5 stars (2)
image/svg+xml

Private Tutor in Basingstoke

Usually responds within 24 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2017 Last Updated Mar 2020 Last Login 19 Jun 2020 Email Website

My Summary

DBS Check
Art Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Secondary 12+
11 Plus

About Me

Hi, I'm Vanessa, a married mum of two home educated (or as I prefer to call it "the Ultimate Privately Educated") children, and a long standing active member of the Basingstoke Home Ed community.

- I offer study support and tutor workshops for home educated children **in a group environment** from £5 per child per hour.

- I also run a Saturday Arts & Crafts Club. Sessions for the over 8's tend to run for 1.5 and are charged from £7-50 per session.

- I offer occasional holiday club type activities and weekend "drop and shop" kids clubs especially during the busier festive shopping period when parents don't want to drag their bored youngsters around busy shopping malls!

- I am also a community partner of "The Best of Basingstoke"

My Experience

My own children are aged 11 and almost 9 respectively. I've been providing home ed support and tutoring since 2015, and I have run Saturday Art Club since January 2017

My Qualifications

I have a Banking Degree which I attained in 1998 and have lectured college students, but since my focus changed after having children and becoming more involved in children's activities I have also completed a CACHE level 2 Certificate in Caring for Children and Young People. I have also done an "Understanding Behaviour in Children Aged 5+" course through Hampshire County Council; and I have done Safeguarding training. I am also First Aid trained and experienced. I volunteer as a First Aider at a 3 day annual convention with up to 8000 delegates at the BIC in Bournemouth, and have done so since 2015.

My Availability

I am currently fully booked for the remainder of the 2020 Academic year.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes no yes no yes no no
Afternoon yes no no no yes yes no
After School yes no no no yes no no
Evening no no no no yes yes no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 06/03/2020

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £30.00 per hour

1:1 tutoring starts at £30 per hour.
Prices for child sitting are on request, and depend on various factors including age, length of time required, and time of day.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • Training Certificate: Cache Level 2: Caring For Children and Young People (added 16/07/2019)
  • Training Certificate: Understanding Behaviour 5+ (added 16/07/2019)
  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 16/07/2019)
  • DBS Check (added 16/07/2019)
  • First Aid Certificate (added 16/07/2019)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for VanessaD. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

It takes a village to raise a child and an incredibly patient tutor.
Vanessa has the inherent ability to adapt her approach to facilitate different learning styles.

My son, who is extremely shy and self-conscious, have gained so much confidence since working with her. Art sessions are creative, and she encourages students and celebrate their individual achievements.

The home ed community is varied and our children represent a range of personalities with sometimes complex education and emotional needs. I must say, it is very heart-warming to see someone who is so respectful of children, no matter how complex their needs. Health and Safety is also a top priority for her and I feel very comfortable leaving my son in her capable hands.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about VanessaD on 20/07/2019


Response by VanessaD on 20/07/2019:

Oh wow you've given me a lump in my throat reading that Ru! Thanks so much for your kind words and feedback. It's been wonderful watching G's confidence grow over the past few weeks. See you again soon.

My 7yr old has done several art classes with Vanessa & absolutely loves her time there, Vanessa is very welcoming & friendly and we will be visiting a lot more in the future!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Communication

by about VanessaD on 19/07/2019


Response by VanessaD on 20/07/2019:

Thanks ever so much Kay! Really appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing D again soon x

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.