5 stars (2)

Childminder in Cardiff

Female Non-smoker Member since Jun 2012 Last Updated Jul 2019 Last Login 06 Nov 2019 Email

My Summary

CIW Registered
First Aid Training
DBS Check
Newborn Experience
Full Driving Licence
Own Car
School Pickups
Childcare Qualifications
2 Year Old Free Childcare
3 and 4 Year Old Free Childcare
Tax-Free Childcare
Flexible Hours

About Me

Hello, my name is Helena. I provide a loving, secure, fun environment. I've been a Registered Childminder since 2004 and have had many more years experience of working with babies and children.

In my recent CIW (Care Inspectorate Wales) inspection I was awarded the top grading of 'Excellent'. I've always scored top marks in the feedback questionnaires from parents and have positive references available to view. My home is also inspected by the Food Standards Agency and I received the top rating of 5 for hygiene and food safety awareness. I provide nutritious food included in the price and have completed the course 'Community Food & Nutrition for Early Years' (Open College Network course).Certificates are all available to view.

I keep the number of children I look after low (usually just 2) so that your child gets quality care and attention. My main goal is for children to be happy, safe and secure and have fun whilst learning. I like to be active with the children and take them out every day - either to Toddler groups (these often have music/craft sessions included), the park, library, farm, beach, museum, St Fagans etc.

Our family live in a spacious and bright home with a large, child friendly multi-sensory garden. The garden has a playhouse, mud kitchen, sand & water tray, slide, seesaw, ride-ons, children's table and chairs and lots of other toys and equipment. Our home is in a quiet street near Victoria Park in the Canton area, has parking outside and is within close distance of Llandaff, Western Avenue and Cardiff Met University and also the Cardiff Bay Link Rd (A4232).

My Experience

I love my work as a childminder and although I've been registered for 15 years, I've had many more years experience of working with children.

I have 2 daughters, both in High School.

I have advanced childcare qualifications (listed below under my qualifications) and also studied at University. I'm fluent in Polish but my first language is English and the care of your child will be provided in English (and Polish if requested). Very basic Welsh is taught daily.

My Qualifications

The advanced childminding qualification - Cache Level 3 (Childminding Practice Levels 1, 2 & 3)
Paediatric First Aid
Food Hygiene
Language and Play
Community Food & Nutrition for Early Years (Open College Network course)
Child Protection & Advanced Child Protection
Special Educational Needs
Participation Training
Marketing
Policies & Procedures workshop
Expectations of Behaviour
Safeguarding Children
Supporting Children's Emotional Well-Being
Understanding and Working to the Foundation Phase in Wales
Outside Play in the Early years
The role of the SENCO
Early Mathematics
Phonics for Pre-school Children
Enabling Environments
Risk Taking in the Early Years
Reading in the Early Years
Technology in the Early Years
Health & Self-care
On the Spot & Action Planning Self-Evaluation

My husband, daughter and I are DBS Police checked and I have Public Liability Insurance

I'm a member of PACEY (Professional Association for Childcare and Early Years)

I'm registered with the CIW (Care Inspectorate Wales)

I have a Certificate confirming I've been awarded the top rating (5) from the Food Standards Agency

Full Driving Licence and Insurance

My Availability

Currently no availability but will update profile towards the end of August 2019 when I may be able to
provide care on Mondays, Tuesdays and Fridays from 8am with drop-offs to the 12.45pm afternoon Meithrin session at Ysgol Pwll Coch from September 2019.

I work term-time only

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Before School no no no no no no no
Morning yes yes no no yes no no
Afternoon yes yes no no yes no no
After School no no no no no no no
Evening no no no no no no no
Overnight no no no no no no no
Last Updated: 05/07/2019

My Fees

  • Childminding from £6.00 per hour

Included in the price - food ie - breakfast, healthy morning & afternoon snacks, drinks (except baby formula milk)

All trips and outings are included in the price.

I offer reduced rates for parents who do not need me during school/college holidays.

A daily diary detailing their child's day (except for after-school or ad hoc cover)

I provide parents with regular photographs.

I accept university grant-aided funding, childcare vouchers.and am part of the Offer Scheme

Please feel free to e-mail me for further information. If possible I'd like to know the hours and days you need childcare, the age of your child, the start date and if you'll get help with payments (eg College grants/tax credits) etc. Please let me know if only short-term care is needed.

Thank you for taking the time to read my profile.

My Local Schools

This childminder has not yet informed us whether or not they provide any drop off or pick up services at local schools.

My Documents

This member has provided us with electronic copies of the following documents that have been reviewed by Childcare.co.uk and are held on file. The documents have been certified by the member as being true and accurate. We recommend you ask to see original copies of the documents before you hire them in order verify the true accuracy for yourself. Find out more about checks & references.

  • DBS Check (added 29/11/2016)
  • Care Inspectorate Wales Certificate (added 29/11/2016)

Reviews

Below are the latest reviews for Helena K. Please note that reviews represent the subjective opinions of other Childcare.co.uk users and not of Childcare.co.uk. Parents must carry out their own checks and references on childcare providers to ensure that they are completely happy before enaging in the use of their services.

When I was looking for a childminder who can look after my son for a short term, I had a recommendation from nannys and childminders from play group I went. Helena is "the one" when I first met her. She is really professional, claim and her house is very clean and tidy. My son was 17 months on that time and he doesn't have a proper speaking word yet but when he met Helena, she understand him on the first time he spoke to her. My son never stay with someone else apart from me and my husband which made me so worry how can he cope wothout me all day. But he settle very quick and I can really peace of mind while I was working. I do recommend for everyone who looking for a professional childminder.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Helena K on 10/01/2019

Helena has looked after my son Rudy for around 3 years, I am extremely happy with the level of care Rudy has received, being in such a positive and happy environment has helped him to develop into a self-assured, confident little boy. Rudy has loved his time with her, he thinks the world of her, and happily expresses how much he has enjoyed spending time with her, a great testament of good care. We feel very lucky to have had her input in Rudy’s early years development and care. I would absolutely recommend Helena as a nurturing, caring and reliable childminder.Rudy has loved getting to know her and her family, he’s made lots of friends at the play group sessions Helena takes him too. We will miss her. I highly recommend her, she is one a million.

  • 5 stars Overall
  • 5 stars Setting
  • 5 stars Cleanliness
  • 5 stars Food
  • 5 stars Communication

by about Helena K on 19/07/2018

You must be a registered parent and logged in to leave a review.

If you don't have an account then Register Free now.

This profile has been produced from information provided to us by the user. We have not verified or confirmed the accuracy of any of the information and members should undertake their own vigorous checks and references.. Please ensure you read our Safety Advice and information on how to Check Childcare Provider Documents.