5 stars (3)

Nanny in Ferryhill

Babysitter in Ferryhill

Male Non-smoker Member since Nov 2009 Last Updated Apr 2018 Last Login Jun 2019 Email

My Summary

Part Time Nanny
Full Time Nanny
Live In Nanny
Night Nanny
Ofsted Registered
DBS Check
After School Nanny
Special Needs Experience
First Aid Training
Childcare Qualifications
Evening Babysitter
Weekend Babysitter
Daytime Babysitter
Tax-Free Childcare

About Me

Hi, my name is Grant and I am 32 years old. My full time job is that of an Assistant Houseparent in a large boarding school in Yorkshire.

I am a Ofsted Registered and have public liability insurance for home childcare.

I have a full ENHANCED DBS and other qualifications which you can view below.

In my spare time I enjoy activities such as orienteering, first-aid, swimming, camping, cooking, cycling, climbing, computers and the internet, sport, and arts and crafts so if you want your children to learn any of these skills let me know as I would be more than willing to teach them.

I pride myself on being child and family focused in all my work, with the aim of providing truly family centred care. It is because of this that I like to meet the parents and the children before the first sit/event. This gives you a chance to ask me any questions and for the children and I to meet beforehand. In my experience this lessens any anxieties the children may have about having a new carer/sitter for the first time. This also gives me a chance to ask you questions about your child's individual needs and any other information I may need to make the sit/event run as smoothly as possible. If your child does have any additional or special needs you can let me know at this time and I can go through an additional needs profile with you so that all of your child's needs are met I am more than happy to meet with you for a no obligation interview before this as well should you wish.

My Experience

I have been working in childcare since the age of 14 when I would provide childcare for friends and family. From the age of 16 I have worked in a range of settings with children that include;
Nurseries, Playgroups, Church Holiday Clubs, Primary schools, Special Schools, Managing and Running Summer Camps for 50+ Children, Private Tuition, In Home Behavior Support, Respite Care, Children's Entertainment, Helping to Lead St John Ambulance's Youth Programme, Youth Clubs, Teaching Dance to Children and Young People With Various Special Needs, Running a youth programme for a local charity, trustee of a youth project.

My Qualifications

BSc Health and Social Studies

Currently studying MA in Education 30 credits complete.

Level 2 NVQ in Early years and Level 3 Diploma in Early Years Childcare and Education

Paediatric First-Aid

Full Enhanced CRB

As well as this I have also undertaken training in;

Autism and Behaviour Management, Behaviour management in Dance, Behaviour Management in School, Child Protection, Children and Anger, Manual Handling, Introduction to Psychodrama and Psychotherapy, Mentoring, Mental Health First-Aid and PEG feeding.

My Availability

Sundays and Mondays

I am also willing to do sleep-ins.

I am available throughout both the summer and winter holidays

I sometimes have whole days free.

When not providing childcare I work in a boarding school. This means that term time, my work fits around my shift pattern.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School yes no no no no no yes
Morning yes no no no no no yes
Afternoon no no no no no no yes
After School no no no no no yes yes
Evening no no no no no yes yes
Overnight no no no no no yes yes
Last Updated: 03/04/2018

My Fees

  • Babysitting from £9.00 per hour
  • Nannying from £9.00 per hour (gross)

My standard rates are £9.00 per hour for childcare and £10 per hour for tuition although I am willing to negotiate and offer a discount on the first sit. I will also look into special deals for families who can prove they on a low income. If you choose to take advantage of my registration by using vouchers or childcare tax credits this may cost you significantly less (up to 80% subsidy from the government).

Please contact me for a free quote.

My Documents

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for grants childcare. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

Grant comes to my home every Monday evening to look after my two son's who are aged 12 and 8. My eldest son has separation anxiety disorder, ADHD and a complex condition which causes added challenging behaviour. Grant knows how to deal with these challenges as they arise which makes me feel a little less anxious when I go out. We are really pleased we have Grant on board to help us out!

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about grants childcare on 29/02/2016

Grant has been looking after my 4 children for nearly 18 months now. They love it when he's due to come, and ask me if I can go out so Grant can come to look after them...even when I'm not going out!
He is great with them, gets them involved by tidying up their bedrooms and they each have their own routine to go through. The boys have challenging behaviours which Grant takes all in his stride and doesn't get phased by at all. He only uses his 'teacher voice' when absolutely necessary, and the children certainly take notice of that!
I would highly recommend Grant to anyone looking for reliable and trustworthy child minding, especially for special needs or additional needs children.

  • 5 stars Overall

by about grants childcare on 14/02/2016

Grant harman has been working with my two sons for a number of years now. He is reliable and trustworthy yet fun enough for my children to beg me to go out and get the babysitter round! He is fantastic with my teenage son and the ONLY childminder I have ever found that my youngest son with autism and adhd will let warch him. Having been a single parent I worried about leaving a man with the children when I was studying, however I now trust grant so much he is living in for 10 days while I go on honeymoon! So glad we found our savior in grant!

  • 5 stars Overall

by about grants childcare on 13/02/2016

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.