5 stars (1)
image/svg+xml

Childminder in Colchester

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Jun 2018 Last Updated Apr 2020 Last Login 26 May 2020 Email

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications

About Me

My name is Raquel Loridana Da Maia-Hawkey, I am originally from South Africa and have both Portuguese and Italian in me, I am 35 years old.
I completed my Ofsted childminding registration September 2018.
I immigrated to the UK in 2015, I have lived in the UK before for a couple of years, I worked as a child carer for various families. I then moved back to South Africa where I married and had my kids.
I have 3 sons and a step son who lives with us.

Jayden my step son is 16 years, Tiago 8 years and twins 5 years.
I was a stay at home mom for a few years before starting my childminding business and before becoming a mom I worked for various families as a sole charge nanny.

Children have always been a great passion of mine, I enjoy stimulating their little minds with fun and creative activities while educating them on all stages of the early year’s foundation stage framework.
Watching them grow through every developmental stage is an amazing reward and achievement.
I encourage healthy eating and healthy choices when preparing meals, I also love to bake and allow children to participate while learning at the same time. Children are taught good manners through out the day and encouraged to share and be kind to one another.

I am a patient person with a calming attitude, I make each child feel comfortable and able to be them self while praising each child as an individual expressing diversity within my setting and when around others.
My setting is a very homely setting, which creates children to feel very loved and happy.

My setting is in a quiet residential area
The house is detached.

I have a spacious playroom situated at the front of the house filled with many toys for all children of different age groups, the playroom also has role play dress up costumes, puzzles, blocks, cogs, Lego, books, toys and lots lots more.
There is a lot of space downstairs in my home as well as a good size garden for outdoor play and the woods at the back for great adventures.

Garden area is completely secured, we have a swing set, toddler slides, many push car’s, play house and outside toys.
My setting will only take place down stairs and no child will be taken/allowed upstairs.

Few things that we will do:
play dough, magnetic sand, colouring and drawing, arts and craft, learning shapes, colours and numbers using fun methods (shaving cream, sand, finding objects)
Many toys to play with
Creative play
Sports
Garden play
Trips out to the animal farms, beach (in good weather), parks and playgrounds, forest walks, library, play groups and play centres and more.

Please contact me for any further information.

Thank you

My Experience

I am a mom of four boys, I have experience with twins as I have two amazing twin boys.

Before having my own children, I worked for various families as a nanny (child carer) sole charge on full time basis.

I have around years experience within child care.

My Qualifications

I have a paediatric first aid, NCFE CACHE level 3 award in home based child care and I have also done a safeguarding course through PACEY

My Availability

I am available Monday - Friday
Times: 7:30 - 17:30
Open all year round.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 15/04/2020

My Fees

  • Childminding from £5.00 per hour

My Local Schools

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • image/svg+xml Ofsted Certificate (added 26/09/2018)
  • Exam Certificate (added 26/09/2018)
  • First Aid Certificate (added 26/09/2018)
  • DBS Check (added 26/09/2018)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Raquel. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Raquel has been assisting me with my daughter who is now 5 years old. She has been looking after her for me for just under a year.

Raquel treats my daughter as her own and my child absolutely adores her! Raquel does my school pick ups, afternoon care, weekend care when needed and babysitting. She has become like my daughters second mother.

Our family adores Raquel. She is kind, patient, caring and dedicated to what she does. Her passion for children is evident from the moment you meet her.

As one of those very protective mothers I can highly recommend Raquel and can say that you will have absolute peace of mind when your children are in her care.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Raquel on 08/10/2018

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.