
Nanny in Winchester

Babysitter in Winchester

Female Non-smoker Member since Apr 2019 Last Updated Oct 2020 Last Login 10 Jan 2021 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Full Driving Licence
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Nanny Housekeeper
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Nanny Share

About Me

Prior to thinking about becoming a nanny, I was a primary school school teacher for 5 thoroughly enjoyable, yet intense years. I am now 26 years old and have just recently relocated back to Hampshire for a part-time nanny role.

I grew up in the area of Eastleigh yet moved to Reading when studying for my teaching degree, later venturing to Cambridgeshire to continue my teaching career. From the age of 16 I have been working within childcare settings due to studying Health and Social Care at A-Level and between the ages of 21-23, I was a full-time class teacher before becoming a supply teacher to find something closer to where I was living at the time. My most recent teaching role was found throughout my experience as a supply teacher, where I took on maternity cover which then continued into a class-share position for three days a week. Additionally I was working with a supply agency the remaining two days of the week, teaching a range of age ranges in a variety of childcare settings (one of these schools turning into a long term position until the end of summer 2019). The following year, I took on a year contract as Year 2 class teacher (age-range: 6-7) with the school where I was previously class-sharing at). During COVID-19 lock down, I ended up teaching an EYFS (age-range: 4-5) bubble group until the end of summer 2020, whilst maintaining good communication with my Year 2 class.

Although I have thoroughly enjoyed gaining the experience being a full-time class teacher, part of a class-share team, as well as working in a plethora of childcare provisions within Cambridgeshire, I had initially begun my supply journey to venture into different areas of childcare (with an Early Years focus) and in the knowledge that I would be relocating back to Hampshire in the near future. Having been working with EYFS from June 2020 until the end of the school term, my fondness of working within the Early Years sector was confirmed and it made me really excited about exploring this area further in a 'nanny' position.

For me, there is no greater reward than witnessing a child actively engage in, enjoy and apply things they have learnt in both play within a stimulating environment, as well as a more structured setting. Similarly, since leaving school I wanted to be an individual who could provide such worthy moments, and both observe and capture the noticeable progress in intellectual, emotional, social, and physical development that can be gained. Despite my fondness of building relationships with children as a teacher to ensure that they feel safe and secure, as well as aiding them to develop a love of learning, the demands and pressure placed on education are constantly rising. Unfortunately, I no longer feel that I am part of a creative, purposeful, and inspiring curriculum or able to fully support children’s needs due to lack of funding and resources required to allow them to reach their full potential. As a result, I wish to begin my journey into a different career path where my skills and knowledge from working in nurseries and schools can support a family more directly.

Outside of work, I enjoy reading, arts and crafts, listening to podcasts, cooking, spending as much time as I can outdoors, visiting new places (usually of historic value) and being with family and friends.

My Experience

Two of my longest teaching experiences have been in Year 1 and Year 3, where I have recognised the importance of making the transitions into either year group as smooth as possible. I have had to plan out how best to aid children settling into new routines, recognising how they have learnt most effectively previously, and gradually adapting approaches to meet the requirements of their next phase of learning.

Most recently I have enjoyed teaching and leading activities/taking care of specific groups of children in both nurseries (babies of 1 year and beyond) and EYFS. Before getting into teaching,
I spent a lot of time volunteering at Mother and Toddler groups which, at the time, my younger sibling attended. I have two much younger sisters than myself (3 and 11) which I have had the privilege to help take care of since being a teenager.

I have worked in a plethora of schools including Church of England schools, as well as those that work closely with RAF families, where I have taken on differing roles and responsibilities. I have taught a range of students including those with individual educational and/or behaviour plans.

Every child is completely different and I recognise the importance of meeting the needs of each child at the beginning of a new year and throughout, providing specific support to address their needs and suitable opportunities for children to gradually move from being an apprentice, to an expert in their learning. I seek to construct an atmosphere in which pupils are valued as individuals and feel secure, to enable them to build their independence of thought, self-esteem and determination. Safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children are paramount to my teaching role.

One of my favourite pastimes is reading and I recognise how valuable it can be in enhancing children’s learning experiences. I think it is amazing how when reading a book, an individual can be completely immersed in another world, allowing them to broaden their imagination.

I also have a passion for Drama, which allows me to approach the classroom in an energetic manner, with the hope that it inspires children's curiosity. I believe that Drama can provide a means for children to think creatively and to build their skills of communication during the provision of copious opportunities for speaking and listening.

I understand the importance of upholding trust and communication with parents with the hope of each child receiving the care and support that they need at home and in childcare provision.
Outdoor learning was the focus of my dissertation where I found that the use of the outdoors provided opportunities for children to become inquisitive, exploring and experiencing the behaviours of the world around them. Consequently, whether it is going outside or bringing the outdoors inside, I like to provide authentic opportunities for children to observe phenomena, aiming to trigger curiosity, and provide students with opportunities for deeper thinking and understanding.

I have lead both PSHE and RE within a full-time teaching position. My fondness of PSHE stemmed from my belief that children being able to understand their emotions and the world around them play a huge part in them feeling safe, secure and ready to learn. I employed a huge focus on ‘growth mind-set’ during my time in this role. In regards to leading RE, I enjoyed planning and monitoring reflective opportunities for children to discuss their own beliefs and listen to those of others. I feel that these moments are great steps in aiding children to become understanding, welcoming and mindful individuals. I thoroughly adored both of these roles and am still equally passionate about them now.

I understand that working with children can be extremely challenging and demanding, yet equally uplifting and fulfilling. Being highly organised and motivated have allowed me to consistently manage a varied workload, whilst maintaining a safe, creative, and positive environment.

My Qualifications

2012-2015 BA in Primary Education with English (First Class)
2010-2012 A Levels in English Language (A), Psychology (A) and Health and Social Care (B)
AS Levels in Sociology (A) and Citizenship (A)
2005-2010 GCSEs in 10 subjects (A-B grades)

My Availability

I would like to be working as much as possible during the half terms and school holidays as I enjoy being busy. I am happy to work the occasional weekend too.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes no no no yes no no
Morning yes no no no yes no no
Afternoon yes no no no yes no no
After School yes no no no yes no no
Evening yes no no no yes no no
Overnight no no no no no yes yes
Last Updated: 26/10/2020

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £10.50 per hour
  • Nannying from £10.50 per hour (gross)

I'm very open to negotiating fees when discussing the role and responsibilities wished to be undertaken. :)

My Documents

Reviews

No reviews have been submitted for this Nanny.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.