Avatar for Rosie


Private Tutor in Kingston Bagpuize (also available for babysitting)

5 stars

Female Member since Apr 2022 Last Updated Jun 2023 Last Login 13 Jun 2024

My Summary

Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Newborn Experience
DBS Check
English Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

I am 31 years old, based in South Oxfordshire and currently a stay at home mother to my two sons, aged 6 and 2. I am looking to tutor in my spare time, not only to earn some extra money for my husband and I, but also as I have a passion for teaching and it is a career I always considered myself following. I have a degree in English Literature and Creative writing from Kingston University London, graduating in 2013 with a 2:1 BAHons. I have always had a passion for English, particularly poetry, writing regularly in my free time. I have wanted to become a teacher from a very young age however, due to financial needs, was unable to undertake a PGCE course immediately after finishing my undergraduate degree. I am also open to babysitting and childminding work, particularly evenings and weekends so it can fit around my home life too.
Prior to having my first son in 2017 I was working for the Civil Nuclear Constabulary. As I worked for the Police I have been fully background checked and passed the Enhanced DBS checks which were conducted between January and April 2016.
This year (2022) I qualified in breastfeeding support and as a postnatal well-being practitioner, offering breastfeeding workshops and fourth trimester preparation courses during evenings and weekends. I'm am currently also part way through a course in antenatal education and hypnobirthing and will soon be qualified to teach hypnobirthing classes.

My Experience

I currently tutor 6 primary school age children a week, ranging from year 1 to year 6, including supporting learning with dyslexia. I support them with their English, phonics and SPaG, including helping the year 6 student prepare for her SATs recently.
I babysit on an ad-hoc basis.
Last year I would also mind a 3 year old at my home (she was 2 when she first started coming to me) every weekday morning and take her to preschool whilst taking my own son to school, and caring for my youngest. A couple of years back I met weekly with a 6 year old girl who was struggling with her spelling and reading to offer one to one tutoring. We did this for a number of months and noticed a marked improvement in her abilities and her confidence. I have completed two weeks work experience in a primary school in North Wales where I helped with the reception and year one classes. I was tasked with helping the children with all their work, from spelling and maths, to reading and writing. I would be willing, as a tutor, to help primary school age children with all subjects; from 11+ I would be more suited to English Literature or English Language however I am willing to discuss the child's needs and am happy to help with pre-GCSE maths, science or history also. I regularly checked Undergraduate and postgraduate level essays for grammatical, punctuation and spelling errors for my two sisters in law, one of whom completed a masters in War Studies and the other an undergrad Primary Teaching. When in my late teens I would volunteer to read with a young boy every week to help him improve.

My Qualifications

I have a 2:1 BA hons in English literature and creative writing from Kingston university. I have 3 A levels, RE (A) English (B) and Law (C) and 12 GCSEs grade A* - C, including an A* in English Language, A in English Literature and B in Maths.
I passed my MHFA (Mental Health First Aider) training with Mental Health First Aid England & St Johns Ambulance in January 2020.
I passed my first aid in the workplace training in august 2019 with the British Red Cross.
I passed a Child & Baby First Aid course in 2017 with British Red Cross

My Availability

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning no no no no no yes yes
Afternoon no no no no no yes yes
After School yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Evening yes yes yes yes yes no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 30/06/2023

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £12.00 per hour
  • Tutoring from £17.00 per hour

For tutoring primary school age children my fees are £17 per hour.
For secondary up to and including year 9 (English only) my fees are £25
For secondary GCSE (English only) my fees are £40ph
For secondary A Level (English only) my fees are £45ph

My Local Schools

My Documents

  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 28/06/2023)


Below are the latest reviews for Rosie. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Rosie came to the rescue for us at short notice and was amazing. The baby had a great day with her and it was clear that he had been comfortable and well cared for. All of which meant I was able to focus on what I needed to which is great. Thank you!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Communication

by Avatar for Jenni Jenni about Avatar for Rosie Rosie on 12/07/2023

Response by Avatar for Rosie Rosie on 12/07/2023:

Thank you so much for this lovely review Jenni. It was so nice to meet you and your gorgeous little one. I am glad to have been able to help out. X

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.