5 stars (1)

Nanny in Kettlethorpe, Wakefield

Babysitter in Kettlethorpe, Wakefield

Usually responds within 1 hour

Female Non-smoker Member since Mar 2011 Last Updated Apr 2019 Last Login 15 Nov 2019 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Full Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Night Nanny
Full Driving Licence
Ofsted Registered
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Newborn Experience

About Me

I am an ofsted registered nanny with over 20 years experience looking for day or night work and babysitting. I am happy to work overnights or evening babysitting. Recently I have worked nights with newborn twins and before and after school and full time in school holidays. I have one child of my own, a boy born in May 2013 who comes to work with me in the day, but stays with his dad if I'm working in the evening. I cook good fresh food and can drive both manual and automatic and own a 7 seater Toyota Previa called Red Ted.

My Experience

I have over 20 years experience as a maternity nurse and nanny with children aged from newborn to teenagers including twins and some special needs and special diets. I have looked after up to 5 children in one family and have worked for 2 nanny shares. I enjoy a challenge and love to find ways to facilitate activities, for example taking younger children and asthmatic children on my tandem so that they can go for bike rides with their siblings. I have taken children to activities ranging from sing and sign, tumble tots and play ball to golf lessons, swimming and riding. I have changed nappies, baked cakes, built Lego, helped with puzzles and homework and built train tracks, often simultaneously! My 4 year old has loved coming to work with me and my charges have been like siblings to him.

I am very calm and have experience of Asbergers, dyslexia, dyspraxia, speech delay, reflux and disabled parents, as well as resident grandparents. I have worked with adults with varied learning disabilities and know some Makaton and am always happy to learn.

My Qualifications

I have O levels including Maths, English and French and a Certificate of Extended Education Grade 1 (Equivalent to O level grade A) in Family Centred Studies which included childcare. I also completed an Access course in Business Studies. I did half my nurse training, but did not finish, due to a back injury, which is no longer an issue. As a teenager I volunteered with a group for children with special needs. I have completed the Core skills course as well as having up to date first aid and Ofsted registration.

My Availability

I am available immediately

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Last Updated: 21/01/2019

My Fees

  • Nannying from £10.00 per hour (gross)
  • Babysitting from £10.00 per hour

I'm open to offers depending on location and requirements.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Joan A. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Joan joined us in February 2018 when our twin boys were 3 weeks old and what a god send she was! The first night she literally frogged marched me upto bed and told me to leave everything to her and to get some much needed sleep!

We asked Joan to night nanny for our twins, as already having an 18m old, and a caesarean I was shattered and not coping that well just through sheer exhaustion. Joan worked Sunday - Thursday 21:00 - 07:00, and stayed over in the mornings if we needed her to - nothing was too much to ask!

Joan fed our boys all through the night and wasn’t even phased by the amount of sick due to them both having horrendous reflux - which took a while to manage via medication. She was even on hand when twin 2 was taken to hospital with Enterovirus Meningitis.

Joan’s commitment to us and the boys was unquestionable when during the heavy snow we had through February and March, she still managed to make it to us every night without hesitation.

We had to unfortunately make the decision to give Joan her notice when our day nanny wanted to go full time; the position of night nanny was only ever supposed to be short term (around 2/3 months) but after 7 months of blissful sleep and being completely spoilt by Joan being so brilliant, we had to say goodbye.

It was always clear that Joan always had our boys best interest at heart and with this in mind I can only say that Joan will be an asset to any family needing the extra help!

We wish Joan all the very best for her future!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Joan A on 25/09/2018

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.