Avatar for Jess
image/svg+xml

Jess

Childminder in Exeter

5 stars

Usually responds within 3 hours

Female Member since Jun 2011 Last Updated Feb 2024 Last Login Mar 2024

My Summary

Ofsted Registered
Overnight Care
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
Key Worker Childcare

About Me

Hi im Jess and I'm a OFSTED Registered Child minder from Exeter in the St Thomas area.
I live in a 3 bedroom semi detached house with my partner Frankie, daughter Elsie-May and my son Robin.
I have a side extension built onto my house which is purely for the children to enjoy it includes it’s own toilet and sink area so the children are able to independently use the toilet when they need to, this is also great for washing up ready for meal times.
In the garden there is an area that is separated so the children can have access at all times to do the fuzzy felt boards or water painting, when doing bigger outdoor activities the gated area gets opened up to a spacious garden where they can play on slides, use the ride on toys or even build big walls with our foam bricks and play cement mixer.
I also have my own allotment where the children are able to grow their own fruit, vegetables and flowers, there is also a play area with sand and water pits as well as other outside toys including a mud kitchen for the little ones to make up there own mud pies ha ha
During their time at Twinkle Toes your children will enjoy various activities such as playdough, cake baking, painting, as well as plenty of outings such as trips to the local park or local horse stables, as well as trips to the beach, zoo and of course the allotment.
Here at Twinkle Toes there is a large selection of toys such as Animals, story books, Tea set, V-tech learning table and a chalked area which the children have free access to at all times as well as cars, construction toys and plenty of dressing up clothes.

My Experience

I have been in childcare for 19 years working from ages of 8weeks - 5years.
I have worked within two different nursery settings, but decided to become a childminder as i like the freedom to be able to take the children out on various outings (a task that is not so easy within a nursery) also i feel I am able to have more one to one time with the children within my care.

My Qualifications

I hold an NVQ level two and three also a cache level one in childcare and education. I also hold a first aid certificate, risk assessment attendance course ,food hygiene, child safety certificate and a clear CRB check, I've also attended various child minding seminars.

My Availability

We are available Monday-Friday 7.00am 6.00pm
I am also available for overnight care in emergency situations.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight yes yes yes yes yes no no
Last Updated: 01/02/2024

My Fees

  • Childminding from £6.70 per hour

fees vary so if interested please feel free to contact me
all prices include nappies, meals and trips out.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Ofsted Inspections

The inspection grades below have been obtained from the Ofsted website based upon the registration number the childminder has provided to us. You should verify this information yourself prior to using the childminder.

Ofsted Good Provider Logo
Good
14 March 2023
5 October 2022 - Inadequate
14 December 2021 - Requires Improvement
10 May 2018 - Good
17 February 2016 - Good
Show previous inspections
Hide previous inspections

My Documents

  • image/svg+xml Ofsted Certificate (added 31/10/2023)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Jess. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

I never wanted to put my baby into childcare, not until he was 4... then I had a reality check about the cost of living I knew I needed to go back to work. I knew I wanted a childminder for the more personalised setting and the opportunity for George to socialise with children of different ages. Jess was recommended to me by a friend and I've never looked back. As soon as I met with Jess I knew that's where I would be comfortable with George staying whilst I worked. I didn't need to look anywhere else. Jess provides everything and more for George whilst I can't. The love, care and attention to everything about him and his world, making sure he's always entertained, has a full tummy, is happy and learning lots - I couldn't ask for more. George has been with Jess for almost 2 years (since about 9 months old) and it feels more like I'm dropping him off to a family member each morning than taking him to childcare. He is excited to be there every day, and doesn't want to leave when I pick him up at the end of each day. Jess has become a wonderful friend to me too. When the time comes, if George could stay with Jess instead of going to school, I would absolutely have him stay there.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Beth Beth about Avatar for Jess Jess on 01/02/2024

Our son Paul has been attending Twinkle Toes for more than 2 years.
When starting he only spoke French and I was concerned by the frustration of not being able to talk and understand others. But with all their kindness and patience, Jess and Julie made him feel good and more and more confident. He settled quickly and was soon very happy to go to Twinkle Toes in the morning.
His days were full of craft, painting, dancing, playing with his friends, discovering nature and so many other things! Some days, Jess and Julie would take them for a lovely day out (zoo, woods…) and often to the allotment where he was delighted to pick up some strawberries.
I can tell Jess and her team really love taking care of little ones. I cannot think of a better place for a child to go in his early years. It feels a bit like a second home.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Anne Ca Anne Ca about Avatar for Jess Jess on 19/07/2022

My little boy started with Jess and Julie in September 2020. He had hardly seen other adults due to the lockdowns, and I was so worried about leaving him with anyone. They could not have been kinder, more reassuring, and more loving. This is a home-from-home setting, where you quickly feel that you are an extension of the family. Jess and Julie sent me updates often and photos so in those early days, I always knew how he was, and what adventures they had planned.

Over the past ten months, Jess and Julie have helped my little boy become truly sociable, confident, polite. They have shown him how to interact with the other children and helped him to explore the world with outings in Jess’s minivan to all sorts of exciting locations - the zoo, the farm, the seaside! The care these ladies give is second to none. Moreover, they really focus in on different themes for learning each week. There’s a lot of reading, art, and getting good and muddy in the allotment and the outside world.

This is a rare and brilliant childcare setting, highly recommended.

Oh also - amazing food! Which matters a lot to our food-motivated child :)

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Anna J Anna J about Avatar for Jess Jess on 03/08/2021

I met Jess over two years ago now going to her care setting where I met / interviewed her to care for my daughter. Over the two years she has proven consistently that she is an exemplary childminder and has become a close friend. The love and kindness she shows to all of the children she cares for mirrors the love she gives to her own. Which is what we’d all want isn’t it? To be cared for as if we were family?! Continuing with the ‘family’ theme her home as is her personality friendly and welcoming with children and parents feeling equally at ease ... you really do just feel like an extension to her wonderful family. She currently wortks with an equally as wonderful woman called Julie and together I honestly could say I believe they quite possibly are the best minders in Exeter. You can expect from your twinkle toes experience: lots of craft (and beautiful keepsakes like hand and foot prints), baking, sensory play, educational play such as colours, numbers, words and shapes. Trips out to the woods, and various locations such as Paignton zoo, escot, pennywell farm, woodlands and more. Sports activities are also encouraged and the children regularly go swimming, or to the local parks for games. Jess also has a back garden which the children play in and in the summer a large paddling pool full of fun inflatables. Her toy room has recently been renovated with bright colours, fun things on the walls foam tile flooring and an abundance of toys and dress up. If you are looking for long term full time childcare I would highly recommend Jess, I really don’t think you can go wrong / fault her. Everything she does is done to the best of her capabilities and always full of love and it shows.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Rebecca Rebecca about Avatar for Jess Jess on 04/02/2018

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.