Avatar for Kate


Childminder in Salisbury

Usually responds within 12 hours

Member since Jan 2023 Last Updated Jan 2024 Last Login 12 Apr 2024

My Summary

First Aid Training
DBS Check
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
Childcare Qualifications
Childminding Agency Registered
Tax-Free Childcare
Key Worker Childcare
I'm Covid-19 Vaccinated

About Me

Hello! My name is Kate, I’m 30 and live with my partner and son in Larkhill. I am a registered childminder (home educator) with an Ofsted-registered agency. I am trained in early years but am also a qualified primary teacher - I used to teach in Key Stage 1, prior to having my son. Other training certifications I hold include paediatric first aid, children and adults mental health first aid, food hygiene and forest educator. Both my partner and I are also DBS checked.

Our setting is on the edge of Larkhill estate and backs directly onto a large grass playing field and little wooded area - perfect for exploring! We are a short walk from Stone Henge, a playground and plenty of other green spaces, as well as a softplay and gymnastics centre. We have an enclosed, private garden with various outdoor play and learning resources, which children have access to throughout the day.

Inside, we have lots of different toys (which we routinely clean and rotate), a cosy reading corner and a safe sleep space.

Our daily routine includes a mixture of indoor and outdoor play. I am passionate about outdoor and play-based learning so every morning we head outside or to a local children’s class. Our nearby green spaces which provide ample opportunities for all sorts of activities, from treasure hunts in the woods, to searching for mini-beasts, to just running around in the fresh air! We return for a nutritious lunch and story time.

I will be caring for a 2-3 children (under 5) at a time; so your little one will have plenty of my focused attention to support them in their development and gradually encourage their independence, but also crucial opportunities to socialise and interact with other young children.

I am likely to have a space from Sep 2024. Please just drop me a message or a call if you would like to have a look around or discuss how I can help meet your needs.

My Experience

I worked as a primary school teacher for several years, mostly in KS1. I have knowledge of delivering both the Early Years Foundation Stage and Primary National Curriculum. I will support your child’s learning and development across the whole EYFS using fun, practical, play-based strategies to help them be in the best place for when they start school.

Some activities we love include getting creative with art and junk modelling, reading, building blocks and dens, playdough, cooking, singing and nursery rhyme time, basic science experiments, planting seeds and getting lots of fresh air! We also like to theme activities around well-loved stories and annual celebrations.

In terms of your child’s wider development, I will liaise closely with you to support them to become increasingly independent in all areas such as potty training, using a (child’s) knife and fork, pouring their own drinks, and practising good hygiene (eg hand washing).

My other experience includes:
- Regular babysitting for over 10 years;
- Working as a Teaching Assistant for several months before training to become a teacher;
- Working as a Children’s Holiday Camp and Parties Assistant for 4 years; and
- I also have my own son and amazing 2 step-sons, who we see regularly.

My Qualifications

Childminder with Ofsted-registered agency;
Children’s First Aid;
Adult and Youth Mental Health First Aider;
DBS checked;
Forest Educator trained; and
Qualified, experienced Primary School teacher (SCITT & PGCE, with dissertation on the benefits of outdoor learning to children).

My Availability

Monday - Thursday

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes yes yes no no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes no no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 15/01/2024

My Fees

  • Childminding from £7.00 per hour

Everything included (all meals, daily resources for activities such a baking etc)

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

  • DBS Check (added 28/02/2023)
  • Training Certificate: Safeguarding Course 2 certificate (added 28/02/2023)
  • Training Certificate: EYFS 2 - Welfare Requirements Course certificate (added 28/02/2023)
  • Training Certificate: EYFS1 - Learning & Development Cours certificate (added 28/02/2023)
  • Training Certificate: Safeguarding Children certificate (added 28/02/2023)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request


No reviews have been submitted for this Childminder.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.