Honey Bees 73

Childminder in Tadworth

Babysitter in Tadworth

5 stars
(3)

Usually responds within 12 hours

Female Non-smoker Member since Mar 2012 Last Updated Dec 2020 Last Login 12 Oct 2021 Email

My Summary

DBS Check
Ofsted Registered
Key Worker Childcare

About Me

Ofsted Outstanding Provider Logo

My name is Rachel Humble, aged 47. I am an enthusiastic Ofsted registered childminder and an experienced teacher based in Tadworth, Surrey. I have been awarded as outstanding by Ofsted during my last two inspections, the most recent one being in January 2020. I have two lovely daughters aged 11 and 12, a friendly dog named Lucie (14 year old collie/spaniel cross) and two gerbills. I live with my partner, James, in a three bedroom detached house overlooking Epsom Downs. The house has a well resourced play room, a downstairs shower room and a secure rear garden. The garden contains a children's area with a mud kitchen, a water wall, sand and water areas, a children's vegetable patch, a digging area, a play house, and a trampoline.

I follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and provide a wide range of activities and experiences to ensure that all of the children enjoy their time at Honey Bees whilst developing in all seven areas of the EYFS (Physical Development, Personal, Social and Emotional, Communication and Language, Literacy, Maths, Understanding of the World and Expressive Arts).

A typical day at Honey Bees involves a free play session, a morning outing to play groups, the park, soft play, the library etc. followed by a rest in the afternoon. After the school run we visit local parks or play in the garden plus a structured activity such as cooking or an arts or crafts activity. During the school holidays we go further afield and visit museums, National Trust properties, Wisley gardens, parks and we have had a trip to Littlehampton beach. As I strongly believe that playing outside is very important for young children, I trained to become a certified Forest Childcare practitioner. This means that I try to ensure that the children have outings to natural play space where they are free to explore and look at natural objects. We often explore places such as Box Hill, Nonsuch Park, Oaks Park, Polesdon Lacey, and Banstead Woods. We go throughout the year which enables the children to learn about the seasons and the changes in nature.

At the setting I have a wide range of age-appropriate toys and resources that the children can self select from the playroom. These include role play, block play, sensory experiences, arts and crafts resources, small world play, books, ICT toys, soft toys, babies, train and car sets, kitchen, shop, puppet theatre, natural resources etc. I also have a wide range of outside toys and resources including resources for gross motor skills and gardening.

I provide all meals and snacks within my fees. I provide healthy meals and snacks in line with the EYFS requirements.

I provide a school pick up and drop off service from Shawley Primary School. I also pick up and drop off from local pre schools.

If you would like to arrange a visit to view my setting and to have a chat about you requirements, please phone or email me to arrange a visit. I look forward to hearing from you shortly.

My Experience

I am an experienced teacher at both primary and secondary level. My last teaching job was Head of Special Needs supporting children from ages 4 through to 13 years old. I left teaching to raise a family and have two lovely daughters aged eleven and twelve. They attend Shawley Primary school and The Beacon. Alongside being a full time mother, I have also been a private tutor, teaching primary aged children in literacy and numeracy and for the 11 plus exam. I have been a childminder for ten years.

My Qualifications

BA Hons (English and Art)
Ba Hons (Law)
Post Graduate Certificate in Education
Masters Degree in Education
Safeguarding Certificate
CRB Checked (both my partner and I)
Childminding Introduction course (Surrey)
Paediatric First Aid (Tiger Lilly)

I have undertaken a wide range of professional development courses to ensure that I am fully up to date.

My Availability

7.30am to 6pm Monday to Friday full time or part time. Flexible days. I offer all year childcare or term time only.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Morning yes yes yes yes yes no no
Afternoon yes yes yes yes yes no no
After School yes yes yes yes yes no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 01/12/2020

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £7.00 per hour
  • Childminding from £7.00 per hour

I charge £7 per hour. This includes all meals, snacks, drinks and outings. I only ask parents to provide nappies, wipes and formula.

I do charge my standard rate of £7 per hour whilst a child is at pre school as I am unable to fill the place.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

  • Inspection Report: Ofsted report 2015 (added 30/11/2020)
  • Inspection Report: Ofsted report 2020 (added 30/11/2020)
Request Document Access We will notify the provider and you will receive an email if they accept your request

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Honey Bees 73. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

My daughter was 6 months old when I returned to work. I looked at a number of local nurseries but felt that none of them were the right fit for her or us as parents. I decided to search on a childcare website and found three childminders who I visited.
As soon as I walked into Rachel's home I knew that she was the person I was looking for. I really liked the 'home from home' setting and the fact that Rachel had two young daughters of her own. My daughter immediately sought out Rachel's dogs and was fascinated by them.
I felt Rachel was just what we all needed; a calm, safe and experienced professional. The fact that she also had a background in teaching appealed to me greatly as I wanted my daughter to be stimulated and engaged in age appropriate activities. Rachel delivered all of this and more. My daughter had time with older children before and after school, which I felt, really benefitted her. During the holidays Rachel and her husband took our daughter to Seaworld, with their children and during term time Rachel would go to local playgroups. Our daughter really settled into being with Rachel and her girls. She developed social and language skills very quickly and thoroughly enjoyed herself! 
As a parent it was lovely to receive regular text updates from Rachel along with pictures of our daughter enjoying herself. It made leaving her and going back to work much less stressful. My husband and I are very grateful for the care Rachel gave our daughter in the time she was in her care; as first time parents we were worried about leaving our child. We needn't have been! Had we not moved out of Surrey for work reasons our daughter would still be with Rachel now. 

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for Wright35 Wright35 about Avatar for Honey Bees 73 Honey Bees 73 on 08/07/2015

Rachel was first recommended to me by a mother who's child she had looked after for some. From day one Rachel was excellent with my daughter who started with her when she was around 16 months old. Rachel takes the children to lots of toddler groups and a variety of different outside places so that she can grow, develop and meet other children and have a variety of life experiences. At her home most of her ground floor and the garden is adapted for childminding, with a variety of toys and choices of activities. The children that Rachel cares for are happy and confident and my daughter has come on extremely well since starting with her, she has picked up new skills and interacts really well with the other children. I would recommend Rachel as a great childminder to anyone looking for excellent childcare.

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for Sharon Sharon about Avatar for Honey Bees 73 Honey Bees 73 on 29/06/2015

My daughter has been with Honeybees for over 3 years. I choose Rachel because of her experience as a teacher and her relaxed home environment. Rachel offers a welcoming family home which is very important when a child is young and an advantage that nurseries cannot offer. Her background as a teacher means she offers stimulating and educational activities which my daughter thrived on. I particularly like that Rachel organises outdoor excursions such as visits to National Trust locations as well as playgroups. My daughter overcame her fear of dogs with the help of Lucy and Amber (Rachel’s two dogs). They are so gentle and now she absolutely adores them.
Deciding who will take care of your child when you return to work is difficult decision for any Mum however with Rachel you know your child will continue to thrive in a caring and stimulating environment

  • 5 stars Overall

by Avatar for 1chrysal 1chrysal about Avatar for Honey Bees 73 Honey Bees 73 on 24/06/2015

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.