

My Experience

I have been childminding since 2003 and have a great deal of experience caring for children of all ages.
My husband works alongside as my assistant.

My Qualifications

Have a level 3 qualification - Diploma in Home-Based childcare.
Paediactric first aid course (both myself and my husband).
Food hygiene
Observations, planning and assessment - under 5's will have developmental experiences planned for them individually.
Safeguarding Children (both myself and my husband),
Risk Assessments
forest school awareness
Excellent references
16 years experience

My Availability

I offer care for children from 0-11 years.
monday to friday 7.30 til 6.30
Holiday cover is also provided
Monday through to Friday vacancy for Juniper Hill School Flackwell Heath and Claytons School from September 2019 and currently have a vacancy for Monday, and Friday for a child under 5 years.

Please contact for details

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 27/09/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.00 per hour

Fees are based on your individual requirements. Please feel free to contact me on the phone, by text or via email for details.
We also offer the 30 hours early years funding for 3/4 year old and the 15 hours for 2 year olds.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Rachaelschildcare. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Prior to sending our son to Jonathan and Rachael we had previously tried a couple of other local childcare providers. Both previous times he didn’t settle very well, refused to eat and would scream hysterically which would result in us collecting him after an hour or two into the day. Both Rachael and Jonathan took the time to get to know Harry, eased him into the setting and got to know what would comfort him and likes and dislikes. They are both so professional and nothing is ever too much trouble. Harry is so excited when he sees Rachael in the morning and I am very happy and at ease knowing he is well cared for in the day in our absence. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them - absolutely outstanding.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Rachaelschildcare on 13/08/2019

Rachael and Jonathon have looked after my 4 year old son for almost a year. He absolutely loves going and runs into their home as soon as the door is opened and doesn't look back (no kiss goodbye any more!). He thoroughly enjoys the structured but relaxed family atmosphere at their home and has done since he first started going to Rachaels. He often brings home works of art and cakes etc that he has made either at Rachaels home or at one of the play sessions Rachael attends.

Rachaels home is open plan, so the children have a large area in which to play - as well as having the benefit of a covered area within their garden which is also home to chickens and a rabbit. There is ample space for outdoor play which is very important to a football-mad boy.

Rachael has always been able to accommodate extra days/hours over school holidays and occasional work commitments so we have always felt comfortable that she is 100% reliable. I cannot recommend highly enough.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Rachaelschildcare on 17/07/2014

Rachael has been looking after my son for two years (he is now four). She is brilliant with him and he loves going to see her. She has also looked after my six year old in the school holidays.

Every day she has different activities planned always with learning in mind (mini bug hunts, catching rain in different sized containers, visiting an allotment to learn about vegetables). It always amazes me where she gets the ideas from.
She has been great at teaching him to count, learn phonics and write his name and he is always learning something new.
They regularly have trips to the park (playing tennis or football) or woods, and play centres,

She takes photos of them every day so you can see what they have been getting up to. It is really lovely seeing the pictures of him playing or making something and he like to see them too and tell me all about what he was doing.
Both Rachael and her husband are lovely and they are always willing to help out with any requests I have in regards to extra childcare hours. I would thoroughly recommend Rachael as a childminder.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about Rachaelschildcare on 11/07/2014

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.