Avatar for Yvonne B
image/svg+xml

Yvonne B

Nanny in Muthill (also available for babysitting)

Female Member since Feb 2019 Last Updated May 2024 Last Login 22 May 2024

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Live Out Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Own Car
Key Worker Childcare
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

Apologies - I am no longer looking for childcare work.

My Ethos
I seek opportunities to work in environments that support young children’s development and wellbeing, where my skills and experience can be utilised in helping each individual progress and reach their full potential.

I have excellent communication skills and experience of working with diverse communities from a variety of backgrounds. I am very musical and enjoy enhancing learning through the hands-on fun of experiencing movement (and calm) in music.

I love the outdoors and being active and, with this, aim to encourage an appreciation of nature and beauty, and seek developmental opportunities outdoors wherever the day leads. Personally, I feel most alive when outside and aim to share this love with youngsters in my care.

I value professionalism, honesty and open communication, which enables me to build good relationships with colleagues and parents alike.

I have over a decade’s experience in looking after children and young people with all needs in the UK and abroad. Both in professional establishments as well as family homes, learners have been in my care, and I aim to ensure each child can thrive not only within their comfort zone but also have opportunities to explore and learn about the wider world.

I feel it would be a privilege to care for our society’s precious youngsters where I can promote the joy of learning in everyday life. At the core is the fact that I care deeply about young people receiving the best opportunities from the outset. Wherever I am in life, my primary focus is to care and nurture – physically, mentally and emotionally.

~ Yvonne

My Experience

Since 2008, I have had a vast range of experiences in looking after young children (and both children and adults with Special Needs), and also life experiences which I believe have shaped who I am today.

My first career-related job took me to a Montessori nursery in Killearn, Scotland. I learned the Montessori ethos and have applied its hands-on methods of learning to much of my care and education for youngsters since.

I lived in India working in a boarding school for ages 3-18 years. Without any textbooks or electricity let alone internet access, I taught using music and creative learning by encouraging the children to think outside the box instead of their 'parrot-fashion' methods. I encouraged them to succeed with kindness rather than beating them (as we were instructed to do!), and together we took on learning with a broader picture, and with more positive outcomes.

I have been a self-employed nanny for several families over the course of six years. These children ranged in ages from 10 months to 10 years and were families with up to five children in my sole care. We learned with hands-on activities, baking, cooking, outside exploring, with music and in general, by creating as fun and loving an environment as possible. Learning is never boring!

I worked and aim to work alongside parents in a team to maximise continuity especially with discipline and to ensure the child/ren receive(s) the best possible care.

I was a live-in nanny for a family with four children in Tampere, Finland. The eldest has Sotos Syndrome with developmental delay and varying disabilities, and the youngest was only 9 months at the beginning. I was the sole carer of the baby and with the older children, encouraged and led a very outdoor lifestyle and care.

Aside from direct childcare-related roles, I have also been a Youth, Children and family Outreach Worker for the Church of Scotland providing for children and youngsters in the village of Killearn. I ran clubs for teens, Messy Play toddler groups, assisted in other local toddler groups by providing singing and story times, organised weekly Sunday school groups for ages 3-12 years and supported the local primary school with events, their clubs and classroom activities. Given my background in education, it was both a huge help to the school and thoroughly enjoyable for me and the kids!

I also ran my own private music tutoring business teaching children and adults the guitar, mandolin and ukulele, and I taught through a group called Get Reel in rural Stirlingshire. We taught groups of youngsters aged 7-15 years, and adult classes too.

Thanks to those contacts, I supported a lady who ran a children's music and singing group called Monday Music. With three different sessions catering for ages 0-3, 3-4 and 5 years, we had a wonderful time introducing not just music and movement to the little ones, but watching their reactions when exploring textures and sounds when THEY played the instruments themselves. I would take in a different instrument each week and sometimes accompanied musical parents who shared their talents too.

I play eleven musical instruments including piano, guitar, fiddle, mandolin, ukulele, Irish whistles, djembe drum, cajon drum, banjo and in the first lockdown, added the accordion to the mix! (Lucky neighbours!). I also sing and record my own compositions and covers. Look me up on Youtube (YvonneBauwensMusic) for some child-inspired music I've composed. I have many smaller versions of instruments I play ideal for little hands to try.

Please ask for more information as there is too much to write here. I am more than happy to share with you my CV, further experience and references from the families in my care.

All the roles I have had have formed the unique childcare experience I have to offer, and especially my interest in being outdoors. I know how much better I feel after a swim in the river or a good cycle, and so I hope to share that love of nature with those for whom I care.

My Qualifications

Please see my higher education qualifications first, with school qualifications and Continuous Professional Development (CPD) after:

September 2023
Occupational Therapy
Diploma in Higher Education
Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh

May 2010
Management, & Supporting Learning Needs
Higher National Diploma
Langside College, Glasgow

May 2009
Early Education & Childcare
Higher National Certificate (A)
Anniesland College, Glasgow

May 2008
Early Education & Childcare SCQF Level 6
National Certificate
Anniesland College, Glasgow

High School:
Advanced Higher Unit (2007)
Sound Engineering & Production

Highers (2006/7)
Art and Design (B)
English (C)
French (B)
Music (A)

CPD:
- Since June 2020: Forest School training through Sarah Blackwell online courses. For personal interest and to enhance care of young children.

- Disclosure cleared with PVG in Scotland from 2006 – 2017, with an updated PVG in progress. However, I do have a current DBS registered in England since 2018 and I've been on the DBS update service as of August 2020.

Updated courses in 2018:
º Paediatric First Aid (and unit for adults), including how to use a defibrillator
º Safeguarding and Child Protection
º Health and Safety in the Workplace
º Fire Safety in the Workplace

Other:
- Holder of 'Qualifi Safer Food Handler Food Hygiene' Certificate Level 2, 2016
- Hold clean UK driver’s licence since 2008
- IT literate using Microsoft Office, most social media platforms
- Speak basic Finnish, Estonian and French, and know Makaton Sign Language
- Training course undertaken in Film, Photography, and Sound and Video Productions, 2015
- Public speaking course, 2007

Awards:
2008
M.E Kern Award for Outstanding Youth Work
Seventh-Day Adventist Church

2006 & 2007
Nan Mulgrew Music Award
Balfron High School

2006
Music Subject Award
Balfron High School

My Availability

I am looking for evening work, but can be more flexible during the uni holidays. Please see my detailed availability below.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 22/05/2024

My Fees

  • Nannying from £14.00 per hour (gross)
  • Babysitting from £14.00 per hour

Having over a decade's experience in looking after children both in education establishments and privately in a child's home, here in the UK and abroad, I have much to offer as a nanny. My care goes above and beyond and especially with added fun from my hobbies of music and arts to complement the learning, and I take huge pride in the opportunity to enhance a child's wellbeing in all that I do.

As I manage my own taxation, I ask for £14 per hour for my care.

My Documents

  • DBS Check (added 25/08/2020)
  • Exam Certificate: HND Managing and Supporting Learning Needs (added 12/08/2020)
  • Exam Certificate: HNC Early Education and Childcare (added 12/08/2020)
  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 12/08/2020)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.