5 stars (2)

Private Tutor in Jacksdale

Usually responds within 15 minutes

Female Non-smoker Member since Jan 2020 Last Updated Oct 2020 Last Login 21 Oct 2020 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
English Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
Special Needs Tutor

About Me

Hello my name is Denise. I have worked with preschoolers and primary aged children for over 25 years. I have taught across all the primary ages up to 11 (Y6) , in the roles of special needs teaching assistant and as a primary school teacher.

My hobbies include travelling, gardening and growing vegetables, walking my Cairn Terrier and various crafts.

I have a fantastic garden room teaching space available, as a distraction free, neutral area where you can drop your child off for sessions. This overlooks lush gardens and countryside which are beneficial for wellbeing and concentration.

*During Covid-19, regular sanitising will be in force, masks will be worn. All equipment and surfaces will wiped down with sanitiser between students*

My Experience

I have over 25 years experience working with children. I was a special needs teaching assistant in a SEND setting, before my teacher training. I have been a qualified teacher for 15 years, working across all primary ages, with additional qualifications in special educational needs.

I recently stopped working as a full time school teacher in an inner city primary school. This was so that I could pursue other interests alongside a more independent teaching role, that enables me to focus more on individual needs of children.

For the last 7 years I was a ks1 leader, reading coordinator, phonics lead, thrive practitioner and year 2 class teacher. I have taught the whole curriculum, including phonics to year 1 and 2 mixed groups. I have also good experience teaching year 3 and 4.

I am now in a position to help you plug those learning gaps with your children. I especially have successful experience with children for whom learning has been a struggle. I have experience of working with many children who have diverse needs including high functioning ASD, ADHD, Dyslexia. I can also support KS1 children to achieve better in phonics screening checks and KS1 SATs, and assist KS2 children better achieve age related outcomes in Reading and English, through end of KS2 SATs prep.

Please don't hesitate to message me if you think I can help SUPPORT your child and , address GAPS in learning.

My Qualifications

Adv Diploma in Inclusive Education - Open University

BA hons (open) in English Literature and Developmental Psychology

My Availability

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes yes no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes yes no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 29/09/2020

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £25.00 per hour

£25 per hour or £120 for blocked booking of 6 sessions, when paid in advance, for on site tuition.

£30 Per session or £150 for 6 blocked booking of 6 sessions, when paid in advance, for OFF site

(due to the extra time it takes with travelling and also petrol costs.)

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • Training Certificate: Qualified Teacher Status award (added 28/07/2020)
  • DBS Check (added 29/06/2020)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Denise. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

My son has had 6 lessons with Denise. He is always happy to go as he says she makes the learning fun. My son enjoys visiting the cabin and I feel that it is getting him ready for the transition of returning to school in Year 5. He struggles quite a lot academically but Denise is calm, patient and kind to him which helps him to learn . She is extremely flexible and accommodating and communication is always friendly.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Communication

by Vicky about Denise on 08/08/2020

My 6 year old son has just had is first 8 lessons with Denise, Already he's got a great relationship with her.Denise is really good at getting the best out of him.At home I can see a difference in the areas she's been working on with him.He even said that he loves writing now!!My son really looks forward to his sessions with Denise in her cabin.I feel like he's going to be much better prepared to go back to school in September and will cope much better going into year 2 with Denise's support.

Thank you Denise :0)

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by MrsFitzy about Denise on 30/07/2020


Response by Denise on 30/07/2020:

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide me with such a wonderful review. I'm delighted it's working so well for you both and that progress is already evident. Thank you

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.