Avatar for Ali


Private Tutor in Westcliff-on-Sea

Usually responds within 1 hour

Female Member since Jan 2023 Last Updated Jan 2023 Last Login 28 Apr 2024

My Summary

Maths Tutor
English Tutor
Primary up to 11 years
11 Plus

About Me

I am a married, step mum to one 20 year old daughter and have 1 dog and 1 cat (I’m a huge animal lover) and a fully qualified primary school teacher with many years of experience teaching in schools. During Covid some of the parents asked if I could provide private tutoring for their children via zoom which is how my tutoring business took off. I continue to work in school but now also offer private tutoring for all primary school subjects (mainly Maths, English and Phonics due to demand) but also tutor secondary school children in Maths as I studied this at University. Prior to teaching I worked in the financial industry in the City of London for 18 years however swapped this to retrain as a teacher after helping my step daughter with her homework and identifying many misconceptions around her learning. I love to see children reach the what I call the eureka moment when they finally understand a concept. Many children simply do maths but don’t fully understand the methodology and this is essential. If you require a private tutor in the Southend, Leigh on Sea or Benfleet area please get in touch. I have longstanding clients in all these areas who would be more than happy to provide references.

I’m my spare time I love walking my dog (we do lots of walking challenges together having completed Lands End to John O’Groats virtual challenge recently and currently doing the North Coast 500 challenge), exercising, reading, visiting new countries and socialising with family and friends.

My Experience

After working in the financial industry in the City of London for 18 years I decided to retrain to become a primary school teacher 8 years ago. During Covid a number of parents approached me asking if I would be available to offer private tuition for their children via zoom which is how my private tutoring begun. Following their children’s return to school post Covid, all parents asked if I would continue to tutor their children as they could see the exceptional progress they were making. I now tutor 12 children in the Benfleet, Leigh on Sea area, predominantly in Maths, English and Phonics. I also tutor some children in KS3 Maths as I studied Maths at university.

My Qualifications

Fully qualified primary teacher.
Honours Degree in Business Studies (Economics and Management Science) from Strathclyde University.
Member of the Chartered Institute of Bankers

My Availability

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon no no no no no no no
After School yes no no yes no no no
Evening no no no yes no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 18/01/2023

My Fees

  • Tutoring from £30.00 per hour

£30 per hour

My Documents

  • image/svg+xml UK Driving Licence (added 04/05/2023)


No reviews have been submitted for this Private Tutor.

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.